is this World's best Batting lineup today??

Is this world hottest ODI batting lineup !!!

Name       Average  Hundreds     
Sehwag    33.00            2
Ganguly    43.60            19
Mongia      33.2              1
Sachin      44.3              33
Dravid      38.3              7
Yuvraj      29.7              0
Kaif          56.3              1

Not only the personal statistics.. This is what this batting lineup has sored in last 10 matches..

260/10(50 ) vs WI         WON
272/4(48.5 ) vs ENG      WON
203/6(45.2) vs SL                  WON
285/4(50) vs ENG                  ABANDONED
188/6(48.1) vs SL                  WON
165 vs ENG                           LOST
304/10(50) vs SL                   WON
326/8(49.3) vs ENG                WON
288/6(50) vs ZIM                   WON
271/2(39.2) vs ENG                WON

Looks like on average team is scorng 270+.Intrestingly most of these win has been without significant contribution from Tendulkar.

is it better than Australian lineup..or 2nd best !!!

def. better than Pakistanz line-up …
every1 is chipping-in with their bit :k:

Rab Rakha

DerVaisH

aise sawal na pooccha karo jin ka jawab den amushkil ho :p

Jawab de hi dalo yaar !! :hehe:

Shouldnot be that difficult.

Andha_qanoon ji...
dont you think you have made the statement too early? I would like to see them perform well against SA and if they go thru SF then Aus.
No one is denying the fact that they have played well over the past coupla months....real test of strength comes against SA/Aus..if they succeed they have reason to claim as the best batting line up..

Probably! If not best second best defenetly after Australia.

This batting line up is very close to the Australians, but the Australians have a edge over the Indians. Not only is their batting line up awesome, they have batsmen the calibre of Waugh brothers who cant make it to the team. If they were playing for anyother country except Australia they would have been an automatic choice. This shows that not only do Australia have the best batting line up they also have quality players in reserve who can replace any of the current players, if need be, without the quality of the batting being affected.

well, if u ask, i think RSA has batsmen with avergaes of 40+ from head to tail, but thgey still aint a good team… :stuck_out_tongue:

and lets just face it SL, ENG, ZIM, WI r not the best of the bowling sides to test batsmen… :wink:

lets see how these batsmen do against RSA and AUS bowlers, and we’ll decide…

Not really!

The best batting side is

Adam Gilchrist
Matthew Hayden
Ricky Ponting
Damien Martyn
Micheal Bevan

Indian batsman can only do wonders in the pitches of sub continent, so far they are no where close to being good as the Aussies. If they were good enough I'm sure the record of 16 years loosing streak abroad wouldn't be around.

I agree with Ehsan, when you have the kind of player like the Waugh brothers struggling to even make the Australian A Team, you got have a damn good team.

If Pakistani batsman all can get in good shape and form and play like a team they can also be along the lines of the Aussies.

and lets just face it SL, ENG, ZIM, WI r not the best of the bowling sides to test batsmen....

Well said!
An injury hit English bowlers, 3rd class Zimbabwe lineup, 3rd class SL bowlers without Murali, and below average performance against Westindies isn't something to be proud about.

I’d say the 1st/2nd place (batting line-up wise) contest is definitely b/w Austrailia and India.. both line ups are wicked! :k:

NO WAY, PAKISTAN HAS THE BEST LINEUP..
especially right now :) eheheheh

just kidding
india is second to none on batsman friendly pitches...
but they are still not an excellent all-round team....
they have many weak links, in bowling and in keeping ...
lets see how they do in bouncy wickets coz no one except for dravid score there....

India and Australia have best batting lineups.

ofcourse it looks to be!!jo haqeqat hai wo man leni chaheye:)

I guess ..... This is the 2nd best batting lineup if were are talking about the "LINEUP". If we are talking about PLAYERS , India sure has great players but Aussis makes better lineup !

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Not really!

The best batting side is

Adam Gilchrist
Matthew Hayden
Ricky Ponting
Damien Martyn
Micheal Bevan

Indian batsman can only do wonders in the pitches of sub continent, so far they are no where close to being good as the Aussies. If they were good enough I'm sure the record of 16 years loosing streak abroad wouldn't be around.

I agree with Ehsan, when you have the kind of player like the Waugh brothers struggling to even make the Australian A Team, you got have a damn good team.

If Pakistani batsman all can get in good shape and form and play like a team they can also be along the lines of the Aussies.

Well said!
An injury hit English bowlers, 3rd class Zimbabwe lineup, 3rd class SL bowlers without Murali, and below average performance against Westindies isn't something to be proud about.

I can appreciate that you think that Indian dont have the BEST batting lineup.Even I dont think that Indians batting lineup is better than that of Australia .That is why I raised that question in my first post.
But stop giving excuses like "An injury hit English bowlers, 3rd class Zimbabwe lineup, 3rd class SL bowlers without Murali, and below average performance against Westindies" or "Indian batsman can only do wonders in the pitches of sub continent" .
This just show your shallowness and jealousy.

Give the credit where it is due.England was not injury hit in natwest trophy.In all matches thay had their best bowlers.Whichever team indians have played in last one year,they have scored very well.Be it SA,ENG,WI,ZIM or any other team.They may not have won as many as they would have liked but then, here we are talking about batting lineup.A team wins because of batting,bowling and fielding and Indian's have very mediocre bowlers.

Go and check scores of Indian in ODIs during last tour of ENG,WI and SA .ENG,WI and SA are not in Subcontinent. so they have scored all over not only subcontinent.

Since they havent played AUS and NZL in recent time ,we cant speak about there performance against them.

If you beat teams like Zimbabwe with more than 15 runs... say 80 runs or so, then you have a good line up, let alone the best batting lineup...

India's line-up is very good against weak sides, and usually it does not string together 8 odd wins, whupping Eng in ODI cricket does not merit a cookie. Its a good line-up, but not the best.

*Originally posted by Spock: *
If you beat teams like Zimbabwe with more than 15 runs... say 80 runs or so, then you have a good line up, let alone the best batting lineup...

Again..I never claimed that India has best batting lineup. I just raised a question.

Your conclusion might be correct but your logic is really dumb.

One can have the best batting lineup and still can loose matches (forget about winning).Batting lineup cannot be judged by how a team win or looses. It can only be judged by how much run a team makes against different teams under different conditions.

So far Indians have played ENG,SL,SA,WI,ZIM in WI,SA,SL ,ENG,IND and on an average they have been scoring 270+ in these matches.

Since they havent played Pakistan and Australia we cannot comment.

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

Again..I never claimed that India has best batting lineup. I just raised a question.

Your conclusion might be correct but your logic is really dumb.

One can have the best batting lineup and still can loose matches (forget about winning).Batting lineup cannot be judged by how a team win or looses. It can only be judged by how much run a team makes against different teams under different conditions.

So far Indians have played ENG,SL,SA,WI,ZIM in WI,SA,SL ,ENG,IND and on an average they have been scoring 270+ in these matches.

Since they havent played Pakistan and Australia we cannot comment.

Ok, my dumb logic gave the right conclusion point over... winning with low margins does not prove your batting is good... Win against the Lankans with a huge margin, then ill be the first one here to say that you batting is good and is clicking well...

R u sure you have sound reasoning skill.

About your conclusion you have right to say whatever you think about this batting lineup.

But please dont give winning margin as a reason. It makes you sound real dumb and its insult to the intelligence of people on this forum.