Isn’t Paki TV getting a bit too bold?

Re: Isn’t Paki TV getting a bit too bold?

has been around for ages, heera mandi has been around since before Pakistan. napier road was stuff of urban folk lore even in the 70’s and before. then sohrab goth and other places.

what makes you think that it started just now?

Years ago, there were russian prostitutues all over karachi and islamabad, also many afghan hookers sold their wares in major cities.

underground prostitution seen has always done brisk business in Pakistan, including, from what I hear, with certain members of our religious-political parties.

when goras do it its okay, its normal but when people from the land of pure do it, its just not right!

Of course it hasn’t started now, it has been around for a while, but that wasn’t my point. My point is, once you put your morals/ethics/values up for sale, then the line that separates success from failure becomes a blurry one. A drug dealer makes good money, so does a CEO. So going by their pay checks, are they both equally successful?

TV would not show anything on their own until and unless there is demand/acceptability from the crowd.

there are two ways of doing it, change programming on these channels, close off Pakistan to all external influences, whether it is dubai based channels aimed at Pakistanis or whether it is bollywood and hollywood movies in video rental places. In addition insulate ppl from ills of our own society from the rather suggestibe pashto movies to stuff like heera mandi, crap novels and all you can find on bus stops. no access to internet either.

Or

we can teach kids what is right and what is wrong and make an effort to select what we watch and when we watch it. Just because it is on the air does not mean one must watch it.

money talks, if viewership is not there the company would not be able to sustain itself, the fact that they are not only in business but growing means that they found more than a handful of willing viewers..they did not create some ill in society, rather they fulfilled entertainment options of an already existant group.

Fraudz:
I usually agree with a lot of things that you say but here, I have some concerns.

You said " we can teach kids what is right and what is wrong and make an effort to select what we watch and when we watch it. Just because it is on the air does not mean one must watch it".
That is how it should happen but in reality its not that easy. You can surely teach kids all the good things but remember, their minds can be very easily moulded. You can't put a stop and you can't lookafter them 24/7. And its not only with the kids. Yes, its with the other age-groups too. Society is responsible to have a control.
*We need to assume our responsibilities as a nation, as a community. *

You said, "change programming on these channels, close off Pakistan to all external influences, whether it is dubai based channels aimed at Pakistanis or whether it is bollywood and hollywood movies in video rental places. In addition insulate ppl from ills of our own society from the rather suggestibe pashto movies to stuff like heera mandi, crap novels and all you can find on bus stops. no access to internet either".
You are right. TV channels are not the only way of communication/entertainment. **
*In pakistan, there is some bad pushto cinema, there is all other kinda bad stuff which we as a nation should be ashamed off. But if one thing is wrong, it doesn't mean that other things should be wrong too. TV channels being ultra liberal can't be justified like this. Ofcourse all this needs to be fixed. *
**One thing to remember though, TV is still a family thing in Pakistan which is watched be everyone daily while other stuff is not. So TV is far more imp.

You said "money talks, if viewership is not there the company would not be able to sustain itself, the fact that they are not only in business but growing means that they found more than a handful of willing viewers..they did not create some ill in society, rather they fulfilled entertainment options of an already existant group"
Good enough. I agree.
You know, its kind of a cycle. Viewers effect TV programs and on the other hand TV programs effect the viewers. But TV has far more power than viewers. **
*Trust me, quality programming would still be appreciated in Pakistan. Quality grows the business. *
**At the moment, we haven't crossed the limit yet, so its easier to take the viewers to normal stuff. In coming years, it won't be easier.

A program within its boundries (according to our cultural values) can still be modern, advanced, interesting, funny, romantic, full of suspense, educational and so on. You can find tons of these kinds of programs in our TV history that we still like to talk about and are willing to watch them again & again. Ofcourse we should make improvements, we need to go with the flow. We need to be advanced. But all this can be done within boundries.

Again, I am not saying, you or others are wrong. This is how I think.:)

media is fueled by advertising...advertising makes it's money from the viewers...this means producers will keep finding things to attract the audiences attention without totally offending them...which means you'll keep pulling things that are just enough to startle the audience and frankly as we keep buying into these things, the more they will be around b/c more money is made and why mess with a successful strategy?

Fraudz:

hazir janab!

I usually agree with a lot of things that you say but here, I have some concerns.

Thank you :( and disagreements are just natural
PS: agree karnay wali deal ka paymeny milna band ho gaya tha kya? :)

You said " we can teach kids what is right and what is wrong and make an effort to select what we watch and when we watch it. Just because it is on the air does not mean one must watch it".
That is how it should happen but in reality its not that easy. You can surely teach kids all the good things but remember, their minds can be very easily moulded. You can't put a stop and you can't lookafter them 24/7. And its not only with the kids. Yes, its with the other age-groups too. Society is responsible to have a control.

True, I agree with you its easier said than done, but millions of desis living abroad manage to do just that.

also it is not as simple these days anymore, you can clean geo and ary etc, but what about all the other channels that are seen in the country, wat about internet or movies?

and you can not shut off everything. It is extremely difficult.

*We need to assume our responsibilities as a nation, as a community. *

would you also support blocking all internet content? or putting massive restriction on thos, same for movies ..cinema as well as rentals?

*You know, its kind of a cycle. Viewers effect TV programs and on the other hand TV programs effect the viewers. But TV has far more power than viewers. *

it is I agree, but if enough people stopped watching it, or wrote to the channels or papers, they would be forced to change their format. right now they do not have an incentive..so either majority of viewers dont care, or if they care they are stuck in apathy and dont take action.

*Trust me, quality programming would still be appreciated in Pakistan. Quality grows the business. *

true, I actually have cancelled all desi channels, I start them up when my parents are here. To tell you the truth its not the liberal dresses etc that bothered me, but poor production, bad quality. bad story lines, same damn actors over acting, extremely limited formula storylines..lack of scheduling discipline etc etc.

hell those ary ppl cant even get the spellings right in their own promos.

At the moment, we haven't crossed the limit yet, so its easier to take the viewers to normal stuff. In coming years, it won't be easier.

The challeneg also will be how to impact entities that are not based in Pakistan.

A program within its boundries (according to our cultural values) can still be modern, advanced, interesting, funny, romantic, full of suspense, educational and so on. You can find tons of these kinds of programs in our TV history that we still like to talk about and are willing to watch them again & again. Ofcourse we should make improvements, we need to go with the flow. We need to be advanced. But all this can be done within boundries.

I am in 100% agreement with you. I do not like these channels, I think they are third rate at best, and the quality and variety of programming is sorely lacking.
I voted with my money and cancelled my subscription, they are really not worth my money.

Again, I am not saying, you or others are wrong. This is how I think.:)

Hahaha thanks u could also say I am wrong, I will not take it personally. I was offering an immediate and a long term solution, without govt involvement.

1) dont watch what you dont like (immediate impact)
2) let media and network know about your displeaure.
3) organize a group that makes its presence felt

hopefully 2 and 3 would make networks rethink their approach (mid-long term impact)

But you know what...I believe there is a huge untapped market that would ignore these channels and go for other channels if they had quality programming.

You also have to understand that more and more the goal of these channels is to go after Indian market and not just Pakistani market, so they will do what they think is in their interest.

pulic can also rally lawmakers to have TV programming ratings and programs with certain ratings to be shown only after a certain time...

all of this will take time.

If you were a father trying to protect your kids from bad TV, would you not follow the same approach?

Who cares what americans or indians show…it’ doesn’t mean that we need to follow wotever they do…does it? You might not mind watching such stuff with your family…but some of us here do!