ISI chief knew whereabouts of Osama bin Laden's hideout: NYT

ISI chief knew whereabouts of Osama bin Laden’s hideout: NYT

By CARLOTTA GALLMARCH

…Soon after the Navy SEAL raid on Bin Laden’s house, a Pakistani official told me that the United States had direct evidence that the ISI chief, Lt. Gen. Ahmed Shuja Pasha, knew of Bin Laden’s presence in Abbottabad. The information came from a senior United States official, and I guessed that the Americans had intercepted a phone call of Pasha’s or one about him in the days after the raid. “He knew of Osama’s whereabouts, yes,” the Pakistani official told me. The official was surprised to learn this and said the Americans were even more so. Pasha had been an energetic opponent of the Taliban and an open and cooperative counterpart for the Americans at the ISI. “Pasha was always their blue-eyed boy,” the official said. But in the weeks and months after the raid, Pasha and the ISI press office strenuously denied that they had any knowledge of Bin Laden’s presence in Abbottabad.

According to one inside source, the ISI actually ran a special desk assigned to handle Bin Laden. It was operated independently, led by an officer who made his own decisions and did not report to a superior. He handled only one person: Bin Laden.

Full Article: http://nyti.ms/1gafn3h

Read the full article and draw your conclusions. It’s a good piece related to the Taliban and some information on the Lal Masjid tragedy as well.

Re: ISI chief knew whereabouts of Osama bin Laden's hideout: NYT

It defines the predicament the US faces in Afghanistan. But I doubt if the job is even "half-done" because Taliban remain a potent force in the country and perhaps most relevant party today. Secondly, Afghanistan in no way is better than what it used to be. The labyrinthian dynamics of the country are still as complicated as ever and it's not a safe place either — neither for itself, nor for the rest of the world.

اسامہ بن لادن کی موجودگی سے پاکستان لاعلم تھا: انٹیلی جنس
**اسلام آباد: (دنیا نیوز، ویب ڈیسک) پاکستانی انٹیلی جنس ذرائع کا کہنا ہے کہ القاعدہ کے سابق سربراہ اسامہ بن لادن کی پاکستان میں موجودگی بارے کسی کو علم نہیں تھا۔ نیویارک ٹائمز کی خبر میں کوئی صدات ہے اور نہ ہی ان کے دعوے حقیقت پر مبنی ہیں، ان الزامات کی تردید کرتے ہیں۔ غیر ملکی خبر رساں ادارے کی خبر بے بنیاد ہے۔ الزام کا مقصد پاکستان اور آئی ایس آئی کو بدنام کرنا ہے۔ واضع رہے کہ امریکی اخبار نیویارک ٹائمز کے مضمون میں کہا گیا ہے کہ سابق سربراہ آئی ایس آئی جنرل شجاع پاشا کو اسامہ بن لادن کے ٹھکانے کا علم تھا۔ جنرل پاشا امریکیوں کے ساتھ مل کر طالبان کیخلاف سرگرم تھے۔ امریکی حکام آئی ایس آئی کے سربراہ جنرل پاشا کے طالبان کے معاملات میں ملوث ہونے پر حیران تھے۔ جبکہ سابق صدر پاکستان جنرل ریٹائرڈ پرویز مشرف اور پاک فوج کے سابق سربراہ جنرل اشفاق پرویز کیانی طالبان کو تحفظ فراہم کیا تھا۔

القاعدہ کے سربراہ کو بچانے کیلئے پاکستان کے خفیہ ادارے آئی ایس آئی میں خفیہ ڈیسک قائم تھا جو پرویز مشرف نے قائم کر رکھا تھا۔ اسامہ بن لادن ڈیسک کا آفیسر کسی کو جوابدہ نہیں تھا۔ اخبار کہتا ہے کہ اسامہ بن لادن کا جماعت الدعوۃ کے امیر حافظ سعید سے براہ راست رابطہ تھا جو آئی ایس آئی کے قریب تھے۔ آئی ایس آئی میں کچھ سیل طالبان کی مدد کر رہے تھے لیکن آئی ایس آئی میں کچھ سیل ایسے تھے جو شدت پسندوں اور طالبان کے خلاف کام کر رہے تھے۔ پاکستانی حکومت اور انٹیلی جنس دونوں مل کر شدت پسندون کے گروہوں کو کنٹرول کر رہے تھے۔ امریکا نے اس مسئلے کو اس لئے اجاگر نہیں کیا کیونکہ پاکستان اور امریکا کے تعلقات پہلے سے ہی کشیدہ تھے۔

