Re: ISNA Convention - 2005
^ Na..do it FF. It’s sad but do it… I want you to come back with Mehnaz singing..“koi mil gaya..” ![]()
being the grand mufti of LA, i have been invited by chief organizer babluu "taaRzan" khan. i might go if the food and stay are muft too.
Kaleem I know. But I don;t want to be the odd one out.
Pintoo ![]()
stop with your bollywood lyric already:rolleyes:
FF, i will be there, in proxy.
Me neither. I was asking my sister the same thing.
You are going, we will both stand out in the crowd. 714, I am definitely going … will PM you.
Toba, koi inn logon se kahey ke "ae bhai apna kanjarpunn Masjid se to duur rakho".
Wear hijab/full sleeves if you normally do. Else don’t adjust. Only time you should “adjust” your clothing is if ur in a masjid, I dont’ think it applies to lectures or clubbing ![]()
toba.
Happens in these mx gender religious gatherings in every faith.
A Christian friend use to go to this Faith camp every summer and the things teenagers get upto at night, astaghferullah, I mean at least when u go to learn about God you should leave that kind of stuff out..
i wouldn't come skanked out-just because it's probably not appropriate, but don't change yourself for other people
as for the hooking up-yeah there is shady hooking up, but there are people genuinely looking for a spouse-why not do it somewhere where there are tons of muslims? all of you opposed to that, are you planning on having blind or arranged marriages? personally, i'm not looking (thats not my priority at the moment :P), but i've heard of a lot of people finding their spouses at isna-in a non-shady way
and lots of aunties/uncles etc looking for rishtey-why not look somewhere where there is a mass gathering of muslims?
mehnaz am quite excited now :)
even though I live close to where ISNA takes place...i never go there..piece of crap IMO
^ lussi, I thought you would have been the first person to go to a desi meat market :)
714, I'm going to see Chicago and inshallah meet my lovelies, you and FF :D . It was never really an option before and now that the opportunity has presented itself, I am there. I'm sure it will be fun as well. There's a group of people going from here, we are all travelling together in 4-5 vans. I'm always ready for a weekend getaway.
I think it is important to look back at Islamic history.
If you look at what the Prophet (PBUH) said about asking all the women to attend Eid festivities, there was a reason why he (pbuh) made such a request. Therefore, I dont understand when people say people should only attend ISNA for the lectures alone. ISNA itself did not have this sole purpose when setting up the event. It is part of it, but its not the sole reason for holding the event.
However, I do agree that people should behave and dress appropriately when at the event.
Who are the guest speakers? I'm curious to know.
For those of us who have attended ISNA Convention, it is a very remarkable experience. Like others have said, this convention is what you make of it. If you are going to check out members of opposite gender, then thats what you'll find and nothing else. If you're going there for the bazaar, then thats what you'll find and nothing else. If you are going there to listen to lectures from some of the brightest minds on Islam, then thats what you'll find and nothing else.
p.s. few relatives and acquiantances statistically do not form a big enough sample to authoratively conclude what the entire ISNA Convention is all about.
Yeah I thot lussi wuda been the first one there so he can gain firsthand knowledge on "fked up ABCDS";)
oooh FF is going to? sweet! :)
Here is a 35 minute lecture by Hamza Yusuf from 2004 ISNA convention. There are very few men in this world whom I really listen to... and Humza Yusuf is one of them. Thanks to munni for introducing me to him. He is one of the best muslim scholars I have ever heard. In this speech, he talks about extremism in Islam, terrorism and killing of innocents.
Mehnaz, if you find any cds or lectures by Hamza Yusuf at the convention, then please buy 'em for me. I will pay you before you leave. Enjoy, good luck and have fun :-)
what can i say..must be losing my touch
unforunately there are many more worst places than ISNA to see how “fked up ABCDs” are..