I havent seen any ISNA threads this year. Does that mean no one has started a thread or no ones coming?
Re: ISNA - Chicago
Never mind.
I’m gonna go. I am waiting for it too. I have to buy these 2-3 books and the only thing holding me back is that I am waiting for the convention so I can get it for cheap.
PS - Do you know the exact date? Wasn’t it suppose to be in Rosemont Convention Center somewhere is september ![]()
Hum hain, its this coming weekend (Labor Day weekend) in the Rosemont Convention center, Sept 1-5. I am planning on going this time InshaAllah for the lectures. I didnt realise things were cheaper at the convention, are they? Dont IQRA or Soundvision on Devon sell at decent prices too?
Arre nahi yaar. They are expensive. Trust me. The only way you will find books a dollar or 2 less than IQRA (on devon) is from soundvision (only if you live close by in Bridgeview cuz then u wouldnt have to drive there or spend money on S&H). Otherwise, they both are expensive. I always buy such books from Pakistan (which I did last year when I went) but the books I have to buy are hard to find in Pakistan so I have to buy it @ ISNA. Did you say ISNA is this weekend
. Alright…I didn’t know that. Thanx for telling me. I would’ve missed it.
As for the things being cheaper, it is not the case every single time but you have to bargain a lil bit and convince them that you only waited for ISNA to buy things so you can save some money and it wouldn’t be fair if they still sell it for same price. As far as I know, because I once worked with some1, the only reason that things are taken to conventions to sell is to finish them fast.
You will usually find cheap things on the last 1-2 days of convention. For example, couple of years back, I bought this thing for my mom on the last day of convention. It was a Kaaba’s Door (about the size of our hands) with a ‘jewel case’ outside as if it contained some ‘Zaivar’. You know what I mean. So anyways, after I bought it for $7, I went to Zeenat Emporium on Devon and asked for it to see how much I saved and Zeenat was selling it for $32. My God. Zeenat is expensive. Seriously. They (Zeenat) make like 2-3 times more on product than the value of the product itself. Anyways, yeah things are more cheaper at conventions than normal store. U just have to bargain a lil bit here & there and it shouldn’e be a problem after that ![]()
I’m goingg!!! =) yayyy
I looked at the schedule for the speeches online. I’m really excited to hear some of them.
I’m also looking forward to hoarding the halal marshmellow rack at the bazaar ![]()
I heard there is going to be around 30,000 people there! ![]()
Hey does anyone know how far Devon St. is from the convention? I've never been to Chicago.
ok, no i guess i'll be nice :D
i will not be in town, out of town for a family wedding..
devon is err maybe 20 mins from rosemont.
btw ISNA is always on labor day weekend
Yaar do you guys want to meet up? Lemme know if anyone wants to have a guppie meet of sorts.
Phati: Devon is some ways away from Rosemont. You will have to take a cab or use public transport which will take some time to get to Devon.
cab it, 20 mins 25 bucks or so.
hmm i might go, if sum of my friends decide to go to pick up sum chicks, i'll tag along.
Afridi, i bet they wont let you in the convention center.
Fraudz: Couldnt you find another weekend to go to a wedding?
Only when i could finally meet Mrs Fraudz and the kids, you decide to leave town!
errrr u are in town, stop by anytime, if u comee by sat morning on any other weeken, u can play with the kids while we sleep in, hows that for a deal?
What about the other hundreds of girls and guys who go there for that very purpose, and its not like im gonna do all that, i just dont wanna go alone.
I'm traveling with a big group. =\
Afridi bachay, my comment was meant to be in a joking manner
. Waisay bhi you are too young to be picking up chicks anyways ![]()
Phat: you guys can share a cab, it will be even cheaper as compared to travelling by yourself. Or you guys could rent a car for the group?
I was there last year... As for rosemont to devon and vice versa, theres an easy raasta, keep going straight on devon (dont take the highway), towards ohare, its about 10-15 minutes... I took that 4-5 times last time, and it was good, no traffic, got there quick enough everytime...
Well from Devon-to-Rosemont, it is like 20 minutes depending on traffic. But I am gonna use my U-Pass to go to Rosemont via Blue line. Blue line is like right by my house (visible from my house window) and the blue line Rosemont stop is perfect. Just get off at Rosemont stop and walk a lil bit and ur there. A lot of ppl do that to save the time you have to spend trying to park ur car etc etc.
Hum Hain, i am gonna take the blue line as well. I wonder if there is a metra station nearby! ![]()