is this a good way to lose weight in ramzan.

i feel huge, want to lose somewieght.
i feel hungry during the day, so i tend to WANT to eat a paratha for sehri…only with tea.

so if in iftaar i had only fruit chaat would this be ok. no carbs for iftari.

?

ALSO after ramzan, i want to eat no carbs for dinner…that ok?

Re: is this a good way to lose weight in ramzan.

Nadz u need proteins, polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fats, roughage, and vitamins and minerals as well.
its all about balance. Paratha if u r making in ghee is just a killer and big no no.
try having some porridge or have some proteins like egg or chicken in Shri. They will keep u full for longer. I tend to eat more fruits in Iftar but make sure I am getting all my nutrition.

Exercise is very important, try to be more active, do any exercise u like and keep at it.

Best of luck. And before making drastic changes in your diet consult your doc or a nutritionist.

eat after every 2hours dont load lots of khana at iftaar time....n eat healthy stuff not the pakoras samosas sweets etc
u will see a change in ur weight in 2-3weeks inshaAllah

I have not had one samosa or any fried food during this Ramadan, gave up sugar and all sweet things, been really good, having porridge in morning, some fruits and vegetables, a really balanced diet, and have not lost any weight :bummer:

We are day 18 of Ramadan, and yesterday I weighed myself...down 5lbs!! Woohoo!! It's probably mostly "water weight" but I definately notice a slim down in my waist, tummy & face. If I had the himmat to go for a long walk after Iftar, I'm sure I could go down even more.

I have lost 6-7lbs but I also think its water weight. Now I want to maintain this after ramadan, as I dont want the yoyo effect to happen, so will be doing diet control and exercise after ramadan to prevent from weight coming back.

We should be concentrating on worship rather than on diet and losing weight....for God's sake it's not a weight loss program.

wow cool!! congrats! :)
i gain weight in ramadan but this time not gaining much because of breastfeeding....

We should be concentrating on worship rather than sitting and gupshuping on the net ...

LOL sorry could not resist.

Well weight loss is a positive aspect of ramadan, not that we fast for this purpose.

But you don't lose weight with fasting (if you do you'll put back on those few lbs in the first week after Ramadan).

why on earth eat a 1000 calorie paratha then starve all day long...
rather eat weetabix etc and more substantial stuff

Paratha don't have 1000 calories.....parathas made with wholemeal flour and olive oil are actually healthier than processed foods like Weetabix.

^ the calories in a paratha depends on the size of paratha. If you make varki paratha with layers and oil in it that can be easily 800 calories.

Most desi households do make a 600-750+ calorie version of a paratha with the amount of oil and type of flour they use.

Using whole wheat and minimal olive oil is better option. Best not to use oil and eat roti. Olive oil looses most of it's benefits when heated.

^Even with eating "healthy" stuff and all it's very difficult to lose weight with fasting as certain amount of water intake is essential to keep your metabolism working so fasting actually slows down your metabolism. You might lose 5-10lbs of water weight but keeping it off is what counts, one or two eid meals and there you go, you'll put it back again quicker than you think.

Hai, paratha has that many calories. That is all I've been eating everyday after having this baby. Time to stop I guess. But I love parathas

absolutely hareem. It's very tough to lose FAT in Ramadan unless you keep up with exercise.

Good on those who can do it while fasting coz I know I can’t. :no:

Well thats the concern not to gain or even more after we start eating normal.

As for Paratha, I was having one at sehri then I switched to this protein shake with 200 calories, it did fill me up for the next few hours but I was very weak at the end of fast and was about to break down, so after a few days of this dilemma I started having a paratha again and the issues went away. I know paratha is not healthy but its very fullfilling and full of energy that we need for these long days, so nothing harm in eating at sehri, but should stop after ramadan. As u see even that I had paratha, I didnt gain weight. I have to say my paratha is not swimming in oil but its a balance of bit of butter in the center of the dough to make it crisp and some oil for frying.

I'd seriously think about switching to whole meal bread with a light spread and adding some eggs for protein to keep you fuller rather than parathA ... If your trying to lose fat

do not stop eating paratha but dont make it full of oil if i put oil inside the bal wala paratha n then i dont need oil for frying....similarly if u take 2tsp of sugar in ur tea then next time try 1tsp....if u put 2tbsp sugar in fruitchat then next time put 1tbsp....after few days u'll get used to it....take the same amount of normal food which is made in every house...dont stop eating!
and ofcourse exercise is best!