Islam: regard men and women as equal?

Re: Islam: regard men and women as equal?

Dear SuperMe,

Asalaam o Allaikum dear brother. Please believe me that I am certainly not a quitter when it comes to explaining Islam within the knowledge I have about it or the sources I learn from. However, I prefer not to waste time on those who refuse to open their minds and hearts but instead prefer to find someone who understands reasoning. Believe me there are many others we can inform about our religion who are perhaps slightly misguided but when provided with explanations supported by scholars understand and do not argue back in an offensive manner. I do my duty as a Muslim to inform others about Islam, but whether they finally choose to revert to Islam is entirely their choice and no one should or could impose anything on them. If there are others who wish to find out more about the religion in a constructive manner within this forum, I will do all I can to help them find the information they seek and provide whatever explanations I can.

I understand about concentrating on studies and definately encourage that to be your focus during term time. Being a new contributer to this site and being employed on a full time basis, I find it hard to make sure I contribute to the site as I find it very interesting and often have to pull myself away from my computer. :) Nevertheless I try and strike a balance. My advice would be to always make sure you strike a balance in whatever you decide to do. I am 28 years old and I speak and write English fluently - I do however struggle with Urdu to this day. (My father is Pakistani and my Mom is English but Muslim.) I'm pleased you find my English to be one of the best and that you are eager to improve yours. The first step to addressing a weakness is to acknowledge it and you have already done that. Your next step now should be to make sure you talk to people who have English as their first language - do not shy away from that - it will be most helpful. In Canada and US, I know that when they teach English, they teach Grammar and Phoenix which helps with formulation - (google to find out more). Make sure you understand these and you will excel in no time. Continue reading books and not Comics and read newspapers and websites and one day the language will just start to flow. You might also want to join a Creative writing class to help improve your writing skills. I hope you don't mind this advice but thought it might help you with your goal and InshaAllah you will succeed.

Good Luck.
Allah Hafiz.

Unfortunately it is not only the Pakistanis - I'd probably have to also add the Arab world and possibly the rest of the Muslim world too.

Jazakallah khair schine sister for replying with advice. I can not say how I am appreicated with it. You are right, I have to take extra classes to gain my writing skills but so far I never found any extra classes of writing. Although there are reading clubs, but I need more assistant with my writing skills. I think beyond that I should practise writing more. Just one more question addition to this that do you have the English profession?

Concentrate on your job more due to be critical. Technically, we should not spend too much time on the internet as it keeps us involve and abstain us from doing good things.

Yes, indeed. There is no require of being shy to make white friends. I have few of them and have good communications with them. In fact, it is better to make white friends and black friends. But I always make good friends. Not friends engaging in gangs and drugs. Usually I make friends who can communicate and talk in good manners to me.

Since, we can not encourage or force anyone to become a Muslim, all we can do is to keep attempting and spreading Islam everywhere. Absolutely indeed. :)
I am pleasure to read your posts. Paklinks is the best forum. At the moment, I am only participating at paklinks forum.

Take Care,
Allah Hafiz!

This is true, I believe.

Dear Schine Shall I not question a religion, the interpreters and the followers? Do you want us to I blindly accept written on behalf of a religion? Is it fair?
Can you tell me what insulting you find in my post?

Will you call me anti-Islamic or anti-religious if I totally oppose ‘beating a woman’ whoever she is, or whatever she has done? Or oppose sex with a woman without her consent, whoever she is?

Have not mostly major religions discriminated women?

Have a nice day!
:flower1: :flower1: :flower1:

Dear SuperMe
Your questions are off the topic.
Moreover, I doubt if other Hindus would acknowledge my opinions. Our religion believes in ‘unity in diversity’ and I accept some laws or nor, I remain a Hindu.

You must not look at other religions thru Islamic beliefs and teachings. The reason is that all major religions like Hinduism, Judaism, Christianity, Buddhism and even Sikhism were not created with concrete aims, by one human, and on behalf of God. These religions were not created in 20-30 years. They took a general shape in hundreds and thousand years and are directly related to the evolution process and thinking process of man-kind.

And if you study Hinduism or other religions thru an Islamic code of conduct….It will be totally unfair and you will not reach anywhere.

You kindly open another thread!

My friend Islam teaches us the way of life. What do you find anything wrong based on Islam? It is a perfect religion. We never force you to become a Muslim, it is your choice. All we may do is to attempt. Please ask any misconceptions regarding Islam and I would be very appreciated to assist. By the way, you accept some laws or nor. Why not all laws? Islam is the religion containing perfect laws.

Do not we find right through just asking Allah Tallah for anything? If you need money/car/house, ask Allah Tallah directly without through the idols. I am not against you, neither forcing you. I just want you to be towards the truth.

Take Care,
Bye.

Two objects which are not identical can never be considered equal and that applies to men and women too. One of them is superior i.e. men as stated in the Quran. Arguing with this is just senseless and like saying that mercedes is equal to BMW. You can never say that because they are different, they each have their strengths and weaknesses. However mans superiority does not give him the right to exploit and abuse women.

I have asked only two question and these questions are open to anyone……Muslims or non-Muslims.

1. Is it correct to ‘beat a woman’ under any circumstances?

1. Is it correct to enjoy sex with a woman against her consent under any circumstances, re ‘what your right hand possesses’?

Dear friend, I have no doubt about it..////\

I do not understand why you or someone else always starts preaching or propagating Islam in every thread. It is a matter of psychology when someone is in doubt or has complexes and at any best possibility he tries to convince himself and others that he is not on the wrong side.

And PLEASE open another thread to study Hinduism.

I am off now.

Hi anjjann,

Beating a woman, is necessary under disloyalty conditions if necessary it doesnt mean literally keep beating the woman, for each and everything.
The last speech of Prophet is enough to understand the a relationship between Man and woman.
Our Prophet asserted Man has right over woman and woman has rights over man.
This was his last sermon.

How did you extrapolate "protector" to also mean "discipliner", and "leader". You, my friend, first need to find out what "leadership" really means. Leadership is much more than the guy that sits and the head of the table and dictates his decisions to others and demands them to follow.

"Excel" in the next verse you speak of is misleading. If you look at various translations, you will come to see it means "excel in physical strength". Not "excel in every which way".

This means that man does not have power over woman. It means that man has a responsibility to keep his family members from harm and suffering. That means that man is obligated by God to get off his duff and get a job and acquiesce to most reasonable demands of his family.

It binds a man to his family like a slave bonded to his master. Therefore, the family (wife and children and parents and siblings and Chaachas and Maamas and Chaachis and Maamis, depending upong how many people you consider your family) is actually the element that holds the power. Man becomes a mere slave.

I told you people women are far superior, but you don't listen. Oh well, only married men really know how much "power" they have.

A slight mathematical correction. Identites can also come in the form of A = B. For example, (2+3) = 5. You see different numbers on each side of the equation, but when you do some analysis, you find they are equal in quantity and quality. So, what looks different to the eye, is not all that different inside.

Hi my friend,

How are you? This is just the article that I copied and pasted it here from the website listed above it. I do not usually copy it. This is the first time I copied and pasted.

Incorrect statement: Women are far superior than men.

Take Care,
Allah Hafiz!

Anjjan, I find your tone in which you talk about Islam insulting. I have never said that you should accept anything blindly but when reason and meanings are being provided you refute them as well. If you are really seeking detailed answers to your questions about Islam then as suggested by someone else earlier you should consult an Islamic religious leader in your country. I have nothing more to add here.

As for calling you anti-Islamic on the basis that you oppose the beating of women - re-read my postings on this issue and you will see that I have been making an effort to alleviate the misguided understanding of many Muslim men on this issue as well. I have provided explanations as I see fit - if you don’t agree - again consult a scholar you find you can accept. Again I have nothing more to add here.

Thanks.

Asslam-U-Alikum

sister, i don't think, there's a point of arguing with him. He won't understand unless Allah Subhaanhu Wa Ta'ala show him the right path.

1. Is it correct to ‘beat a woman’ under any circumstances?

1. Is it correct to enjoy sex with a woman against her consent under any circumstances, re ‘what your right hand possesses’? [/QUOTE]

Where're you going with these questions, over and over again same questions which have been answered before.

Walaikum Asalaam Brother,

Not arguing with him - I have made my final responses to anjjan and asked him to talk to scholars he can trust to find out more. I think that would be best for him. I also agree with your point about him asking the same questions over and over again - since he obviously doesn't understand or doesn't want to understand the answers perhaps it would be best for him to speak to people he can understand clearly.

Allah Hafiz Brother.

Really pleased you agree. :)

Whatever makes you feel better about yourself and your supposed "manhood".

Ek aur Imam Payda ho gaya !!!:bummer:

Assalam-o-alaikum brothers and sisters.. Allah(swt) is great. Please be understood that Islam is the only religion in the world that regards men and women equal- there are defined duties for both men and women in Quran and Hadith. Women must obey men as companion and as husband and wife they can make their life better. JazakAllah. Other relgions which came after Islam like Christianity and Buddishm dont have well-defined roles for women and there's no protection for women as there is in Islam.

YOU are totally right my Islamic brother, In Islam and Quran there is a role defined for women which you can see in this link !!
http://youtube.com/watch?v=p59fv2B2P4I&search=pakistan%20girls%20fight%27

JAKAZALLAH !!! MASHALLA !!! I would just throw in some more jello or oil and enjoy the show !