Islam in Pakistan

Re: Islam in Pakistan

Just because you're ignorant of a fact, doesnt mean it doesnt exist. The fact that Allah made this task mandatory upon us, means that it should be done by a group of Muslims.

Giving yourself an Arabic sounding name does not mean that you have the right to impose *Amr bil Ma'roof wa Nahi un al Munkar *as per your understanding of Islam.

There is no "your" and "my" understanding of Islam...there is only one Islam. There might be different groups and organizations, the deobandi, the salafi/ahle hadith and even the brelvis....all agree on the general evils in the society, which PakPatriot mentioned, and they all agree on getting rid of them.

Now if some next person walks along who hasn;t even prayed in years, and is not even meeting the basic pre-reqs of being a Muslim...and start yelling *mullah mullah brainwash extremists, *and talks about "versions" of Islam, is fooling none but himself.

Firstly, Im a girl, so I wasn't checking out the scantly dressed women out of desire, I was disgusted! Have u seen the size of billaboards in karachi? they r HUGE, and almost all of them have a women on it (even when theyr'e advertising Honda motor cycles!).... Islam came to elevate the status of women so that we would be judged on our intellectuality rather then our looks, and our country is taking us back to the days of Jahiliya that the Prophet SAW brought us out of!

Now just bcoz a bearded man is checking out a girl... the fault is in him only, and he SHOULD fear Allah for that... this is exactly what i'm talking about actually... wer'e muslims who dont follow ISLAM...

I have yet to hear ANY deobandi/ ahlul sunnah/ jamaat e islaami/ tableeqi, etc etc to actually endorse extremism... whether that be shia/ sunni or suicide attacks. Most of these ppl say that there should be NO concept of Sindhi/ Punjabi/ Mahajir, etc etc, however, they do say that Indians should allow Kashmiris the plebisite they were promised by the UN, they do say that the behaya is ruining out qaum, they do say that the constitution of the ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF PAKISTAN should be be based on the Shariah (is it too much to ask 4 that or should we change the official name of our country) etc etc.

What I cant understand is why we had to split from India in the first place if we weren't going to implement Islam fully in this land of ours.... we couldv'e still been a part of India... pray at our homes, fast in the month of ramadan and gone on hajj/ umrah... apparently that seems to be enough 4 a lot of ppl!!!!!

How will you justifying thinking that the next person who walks along hasn't prayed in years? Do you have the prerogative of looking inside other people's minds? I am sure in your mind, you don't need to.

When there is a fire, there is smoke? People don't cry mullah mullah without a reason. The current downfall of Islam is not because of the common man. It is because of hypocrate mullahs.

Agreeing on something is completely different on agreeing on way to implement. The brelivis, the deobandis and other while they claim to have agreement between each other on the higher level, on the lower level they spread hate against each other. If power is given to these groups, first of all they will start shedding the blood of each other, like Taliban started doing in Afghanistan.

This is not exactly what you are talking about. I am talking about the hypocrasy of the pseudo-religious mafia. The engage in all the crimes that a common man does and then try to elevate themselves up by reading a select few verses of Holy Quran in public. I have visited many Islamic countries around the world and if someone tells me that Pakistanis are not Islamic, then they have no idea what world they live in.

This is exactly the hypocrasy I am talking about. Because you have selective listening does not mean that these things are not propagated by our pseudo-religious mafia.

I might very well be wrong, but it appears to me that you have strong affiliation with Jamat-i-Islami. Be assured this conviction of your will pass with time, when you will see the hypocrasy of your leaders at a closer level. I have now seen it happen, too many a number of times.

Bhai saab, do you even know the meaning of that verse?

are you trying to say all those people are kaafirs?

No, i was not talking about the next person who is going wo walk along! I was talking about some specific gentlemen, who frequent this board, and they have claimed to have not prayed in years...and always yelling that rhetoric!

Who said Islam is in a state of downfall?!? You are so badly mistaken!!

Islam is going through its golden period. The downfall was when we were being colonized, and our people brainwashed with foreign concepts like democracy and capitalism and individualism.

Today Islam is going throught a golden period. Today more and more young people are eager to study the Deen and practice Islam, much to the disgust of the secularists. :)

I made mistake. I did not mean to say downfall of Islam but I meant downfall of Muslims.

Why would a secularist or a non-secularist be disgusted if someone is studying and practicing his own religion?