Yeh Pakistan hay
*Yahan Police ko bhi jurm haonay say phlay pata hota hay .

It is a well known fact that majority of Al qaeda and taliban are hiding in Pakistan and Osama was found under the radar of pak army. Afghanistan is not the same as 2001, since then a decade has past and its citizens do not want a return of the Taliban. Moreover, there is a strong section of the society both inside and outside the gov't willing to fight the Taliban. Are there people in Pakistan willing to fight the TTP. PTI, PMLn, JI, JUI and some powerfull individuals are the spoke persons of TTP. Afghanistan is are far better than in 2001, you cannot deny this fact. Since 2001, it has seen improvement in international relations, improved its infrastructure, army is established, warlords no longer control private armies, to a certain extent free media is established what more would you expect from a country that has been through war with a super power and its neighbours did not spare a moment in destroying it.

Re: ISI chief knew whereabouts of Osama bin Laden’s hideout: NYT

Which Afghanistan are you talking about?

Let’s separate facts from fiction.

Karzai sees no good in US presence in Afghanistan](http://www.dawn.com/news/1084543/karzai-sees-no-good-in-us-presence-in-afghanistan)

Insisting that he “saw no good” in the American presence in Afghanistan, Mr Karzai said: “They did not work for me, they worked against me.”

Although the United States spent $648 billion during the Afghan war, Mr Karzai said it did not help him.

“The money they should have paid to the police they paid to private security firms and creating militias who caused lawlessness, corruption and highway robbery,” he said.

“They then began systematically waging psychological warfare on our people, encouraging our money to go out of our country.”

Mr Karzai also blamed the United States for creating “pockets of wealth and a vast countryside of deprivation and anger” in Afghanistan.

Full Article

LMAO! That is so wrong its amazing. Please say something against Dostum in Mazar! Please I dare ya! Lets see what happens!

Dostum openly apologized for his role in the civil war. What else do you want from him. Has anyone from the pak army apologized for 1971 or babra day massacre.

Has Indian army apologized for its role in East Pakistan?

Who cares about the hindu or the indian army, but you are a so called the Islamic Republic and want to create a brotherly islamic country and what did you do in 1971, raped and killed innocent people, because some cowards were unable to face the hindu army so they took their anger on poor muslims in Bangladesh. It was Pakistan and not India responsible for 1971 war and its defeat. As I said in my early post, pakistan has killed and handed over more muslims than India, TTP and Al-Qaeda knows this. The prove is in front of you.

Why Pasha alone ?
If Pasha knew , Kiani was at this seat earlier and Abbotabad compound was built prior to him perhaps
Reports says that OBL was sent to American Hospital UAE for kidney treatment (may be a kidney transplant)
Many were knowing than including US .
Every one used this fool as a tissue paper and killed him when he become little poor , weak , sick and old .

Say a word against Dostum in the North and lets see who comes and gets you in the middle of the night. Afghanistan is nothing more than a bunch of fiefdoms connected to a tzar who they pay a bribe to every month.

Say something openly about TTP in KPK and FATA and then see what happens to you. Did you forget the poor Malala and Salman Taseer.

Afghanistan was already an Islamic country. So we did not need to do it all over again.

What Pak army did in Bagladesh is different from what you are doing in Kashmir? Why don't you wory about Maoist insurgency in your very own backyard instead of telling what Pakistan did wrong or right?

