if u ppl hav general questions abt ismailis, for example thier beliefs etc, then i can answer them..
but plz one by one.. dont rush..
Re: ismaili/aga khani
what is the nature of your imam ? is it absolutely required to follow him or can u differ with his views if they are not based on Quran and Sunnah
Please dont take offence, but some of the activities taking place in the Jamat Khanas eg dhandia have absolutely nothing to do with Islam. How are they justified in a place of worship?
Ismailis are followers of Aghakhan. I never knew that. But once Agha khan came to hyd and as far as i remember it was the month of Ramadhan. One of my school friend was His follower; she attented his visit. She told me that Aga khan promised to takeaway all sins on doomsday. She was even telling some thing like women spread their hair on floor and Aga khan walks on those hairs ...it is the way how they welcome him and stuff . I dont remember much but is it true??
What is the difference between Ismailis and agha khanis?
What are your fundamental believes?
ok guys now one by one:
@Das Reich, we hav to absolutely believe in our present imam as we did in our previous imams starting with hazrat Ali A.S because we believe that the imam has the right to interpret quran...
@expat, i know dandia has nothing to do with islam..we dont do dandia inside the prayer hall we do it in a ground outside jamatkhana.. i personally dont do dandia because im not of gujarati heritage..
@samara khan, all that u said is absolutely wrong.. u come wid me when our imam visits.. no woman spreads her hair infront of imam... thats just unbelieveable.. n plus no our imam does not take the responsibility for our sins.. we r just lik u guys.. pay for our own sins..
@hareem01, its the same.. the real name is ismaili.. aga khan is the title given to our 46th imam by the qajar king of iran so ppl everywhere know us as aga khanis because we follow our imam whose title is aga khan..
@d-tox.ed, the same as other muslims except that we believe in imams n sunnis believe in... well idk..
Is it true that ismailis consider themselves above 'ordinary' muslims so therefore they do not have to pray five times a day nor do they have to perform wudhuu before prayer?
What are the differences between general sunni beliefs / practice and general agha-khani beliefs / practices?
Is it true that ismailis consider themselves above 'ordinary' muslims so therefore they do not have to pray five times a day nor do they have to perform wudhuu before prayer?
In islam, whoever is more pious, is above others.. so if u r more pious than me, u r above me...
BUT if we do believe we r above, its because of quran n hadith teachings... Rasool S.A.W said that ''main apne baad tum logon ke darmiyan do cheezen choore jaa raha hoon jin ko thame rakho gey tou qayamat tak gumrah nahi ho gey... aik quran aur doosri ahyul bayt." Rasool used the word itrat which means nasal or offspring.. aur doosri quran main surah yaseen main irshad hai keh "wa kula shayin ah-saina hu fi imam-um-mubin" which means hum ney tamam cheezen imam-um-mubeen (nazar aane wale imam) main samo dee hain.. now u SHOULD NOT take me wrong when i say we r ahead of other muslims.. i do not mean in everyday life n all that.... im talking only spiritually and according to OUR BELIEF, as we believe that we follow the true living imam, that makes us unique.. and that doesnt mean that we dont hav to be clean when we pray.. WE HAV TO BE CLEAN BOTH PHYSICALLY AND THROUGH OUR MIND WHEN WE PRAY... :)
What are the differences between general sunni beliefs / practice and general agha-khani beliefs / practices?
we believe in imams and at a time we hav only one imam...our line of imams started wid hazrat Ali A.S. and is being continued... as far as i know sunnis believe in the consensus of many ulema... and also hav an imam for every mosque.... our practices include the five pillars except that the prayers are three times a day.. n we believe in all articles of faith.. lik angels, qayamah, etc..
Prayer 3 times? hmm, and i have an Ismaili friend he said they don't go for Hajj they go for Agakhan conference?
^How did you get these pictures.
How are the imams chosen.
the imams are chosen by previous imams.. like hazrat Ali A.S. chose Imam Hassan A.S. No one but the present imam can choose the next imam.
Prayer 3 times? hmm, and i have an Ismaili friend he said they don't go for Hajj they go for Agakhan conference?
tahts not true.. read my previous post.. our imam has never said not to go to hajj...you might hav talked to a khoja... they are recent hindu converts, just lik your ancestors converted centuries ago from hinduism.. most khojas dnt hav much islamic knowledge.. i ask the ismailis from india here in the U.S. abt islamic history.. they dont know a word abt islamic history.. what do u expect from them... u wanna ask??? ask me...;)
thats allama nasir uddin hunzai… NOT OUR IMAM… our religious authorities have told us to STAY AWAY from him and his views… he has nuthin… I REPEAT NOTHING to do with ismailis/aga khanis..![]()
btw i hav no idea what they r doin there…
^How did you get these pictures.
in a forward e-mail
guys before askin questions, atleast read the older posts so that i dont hav to repeat somethin.. thank you.. :)