Ask Dr. Pervez Hoodbhoy, that paragon of rational thinking and secularism in Pakistan.

The point being if one think's it's "bad" to talk about un-Islamic practices, I can easily find secularists who decry even the most benign of Islmaic traditions simply because it's, well...religious.

To give you context, Hoodbhoy (a physicist, and now secular activist) suggested that Pakistan could never fully reconcile with a modern way of life because of the demands prayer and other rituals take up. Implication being we abandon the five daily prayers, and what not, if we want to 'modernize'. What a genius.

You cannot pick up just one guy and label all others with his ideology. The secularist thinking is rising because of reasons we all know.

Umm...how exactly did this thread start? I'd say it was a case of picking just one guy...and....well, you know the rest...

And certainly you don't mean to suggest I can't site more examples than Dr. Hoodbhoy?

I'd go so far as to say there's parity between the two lunacies. It's just one side uses a vocabulary we've been acusotmized to, and so their rhetroic sounds soft.

kaafir is a description and not a label... if you deny evil you are a kaafir to it... it is all relative. But yeah, this approach does not sit well with the masses.

Inshallah may you be guided to Shi'ism.

^^ I think he would be a better fit with Stalinism

He hates Shi'ism though lol

Assalam-u-A'alikum

I was searching for something and got dragged into this. anyway, here i go

Sister has already given you the answer regarding your comments but i would like to add few things here. Your logic of bringing that argument is flawed! How so? For example, if i am walking in a street and a naked person pass by. Now if i go and tell someone that "behaya person walking naked in the street" and if that person brings the same argument as yours then he is being ridiculously stupid. Why? i don't have to stare at the person with desires to find out whether he is naked or not. Let's look at another example, if there are black cats everywhere in the street that i am walking in and now if someone asks me why were you staring at black cats or how did you know that there were black cats. I mean seriously. When you walk in the street, it is not like you are blind or you have closed your eyes. The statement that sister made is very general statement based on observations and things your hear, watch etc.

Now, let's go through your other comments which are pretty much same in the whole thread.

What you are saying is very common disease among Muslims and that's the reason why we are suffering everywhere. Is Allah Ta'ala going to ask you about the 'amals of the Mullah in your local area? I agree with the fact that scholars and other students of Islam need to show a noble character so other people look up to them, however, their acts have nothing to do with normal Muslims. And it is very lame excuse that just because Mullah doesn't follow Islam then why should i follow Islam or this mullah or that mullah says this and that and he is hypocrite. Saying that due to Mullah's hypocrisy Muslims are not following Islam is plain stupid. Who in the world cares what a Mullah does. If he is hypocrite, Allah Ta'ala will ask him. Why wouldn't you just simply shut your mouth and do what you have to do. Mullah isn't the one who is making choices for you. Just like Mullah you are also simply submitting yourself to your desires. Why not act in way which could embarrass that hypocrite Mullah and he may become a better Muslim. **And please do not generalize your statements too much. All the 5 fingers aren't same!!

May Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta'ala forgive us all, unite us and make us strive for his love...Ameen

2 Likes

YES!
Your Quran commands you to do what YOU want it to too... You mold the Quran through lies and fabrications, to fit your narrow and shallow view of the world...

The philosphy of Let and Let live is very much a part of Islam, its only extremists and murderers who dont believe people have a right to interpret their relation with god and Islam.

Im not so naive...

To me, if Islam is supposed to be logical then anything thats not logical cannot be a part of Islam...
I think its illogical for God to care about irrelevant crap that has nothing do with mans spiritual growth.

if it is a part of Islam, then can u plz provide some ayat, hadith, fatwa backing this theory up.

We dont need to interpret something that has already been explined, pick up the quran and read the meaning... plenty of interpretation there, all we Muslims have to do is submit to it, rather then interpret it ourselves...

depends on what you and I define as "logical", and since there will ALWAYS be a difference in opinion, why not just accept the logic that the Quran and Sunnah gives us?

Secondly, be careful in applying YOUR logic to what the LOGIC of Allah SWT should be...

Just bcoz something doesn't make sense to u doesn't mean you can assume it is ILLOGICAL TO ALLAH SWT!!!

By the way, as Muslims, everything that we do should be related to our spiritual growth, deen and dunya go saath saath... we can seperate the two.

Wassalam
Sarah