Bit of a personal topic but was wondering has anyone got any information, hadith etc as to what is allowed and not allowed with regards to contraception…
can it be used for short term…i.e. newly weds!
Bit of a personal topic but was wondering has anyone got any information, hadith etc as to what is allowed and not allowed with regards to contraception…
can it be used for short term…i.e. newly weds!
Re: Islam and Contraception
There in nothing in islam which prohibits contraception per se.
Why ask?
as far as i know, you can prevent pregnancy by any means of contraception (pill, condom, iud, etc.), but once conception happens, you are not allowed to abort (i think the only time that is acceptable is if the mother's life is in danger or something extreme like that, but i'm not sure about this - can someone confirm?).
This may answer your question:
Is contraception permissible? Is it disliked? What is the better way?
A summary of what I have heard from an aalima:
You may use contraception as long as your intention is to delay pregnancy...meaning to prevent pregnancy for a temporary period of time.
I, however am not sure what one is supposed to do in a situation let's say where a couple has a few kids and decides they don't want any more because of different reasons. I really don't know the Islamic ruling on that.
I remember reading somewhere that contraception is allowed in certain conditions in Islam.
Parents won't be able to afford a baby. That is providing the basic needs.
Mother is terminally ill & not healthy enough to carry on a pregnancy.
There is already another child who is being breastfed.
diwana as you can see there are already 3-4 different replies with different views. isn't it best to find out what is allowed and what is not allowed rather then be ignorant?? maybe it isn't a big issue to some but prevention of life is a big thing and you don't wana be getting it wrong
has anyone got any hadith to back up there views?
diwana as you can see there are already 3-4 different replies with different views. isn't it best to find out what is allowed and what is not allowed rather then be ignorant?? maybe it isn't a big issue to some but prevention of life is a big thing and you don't wana be getting it wrong
has anyone got any hadith to back up there views?
Dear hustler,
Please read my post, it does not contradict with any of other replies.
My answer was simple to the point based on the question asked. (Allowed or not allowed)
Simple question, simple answer. I added the word "per se" for a reason.
None of the above replies really contradict either.
diwana you say nothing in islam prohibits contraception....thats an interesting comment and if you read the rest of the posts they all mention conditions so therefore it seems to me contraception is prohibited unless circumstances such as the ones mentioned.
there are many scholars who say it is not allowed and have evidence and hadith to back up there arguement, dr zakir naik being one of them...
thats why i asked as im the sort of person who will listen to someones view if it is backed up with some evidence rather than an arguement based purely upon conveinience or someones personal views.....if you look at my second post i have asked if anyone got any evidence to back up what they are saying and so far there are no other posts!!!!
im not saying i have the answer either, im quite neutral in the topic as i do not know any better, however on a personal level i would prefer if there was something i could do to have some sort of birth control....
if parents cn afford thn children are fine........but if not thn go for it...increase ummah
^^ someone above said .. it can be prevented if they cant afford a chil comin ..and providing the basic needs... << this is I gotta say totally not correct .. cos every child brings his/her own rizq to this world and .. who are you to decide ... if its born ..Allah will take care of their needs .. aakhir dekho dunya mein kaafir aur jaanwar ..aur bhi makhlooqaat hein Allah takes care of .. and one more chid to this worldd .. not a problem ..
on the subject ..Its Jaiz . the Sahabah Did it .. its called 'Azal' with Ain.
diwana you say nothing in islam prohibits contraception....thats an interesting comment and if you read the rest of the posts they all mention conditions so therefore it seems to me contraception is prohibited unless circumstances such as the ones mentioned.
there are many scholars who say it is not allowed and have evidence and hadith to back up there arguement, dr zakir naik being one of them...
thats why i asked as im the sort of person who will listen to someones view if it is backed up with some evidence rather than an arguement based purely upon conveinience or someones personal views.....if you look at my second post i have asked if anyone got any evidence to back up what they are saying and so far there are no other posts!!!!
im not saying i have the answer either, im quite neutral in the topic as i do not know any better, however on a personal level i would prefer if there was something i could do to have some sort of birth control....
Humm.....I do not think you are so neutral on this topic as you are claiming to be. :-)
You know hadiths and you know Zakir Naik's views etc. please don't act like so naive. Thank you.
Well, I must say, my answer is still the same as before and I still say none of the answers really contradict each other.
Please learn to read English especially the meaning of words "per se" which I wrote.
Also try to learn the difference in having conditions for something and being not allowed at all.
Contraception per se is allowed in Islam.**
Ask a specific scenario to get an answer/opinion.
Sorry mate, Dr. Naik may be a smart guy but he's not a 'scholar' in the Islamic sense.
Why do you guys ask question whose answers you know will not like? As if anyone is going to stop using contraception.
Dunno why this subject is so controversial when it’s been clearly documented that the sahaba used the withdrawal method (azl) and Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) did not forbid it. Check out: IslamWeb - Contraception: An Islamic Perspective and: Contraception for the Sake of Enjoyment - IslamonLine.net - Ask The Scholar
ok diwana
ok Hustler! :-)
Hustler, interesting username you pick which is mostly synonymous with pornography. Anyhow... of course your question: What ISLAM says about contraception, such a big issue, your hell and heaven depend on it, really! Is it HALAL or HARAM, roti hazam nahi hoti naa jub tak pata na chaley... I am no mullah or molvi, nor do I want to be but common sense begs me to ask these questions:
Do you pray? Five times a day? If not, work on that before contraception...
Do you pay zakah? If not, don't you think thats tiny bit more important than contraception?
Do you keep fast? If not, work on that...if you fast, you wouldn't have to worry about having sex, now would you? Contraception within.
How about hajj and umra?
Reciting Quran? Understanding and implementing it?
Huqooq Allah? Do you really think God would give contraception such a big priority to put it in his list of haqooqs/rights?
Huqooq-ul-ebaad? Thats more important than what God thinks about your sexual practices and what you do in privacy of your bedroom.
If you are going to have a kid, you will get one or two no matter what.
Today, we've reduced Islam to these asinine issues of halal and haram instead of focusing on what really matters!
leva go and find out the original meaning of what and who a hustler is.....look at all meanings of the word!!!
dnt worry about how much of a practicing muslim me or anyone is....each to there own because in the end its between one and allah....
the issue of contraception is actually very important in islam as u could actually be committing haraam every time u get intimate...
it just shows how shallow people actually are that the point and question i posted has gone completely over your head and ur talking about how good a muslim i am...? strange!!!!
if u dnt like wot is being posted.....dnt reply! its easy and if u do want to comment then make it constructive....
i actually think u r one of these ignorant pakistani muslims by the sound of ur thread who rather then be pro active in finding out what is and isnt allowed actually just doesnt do anything with an answer of islam isn't actually that complicated and allah isnt worried about ones sexlife.....thats a joke because if u was a practising muslim u would know how important this is and there is alot that is allowed and not allowed...
although islam is not comlicated...its actual meaning is it is a way of life...therefore has an answer for everything and a way to lead every part of life....
and finally just for your info the thread was posted because there are many different opinions on the matter from wot i have found searching the net, and just to say its not important is ridiculous and very ignorant!!!
seems as though everyone wants to be a scholar and has completely missed the point of the thread...... :)