Is the tide about to turn against Zardari?

If the Judges are not restored by the 12th of May and Nawaz Sharif pulls out of the governement. Nawaz then blames Zardari for the failure to restore Judges. Would Zardari’s honeymoon period end and would be he become the new hate figure by the Pakistani general public as well as the media and the civil society?

Re: Is the tide about to turn against Zardari?

I hope so. Zardari hates Musharraf, but his hands are tied because of the NRO. In my opinion, the first thing he should have done should have been the initiation of impeachment proceedings to give a taste of democracy to the brutal dictator, and if he faced any legal trouble, he should have either gone abroad, and pull an Altaf Hussain, or he should have had Musharraf's legal crooks like Half Volt Qayyum sacked. I'm still not sure what hes upto, but one thing is for sure, the patience is running out and he knows he can kiss his party's future goodbye if they stick with supporting the illegit dictator.

PPP did not win election on CJ issue. It was PMLN. Also BB had been talking about a working relationship between PPP and Musharraf. Still they won, so I don't see how and which tide will turn.

If BB had been livign this day, Iam sure they might have not got this many seats (fairly), BB has given the impression to US and Mushy that she/her party can be alternate of PML-Q, But she had gone now, and Zardari seems to be acting in the same direction.

It is right that PPP never promised restoration of Judges, but they did said that they will go against Mushy, seems like that was another "Political Promise" so Zardari seems to be creating a receipe which will either dilute PPP or get it divided into several sactions. The Mission which Zia's establishment couldn't do in 11 years, Zardari will do it in 11 months.

PPP is going to lose big time. I feel this is the last time PPP got the votes in the name of Bhutto. In the emerging scenario, in Punjab, Zardari can not beat even the rehri wala of PML N in the by elections. :)

I think NS is the biggest winner in this political drama & Zardari is about to scarifies PPP for his personal gains...

During the recent elections the PPP had a great deal of sympathy votes due to the assasination of BB. Whereas NS was thinking about boycotting the elections and only decided to take part at the last minute and still did very well. The PP didn't do as well as expected despite the sympathy vote and NS did a lot better than expected.

If there are elections held soon then I think NS would do even better for his principled stand on the judges issue. People have had an opportunity to get slightly better acquainted with Zardari and his future plans as well and aren't too impressed..the honeymoon period will soon be over.

Do you remember Benazir's words outside of the CJ's house, when she declared after the emergency that Chief Justice Iftikhar IS the CHIEF JUSTICE OF PAKISTAN.

Though I am sure Zardari has something up his sleeve, since he hates Musharraf, but is tied by the NRO, failing to do anything about the judges issue is just political suicide for the PPP.

Exactly, I was, until a few months ago thinking the PML[N] was done for, but it staged a huge comeback despite the fact that the top leadership was outside, the uncertainty of the participation, alliances not working out, being out of power for nearly a decade, the Qaaf/lota league split, but I must say they did great. In my recent trip to the province of Punjab, its very evident even from walking in the streets that PML[N] is the only major party that the people support. If Musharraf is ousted, I am pretty sure the next move up NS's sleeve would be to get a reelection, but lets hope he doesnt go that route PROVIDED the dictator and his croonies are trashed.

Pakistans brand of ethnic politics ensures that some people would love him regardless of what he does, and some will hate him regardless of what he does. Its not unique to him though, applies to all major leaders.

I rememer that. PPP has no problem bringing back CJ, as long as
a. the current judges stay
b. CJ's power is reduced

same people who are calling the shots for mush are now giving directions to zardari. he had the gall to talk about a position for mediating between the americans and the pakistani government, sort of like a desi viceroy.

in the end who really gives a rats ass, when the end result of all this will be criminally corrupt characters like zardari and nawaz at the helm of the country. all we can hope for is stability and an uninterrupted running of the democratic processes, so that in 2-3 decades we can hope to have a reasonable expectation of electing competant/deserving leaders.

you are forgeting the hundreds of times she said that there is no need to bring him back and he should not be brought back,
outside the cheap justices house she was only playing politics

it would have been less but with there colation with pmlq they would have gained majority,

zadari is just fulfilling the deal bibi made with musharraf and he has also started to fall in love with musharraf now.

if the colation falls apart it all maters on both zadaris and ns moves, if ns quits no doubt he will have gained more populairty but if zadari can continue to work for a better judariy and can hold on to power for full 5 years he may have the last laught, 5 years down the lane no one would care what happened in 2008.
i belive election of gillani and zadari shifting to lahore are very key developments, gillani would focus on developing south punjab and remember south punjab is no ones territory ppp can easily make it theres in the next 5 years, sindh is always theres and zadari will strenghen ppp in lahore and northen punjab, they will continue to allign with mqm and that should make them strong contenders for the 2011 elections.

nawaz has to really fix his party otherwise it will end up like imran khans, right now its only a two man show with him and his bhaiya,
muslim league will have to unite if they want to fight ppp. otherwise i belive ppp will be winning the next few elections.

She never did, stop making stuff up. She went and declared, right infront of his house that he was the chief justice of Pakistan. End of story.

Which is what our bhudda dictator wants, and we all know how much 'love' he has from the people.

what is it with you and lieing all the time, it was being reported everywhere bb was against cheap justice, open your eyes bacha and look at the realities is well sometimes,

PML N only got 19% of the votes in the Feb 18 elections. It came third place in the center, second place in Punjab, and nowhere really to be seen in the other provinces.

U r right!

But i don't think that NS will let the govt. work with any other option ( as far as restoration of Judges is concerned).... the country is suffereing from several crisis and iam sure there will be few more in near future, People of Pakistan have short memory and they also accuse Mushy and former govt. for their economic illness.

No Matter What Zardari do, he without PML(N) support ( openly or hidden) will not be able to control the situation for 5 years, i guess if Judges are not re-instated and PML (N) joins the APDM and/or Lawyers movement, PPP will see riots/protest worse than 1977.

The main reason for this assumption is , apart from ANP & PPP no other party have much voice/strength on the street.

Lets have a look on the challenges, The Current Govt is facing

1) lawyers Movement, to reinstate judges at Nov 3rd position
2 Wheat Crisis ( although this will be solved once the new crops will be in the market)
3) Alarming Inflation rate
4) Political Stability to ensure the Foreign Investment to create job market
5) To somehow take care of the energy crisis.

Let see how zardari moves from here..

well it all depends and with time we will get the clear picture, i belive if zadari and ppp can survive this year they will go throught the rest,
lawyers movement is gone, it was all politized and now even if ganja tries to continue the marches and destablize the country which he most definatly will, the common man will hardly care as he is without food, water and electricty thanks to ganjas mismanagement. these are the main problems today, anyway i think that zadari will do something about the judges, even if cheap justice choudary is given a crap post and he happily takes it, nawaz or aitzaz wouldnt be able to do anything then.
right now its a time game.