Is wife liable to taking care of her in-laws?

My last topic about Husbands marrying again made many women angry so to be politically correct, here is a topic where women can find a lot of room to say their mind and be happy again. LOL

So what do you think, are wives responsible to take care of her husband’s old parents and young siblings?

Re: Is wife liable to taking care of her in-laws?

Islamically, no she's not.

Culturally, yes.

Individually, its a mix of both (or neither).

out of kindness she should treat her husbands parents as she would her own

however as Sara516 mentioned above its not compulsory in Islam

nobody cares for Islam these days.culturally she is demanded to do so n if she ever talks of her islamic rights there can b a big time fasaad.Actually MILs secret fancy is to bring bahu not for their sons but for their own services.

Paki bhai, no we are not mad :smack: at your other thread. These are discussions and it’s good to hear different perspectives.

Regarding in laws, I was told that taking care of them earns you extra credit but if you don’t, you do not get gunnah. There is no obligation to serve your in laws.

However, I feel that as a wife, it is my priority to keep my husband happy (yeah feminists, bash me I don’t care, but it is), and if taking care of my husband’s family makes him happy I will do it by all means. Also, it is unnecessary to alienate yourself from his family… why the need? Your kids need the love and affection of dadi and dada. Also, if I want my parents to be respected and taken care of, I must also demonstrate similar actions toward my in laws. It’s not that hard.

Agree with Sara but also agree with Mabrook.

How do you deal with a situation where you as a wife are expected to take care of everything and if you don't, your SAAS will burn you alive....LOL

Yes wife is responsible for taking care of old parents of husband and also husband is responsible for taking care of old parents of wife.

Married people share their lives and this also means sharing responsibilities. If a man has responsibility of taking care of his parents then the wife HAS TO share and vice versa.

And won't you take care of old people if they need help or young children?

Why shy away when they happen to be your spouse's relatives.

Islamically not, yeah , we love to qoute a few Mullahs when it suits our purpose.

It amuses me how women beat the islamic drum when it comes to separate house and not taking care of in laws.

Icono, I agree totally.

Out of kindness and a sense of goodness she should. From an Islamic POV he is responsible for his parents and she for hers.

If the parents are young enough to have young children, then most likely they are not in need of physical care. If they are old and infirm, then she should absolutely help care for them. However, that doesn't mean that she should be treated as a glorified servant.

The real question is this: Is a husband liable to take care of his in-laws?

You know if there was anything like reincarnation, I would ask Allah to make you my wife in next janam, seriously, where were you like 15 years ago and why didn’t I find you. Women of your mentality don’t exist anymore…

This is not an attempt to make a pass at you, it is a serious complement.

^these women do exist, but, you have to look for them at right place and secondly respect them.

It amuses me how men beat the Islamic drum when it comes to having a second wife and not giving the wife her rights. Hypocrisy, boo ya!

is husband liable of take care of his inlaws ????

ma answer depend on his answer.....
sorry it goes hand in hand....

Aww thanks Paki ji but I am not as nice as you think in real life. I make my share of errors every day and it's much easier to write and impress others than actually do all of it!

^ Thank you Icono Uncle :slight_smile:

PakiAmerican you should hold on to your compliments, it makes people like me not want to second those posts - because then it sounds like fishing-for-compliments-business. :bummer:

Go Niksik :AID:

I should really read posts before I reply =//

^ :rotfl:

hahaaha yep, i was going to say the same.
aur kaheen observe karain na karain, apnay kaam par islam foran yaad a jata hai.

reminds me of my cousins who were in their dad's face because they wanted money to go do something and he was not giving them money for it...they were complaining how they dont have the freedom their frrends have, and he said, yep, so be like them and work to pay your own bills too and pay me rent...then we can talk about how much freedom you should have..

Waisey you know, when you have a good husband, doing anything for him is a piece of cake :)