We understand that there is a lot of speculation regarding the allegations made in the NY Times article. Laura Lucas Magnuson, a spokesperson for the National Security Council at the White House, refuted the allegations and had this to say: “As US officials have said, we have no reason to believe that anyone in the highest levels of the government knew about the location of bin Laden. That continues to be true.” Additionally, the spokesperson of the Pakistan embassy in Washington DC noted that senior US officials “have on a number of occasions stated on record that they had seen no intelligence linking the government of Pakistan and any of its agencies to OBL’s presence in Abbottabad. To still believe otherwise and to resurrect the issue through unnamed sources and unconfirmed reports does not deserve attention,” the embassy spokesperson added.

Ali Khan
Digital Engagement Team, USCENTCOM

ISI chief also knew about Saddams WMD and found in Bushes you know where :D Saddys WMD and Al-Qaeda were/are the biggest threat to mankind.

Folks do you actually believe all this BS about capture and killing of Bin Laden and other half-A$$ strories coming out of Amreeka and its cronies?

Anonymous speculation has become the hallmark of the NYT.

Let's follow the trail here. An anonymous pakistani official says he learnt this from an unknown American official. Additionally, an unnamed inside source says there was a special desk set up just for bin Laden. And this is supposed to be the newspaper of record?

It's also interesting that the Pakistani official seems more certain of pasha's involvement than the Americans. Must be a Pmln stooge who blame pasha for propping up pti.

Pasha shareef aur bewaqoof tha , target ban gia
Yeh sab to Ayoub kay zamany say aisa hi chal raha hay

Re: ISI chief knew whereabouts of Osama bin Laden’s hideout: NYT

That makes sense. Dr. Afridi should be released now.

Pakistan cuts term for doctor who helped CIA find Osama bin Laden - latimes.com

By Zulfiqar Ali

March 15, 2014, 8:31 a.m.

PESHAWAR, Pakistan – A Pakistani tribal court on Saturday reduced the prison sentence for the doctor identified as helping the CIA track down Osama bin Laden from 33 years to 23 years.

Shakil Afridi, convicted in 2012 of links to a banned militant group, was cleared of one of the charges against him: that he sought to wage war against Pakistan.

Afridi was arrested by Pakistani authorities shortly after U.S. commandos killed the former Al Qaeda chief in a town outside Islamabad in May 2011. He has been held in Peshawar since then but has not been charged for his alleged role in the bin Laden raid.

U.S. officials believe he was targeted by Pakistani intelligence services angry over the raid, which President Obama ordered without informing Islamabad. American officials have lobbied for Afridi’s release, a request Pakistan has steadfastly denied.

Afridi, a head of the health directorate in the Khyber Agency tribal area, allegedly helped the CIA by carrying out a fake polio vaccination campaign in Abbottabad, a garrison town outside the Pakistani capital, in order to collect DNA samples of residents to determine whether bin Laden was living there. He was convicted on separate charges related to links to Lashkar-e-Islam, a militant group based in Khyber Agency.

The tribal court judge, Munir Azam, also reduced the fine against Afridi from 320,000 Pakistani rupees, about $3,200, to 220,000 rupees, or $2,200.

Ali is a Times special correspondent.

the sad part is that no Pakistani believes in its government, army or agencies...ask your heart, do you trust ISI statements? they have zero credibility among its own citizens..we all know the dirty games that ISI and our army played to flourish and support taliban for decades and which has now come back to haunt us...how can you trust these people? they have been lying for so long....they also played the double game throughout musharaff era and supported taliban....and then got into this good taliban and bad taliban game after lal mosque fiasco.

Alas i have no reason to believe ISI and therefore i do suspect that this report may have some merit as logic suggests and that idiot pasha may very well be supporting laden.

one more point...not that agencies of other countries reveal all of their plans in front of their respective masses truthfully but at least in those countries, civilian govts are in control and as such set up security and national policies and therefore their intelligent agencies and army leadership dont have liberty to do whatever they want and for sure dont have liberty to set up long term strategic and foreign policies....whereas in our Pakistan, army and ISI have been ruling the country solely for last 40 years and are doing whatever they want.