Is wife liable to taking care of her in-laws?

Masha Allah you are married.

Don't worry sis. Some mom spoil their kids and later after shadi they pay the price.

You don't worry and keep doing what you are doing. But don't take girls work in your hand like ironing girls cloth but you can do that if you want to out of love and Allah will give you great reward.

Sis you are so lucky.

My sister use to give her SIL nashta on the tray and she keep galiing my sister continously ask every time cook this for me and cook that for me and my sister use to do like servant with all the galies and use to give her tea on her bed. Use to do whatever her MIL says and they all don't do anything my sister has to do cooking and everything all with 24 hour galian and buduain even galiaan to my parents.

But after sometimes Allah helped them Alhamdolillah it took a long time but now she is happy.

You are lucky sis. You have MIL to help you and no gali 24/7.

Allah will help you Insha Allah. Don't wory time will fly. I'll also pray for you.

Keep your confidence in Allah to help you and he sure will Insha Allah.

Re: Is wife liable to taking care of her in-laws?

Interesting -

how many of you live with you inlaws? Or plan to (under one roof) or plan to have them move in with you after you are married?

story banana is in Pakistani genes

well thats fine then, but if someone is doing more than they have to, thats their good heart. I believe in a sensible distribution of workload

So, me saying there is nothing wrong with taking care of his parents is childish?

I said: "nothing wrong with taking care of inlaws...he will take care of my parents too" because Im someone's child too. My parents need their children just as much as his will. I realize you're a man and thats why you say this, because you're looking for a woman who will slave away in front of your parents and ask for nothing in return.

I have no problem taking care of my inlaws...all I ask is that my parents be shown the same respect because they deserve it.

Kisi maan ya baap ka darja kam nahin hota hai agar unke ghar mein beti ho to.

and then she comes to GS and post thread after thread how this is not her duty :)

Islamically she is not required to take care of In laws but if she does that of course that will go extra mile. Sometimes we try to "over compensate" women. Its almost her duty to take care of household just like its duty of men to earn money for it.

I've always lived with and around my in laws. Only 2 years (I've been married almost 13 yrs.) ago we moved away from them due to my husband's new job, but eventually, his mom will come back to stay with us, insha'Allah.

shame on you laughing at the tragic death of munna :frowning:
he did not have to die

Re: Is wife liable to taking care of her in-laws?

Something to think over is that God/Allah gave us free will - we are free to act as nicely or as meanly as we want to. So perhaps the rules about caring for family members - be they younger or older - are not included because it kind of goes without saying yeah?

In Pak, there is no "social security" income, there is very little estate planning as in IRA funds etc. Elders expect that they will live with and be taken care of by their sons. So this needs to be taken into consideration at rishta-time.

In USA and probably in all other western countries, people have planned their retirement from early ages so as not to "impose" on their kids. I've been going bonkers trying to get my mom to live with me since she became widowed but she absolutely refuses - she has a great income and a place of her own and wouldnt dream of "imposing" to that degree. And even thoughI try to talk her into living with me, I know that I'd never do that to my kids.

Its all a matter of free will, perspective (culturally speaking), and the needs/desires of the elder. But anyone, family or NOT!!! who needs a home and a hot meal and good down-home care...never would I turn them away.

Absolutely! My grandparents from both sides lived with my family when I was younger during various times. I think that the backlash against living with parents comes from the treatment that many women receive from their in-laws. I am not in favor of the institutionalization of the joint family, instead I prefer the arab model of living in ones own home until the parents are in need of care, and not living with brothers, sisters, etc. It can encourage freeloading among the younger siblings. An ideal joint family system is one in which EVERY member of the family is contributing. When I lived with my in-laws I did the bulk of the housework, and I was helped only by my devranis and the servants. My MIL was the "supervisor" and my nands did nothing because they were "studying".