Is the close bride and groom dance accepted in your local society?

Hey Pareezay, it's a small world. I came across whilst browsing wedding videos and it got me wondering. Yes it did look like it was acceptable in that setting, but I did wonder if such dances are acceptable in other segments of pakistani society around the world. What's the best place to find out? Here!!! (That's what I like about GS, you can find out stuff about the rest of the world without having to get out of your armchair.)

All the best to your friend and his wife. If I caused offence then I apologise sincerely.

In the meantime, if no one minds, can we continue the discussion?

Re: Is the close bride and groom dance accepted in your local society?

Well, I think everyone would either faint or be seriously put off even if I put the suggestion up for consideration. It would be as frowned upon as sleeveless outfits and dances at mehndi where my family is concerned. I haven't seen or even heard of a couple dancing at their wedding in Karachi, yet.

BTW, a big chunk of people are still having arranged marriages, where the couple isn't even supposed to interact fully before their marriage. So, how can they have a choreographed dance out of the blue at their wedding?

But if one wants to add a few of these touches to their wedding, like cake cutting and couple dancing, they seem more appropriate for the Valima and not for the actual Nikkah/wedding day, IMHO.

i personally dont think its a good idea. If you love your fiance so much I think there are many other ways to express it than by dancing together just to show to other people how "close" you are.

So we have a fair mix of opinions, I'm not sure but I think a larger part of posters say it wouldn't be very acceptable at the moment. I think the more people do it, the more acceptable it will become IN WESTERN COUNTRIES, but I have never heard of it being done in Pakistan. Anyone?

I wanted to post a link to the videographer's website so people can view the wedding videos. But apparently i have to have 25 posts to post a link?

removed upon request

In my opinion, slow dancing is awkward. I think it's a little tacky. It just doesn't go with the whole 'desi weddings'. Plus it's pretty awkward and boring to watch! especially if two people are up close and gazing into each other's eyes...you can't help but feel uncomfortable. It just doesn't go with the whole atmosphere of desi weddings. Just my opinion!

^ ye i was dere.. it was fun.. i'd say from da mayoon till da valima.. dere was nothing but dancin..lol

i really doubt that a bride and groom would dance together at their own wedding just to show other people that they are 'close'

I personally wouldn't do it, and would find it uncomfortable to see other desi couples doing it. It isn't the norm, and imo it's a very western trend. What's wrong with preserving our own traditions for such events. Yes you love each other, but why not save those special moments for when you're alone.

BTW, what does the 1st dance signify?

This is an Indian wedding:

agreed.

I would say if you wanna have that tender moment together .. then dance alone in the room :D no way you are going away from stares and talks if you do a slow romantic song.. in a desi wedding.. haiii.. dekho zara dulhan khud ki shaadi per nach rahi hain ahahahaha my phopoo would sey.. shock pe shock ahahahah

agree 100%

I went to a wedding where the bride and groom danced to an indian song (but it was all choreographed).

i dunno..it was just odd watching it all.

Me and hubby are having our first dance straight after cutting the cake to a desi song (hey shona) its not going to be awkward or tacky because we wont be uncomfortably swaying like most desi's because they dont know how to dance.

Secondly we wont move over to a dancefloor type area just to do it. Were goign to cut the cake and soon as weve done that the lights will dim and we will have our first dance :)

We will have the biggest smiles on our faces and a great ballroom type dance Inshallah...

The parents wont be too pleased but what the hell its not as if they are going to send me to my room :D

really? these days girls bust out with the full bhangra dance on their wedding. I personally think there is nothing wrong with the slow dance.... now dancing bhangra, and dancing more than your guests... that in my opinion is a problem!

I know right! Go for it!!!!

I will definitely have a slow dance, and how cares if everyone is watching or upset, im sure at the moment you are going to have so many emotions, thinking about starting your new life, how much you love your spouse, etc... ur not even gonna think or care about what people think.

Hehe are you off work today DB? have you decided a song? For us it has to be hey shona.... it was the first song he played to me when we became friends and that was the start of great things :D Oh I am so cheesy I love it!

I know aunties will be like haw but I see brides hardcore bhangra paiing on their mehndi's and I think that is tacky.

If your not a comfortable couple and if its an arranged marriage than having a first dance will probably be a disaster. If your in love then what the heck!

^ i agree, that's the best idea.

I think honestly, if you don't know how to dance, just don't do it. lol so far all the videos here look kinda laughable. :X not be rude to anyone in the videos, but it kind of defeats the purpose of the dance when everyone just stares and laughs at how silly you look.. it's easily noticeable when you're 'out of your element.' Otherwise, take lessons on different kinds of waltz dances, pick a nice song from the beginning and practice in front of a large studio mirror or take a video of yourselves and refine it before you get on the dancefloor on the big day.

I have seen valima slow dances where it's not so startling or shunned by even conservative guests because the couple already had their rukhsati, so they're expected to be together and more comfortable with each other. Plus the couple's outfits aren't all shaadified, but more subtle and western so it's still very possible to come off graceful for the dance.

I think you can easily do an amazing ballroom/waltz whatever kind of dance and look good even in desi clothes. You cant if your not confident and thats the case for alot of couples who look like they themselves are so embarrassed that they want to dig up a hole and sit in it.

Practice, have a laugh even if it goes a bit wrong and be confident. Otherwise dont bother with it.