Islam and Girlfriend or Boyfriend

Re: Islam and Girlfriend or Boyfriend

take the risk and play blind.

You cannot deny Globalization, its happennig everywhere. Gender segregation is a minority thing as compared to the old times and it is very hard for a girl/ boy not to have any interaction with the opposite gender. So, saying no period, IMHO doesn't cut the ice.

Those that dont have parents, relatives etc, how would they find life partners, if they cant allowed to even speak to the other sex? I am sure as long as the relationship has a strict code of celibacy and decency, it must be ok.

Seriously for the people who say logic is the way in Islam. It isn't.

Logic has its limits. Crossing those limits, it becomes very dangerous.

I think all who are in doubt about this issue should consult an Alim/Scholar/Mufti/Imam/Elder...

Dunno. Maybe nothing.

3- My other question is that....... Is it possible to have a 'platonic' (or platoonic) relationship between a man or a woman (male and a female)?
According to all religions, tis possible to do anything as long it is not evil. So it is alright to have girlfriend or boyfriend.
End of debate.

it is very clear that girls r not supposed to be with na-mehrams so why do ppl still bother to try to scratch out a way to label 'girlfriends' as allowed....

Its not about what's possible or not, the question here is what's allowed and what's forbidden.

I dont know about other religion, but in Islam every act that could lead to a forbidden act is also forbidden. So any relationship that could lead to zina, is also forbidden.

Sharaabi, Im not saying you're wrong but just consider what you said and what it implies...

Zina Is Haraam.
Boyfriends and Girlfriends are Haraam beacuse they lead to zina.
School is haraam beacuse it can lead to boyfriends girlfriends???

If you start the chain reaction like that, everything will become haraam because every action is interlinked with many causes and many further reactions. At some point youll say, school isnt haraam because even though it can lead to sin it has more advantages and that it will not lead everyone to zina everytime. So maybe Bf Gf have advantages if you can avoid Zina, like building respect for the opposite gender to stop sex discrimination?? And maybe they wont lead to zina everytime?

Im just saying that this "anything that leads to harram = haraam" doesnt sound right... Anything can lead to haraam if you have low-self control and thats where faith and Iman come in, that prevent evil. To live is to sin, to err is human, so is being human haraam? I dont think so.

So I think what is declared haraam is haraam, what is not declared is disputable and lets leave to our own understanding of right and wrong to prevent us from sin.

Look at this Quranic Verses:

"Tell the believing men to lower their gaze and protect their private parts. That is purer for them. Verily Allah is All-Aware of what they do. And tell the believing women to lower their gaze and protect their private parts........" (24:30-31)

To protect private parts obviously means to protect themselves from forbidden sex. To lower your gaze can mean alot of things

1) Dont look at pornography.
2) Do not stare at opposite gender.
3) Do not actively look for or seek out people of the opposite gender for relatioships.
4) Be respectful to the oppostie gender (lowering gaze can be a sign of respect).

What you do depends on how you interpret the phrase "Lower your gaze" and also on you're own natural prespective of right and wrong.

Lastly, I dont remember reading anything about Na-Mehrams or Mehrams in Quran yet, so where does this rule about complete isolation except with na-merhrams come in? Is it culture-religion or is it a scholar-speculation or hadith or is it actually in the Quran? Enlighten me.

^ What i stated in my last post, were not just my views...but its one of the laws on which Islamic Fiqh is based.

the example you showed, regarding schools is a valid one. That is exactly why co-education is not allowed by Islam.

gf/bf relationship is haraam, period....since the harmful aspects of this relationship greatly outnumber that whatever good it has to offer.

Sorry yaar cant agree on this one, what leads to haraam is haraam. Living (inevitably) leads to more sins, but living is not haraam.

Ofcourse its always a GREAT idea to stay away from anything that leads to sin, but for the lead to be actually SINFUL itself is hard to digest. Say a man does the leading act but does not to do the the final sin...will God judge him as sinful because he did the leading act but did not sin? That doesnt sound like the "Zarra barabar bhi nainsaafi nahi hogi" that I've heard about. I think the man would actually be credited for being able to resist sin even though it was very easy to do so.

What leads to haram is haram is the argument many use to not let women go to school, not let them work, get an education, have friends, or drive a car or have a life.. :whistling:

^ Veyr true. Extremism is not good. A woman must be educated like the man in respect to both religious and scientific or art etc.

How about the Hadith which states that there is shaitaan somewhere close if man and woman are alone?

We see many examples of it in daily life don't we?

I know many people are proponenet of gf/bf culture and their argument is very attractive since they say if sinful acts do not happen then its fine.

What are the chances that close personal relation between a man and woman will not lead to prohibited act? Anyone want to guess the chance of being involved in deep intimacy if a girl or boy at certain age is left alone?

Can we afford to leave the doors of a bank vault open and rely on people not to rob the bank, out of their goodness and purity of their heart??

I think in this day and age a careful and thoughtful reform must be made and be promoted by public and religious scholars and people must be educated time and time again with kind gesture what is best according to Islamic teachings.
This may involve letting girl and boy at a certain age meet in the presence of parents in social gatherings and given a chance to undertand each other before they embark upon a lifelong relation of marriage and sharing life. If they do not like each other, thats OK.

Letting them go alone on a date still not acceptable IMHO as far as I know about Islamic teaching.(and many other orthodox religious teachings).

Some people may get more eye opening information by searching statistics of 'date rape' (not counting those hidden from us).

Pakap, the way it goes is....(someone correct me if iam wrong) that any act that is likely to produce more evil than good would be declared forbidden, and it would be classified under the rule...that this act would most likely lead to something that is forbidden hence the act itself becomes forbidden.

Of course anything could be used for something evil. A chair, for eg. I can use to sit on, or use it to break someone's head..but that would make the chair haraam.

A more realistic example would be the internet. One can use the internet for pornography, fraud, hacking...which are all haraam acts. But the useful aspects of the internet, like education, trade etc. greatly out number the negative aspects. Hence the internet is not haraam.

make sense?

Absolutely correct.
These people do not understand the idea of a girlfriend and boyfriend.
And that also involves having more than one girlfriend (as I have 5 different girlfriends) No joke.
And two of them further have boyfriends. Thats okay with me :)
If I can ave girlfriends, they can also have boyfriends.

Lord Krishna had 16,000 girlfriends. Had it been an evil act, he wouldn't have had so mnay girlfriends.....

I said :grumpy:

He had 16,000 girlfriends(gopis)
If you know what does gopi mean, you’dn’t say what you just said…

You should learn to respect our faith buddy. No insulting like this…

ya my bad...but we r talking about Islam and GF/BF...not any other religion and GF/BF...so plz stick to the topic...and this won't happen again...my apologies.

whats a gopi?

In Hinduism a gopi (somtimes gopika) is one of the several cow herding girls who had pure devotion (bhakti) to Krishna.

The two top-most gopis are known as Srimati Radharani and Chandravali.

Candravali is Srimati Radharani's rival for Krishna's attention. Because Radharani possesses all charm and sweetness, she is the better of the two and is supremely famous. Each of them has millions of doe-eyed gopi followers.

The gopis are generally divided into three groups: Gopi friends of the same age as Krishna, maidservents and gopi messangers. The first group, Krishna's contemporary gopi friends, are the most exalted, the second group, the maidservants are the next most exalted, and the gopi messengers come after them.

And who told you that life is fair. :bummer: