please explain how the ismaili leaders allow the besharmi that takes place by the women in the sense that they wear sleeveless saris and shalwar kameezez; the male/female youth openly mix with each other, hug each other, go clubbing etc. i've been told friday nights are a fashion show in jamat khanas.
also explain why ismailis are so attached to the picture of the Imam; many give sujood to it as well. some even pray looking at the picture. is that not reminiscent of hinduism with their statues and idols?
please explain how the ismaili leaders allow the besharmi that takes place by the women in the sense that they wear sleeveless saris and shalwar kameezez; the male/female youth openly mix with each other, hug each other, go clubbing etc. i've been told friday nights are a fashion show in jamat khanas.
also explain why ismailis are so attached to the picture of the Imam; many give sujood to it as well. some even pray looking at the picture. is that not reminiscent of hinduism with their statues and idols?
thanks
brother first of all my mother and sister both cover appropriately when they go to jamatkhana... let me tell you what our imam says abt dress code in jamatkhana. he has a farman for wearing simple clothes in jamatkhana. simple means covering appropriately and not wearing fashionable clothes. you can get the farman book from ismailis. so what others do, does not reflect what our sect says... are you responsible for the people who do sajda on grvaes of owliya??? is that what your religion really teaches???
secondly, the hugging and clubbing thing???? where did u get that from??? i've never hugged a female in jamatkhana... n plus i've never even been close to a club in my life.. if u know of a club then tell me. janab jamat khane ko club kehna hamare ahle sunnat bhaiyon ki karam nawazish hai..:D lagta hai masjid ko bhi club keh dena chahiye. nauzobillah.... on fridays, yes women do wear all the fashionable clothes but that does not reflect what the holy quran says or our imam tells us to do... get it??
thirdly, no one gives sujood to imam's picture... nauzobillah.. how can someone do sujood to anyone except Allah.. again this is somethin made up by YOU GUYS...
brother first of all my mother and sister both cover appropriately when they go to jamatkhana... let me tell you what our imam says abt dress code in jamatkhana. he has a farman for wearing simple clothes in jamatkhana. simple means covering appropriately and not wearing fashionable clothes. you can get the farman book from ismailis. so what others do, does not reflect what our sect says... are you responsible for the people who do sajda on grvaes of owliya??? is that what your religion really teaches???
secondly, the hugging and clubbing thing???? where did u get that from??? i've never hugged a female in jamatkhana... n plus i've never even been close to a club in my life.. if u know of a club then tell me. janab jamat khane ko club kehna hamare ahle sunnat bhaiyon ki karam nawazish hai..:D lagta hai masjid ko bhi club keh dena chahiye. nauzobillah.... on fridays, yes women do wear all the fashionable clothes but that does not reflect what the holy quran says or our imam tells us to do... get it??
thirdly, no one gives sujood to imam's picture... nauzobillah.. how can someone do sujood to anyone except Allah.. again this is somethin made up by YOU GUYS...
I hope i've made myself clear. :)
baba mein aap ki baat naheen kar raha, specifically. i'm saying these are facts of current day jamat khana and the leaders of the jamat (like the mukhi sahib; and its concept is also debatable) are doing nothing to dispell such thinking.
i've heard that makeup and fashion and jewellary and expensive cars are the features of friday nites and chand raats (i've some friends from the sect...).
baba mein aap ki baat naheen kar raha, specifically. i'm saying these are facts of current day jamat khana and the leaders of the jamat (like the mukhi sahib; and its concept is also debatable) are doing nothing to dispell such thinking.
i've heard that makeup and fashion and jewellary and expensive cars are the features of friday nites and chand raats (i've some friends from the sect...).
I think most Guppies criticising Ismalies cannot relate to Ismalies for the simple reason that most people living in Pakistan do not have any contact with non-Muslims. Unlike them, Ismalis, whether in Africa, Asia or America have to deal with non-Muslims in their daily business life as 99% of them are in business. You can't very well survive in business (let alone prosper) by denigrating your customers. That is why Ismalis of all the Muslims are the most open to non-Muslims. When an Ismaili friend invites me to an Ustad Rashid Khan maifil at his house, I am a paid customer and if Rashid Khan sings a bhajan, the host can't very well complain (seeing as over half the audience is Hindu). I say this from personal experience.
There is a lot to learn from Ismailis - religious tolerance, excellence in business, generosity to charitable causes, friendship to others not sharing their faith. Before criticising Ismalis ask yourself how good a person you are before showing off how good a Muslim you are.
Yes, this is a great thread and I'm so happy by the friendly and open tone that is here--it hasn't degenerated (yet) into the accusing, negative tone that appears too often in discussion of varying sects and religions. We don't all have to believe the same thing or agree with one another, but as human beings we owe each other respect.
first of all, thak you Sarsaparilla, Mostar95, and NYCGori for your kind comments.. :)
Sorry - please dont take it offensive.
Q: who was the first ismaili Imam, who started shaving beard and started wearing pent/coat and tie. ?
it was our previous (48th) imam.. imam Sultan Muhammad Shah also known as Aga Khan III.
Also the Imam should be the most learned person?? Is prince Kareem Aghaa Khan the most learned in Quran and Hadith???
Please don't take it wrongly, just for my knowledge.
Yes, we believe that imam's knowledge is more than any of us... he's the one who can interpret the Holy Quran in the best way.. as far as hadith goes, i'm not preety sure..
How much educated is your Imam (prince Kareem Aghaa Khan )? Did you get his education from any institute/college/and/or/university. From where he studied Quran?
hazir imam A.S is a graduate of harvard university.. heres what i found out on the internet.. The Āgā Khān spent his childhood in Nairobi, Kenya, where his early education was done by private tutoring. His grandfather, [(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_history)
as far as quran is concerned, he has this knowledge in him naturally, just like all previous imams..](“Aga Khan III - Wikipedia”)