Is South Asian unity between Pakistanis and Indians possible?

Do you think that south asian unity or desi unity between Pakistanis and non-muslim indians is ever possible?

I have noticed that the problem with pakistanis living in USA and Canada is that they think of the hindus and sikhs as their south asian desi siblings. They want to be buddy buddy with the hindus and that disgusts me.

I think there can never ever be any unity between pakistanis and non-muslim indians and if such unity was possible then there was no need for Partition in 1947. As pakistanis, we should try to unite with the rest of the muslim ummah. We need unity between sunnis and shia; and unity between pakistanis, persians, arabs and african muslims

For example, i am a punjabi but as a muslim i feel i have more in common with a muslim brother from somalia or albania than a punjabi sikh

Re: Is South Asian unity between Pakistanis and Indians possible?

YES!
after we get kashmir. (a promised half a million times)

Wow, here we go again.

What you consider a problem with Pakistanis living in US and Canada is actually an asset for us. We consider people like you to be the reason why Pakistani muslims will never unite with others across the globe...make that I. I dont even think you have the basic concept of Islam down yet: peace. Peace makes no sense to people like you. "I hate Indians" mentality will get you nowhere. Look around you, this isnt new. Pakistan has hated India for decades and vice versa and how much success have we had exactly? In order to make a difference, you have to be able to accept people that are different from you and you're not capable of that yet.

You know what I dont get? My dad told me stories of so much bloodshed during the time he was growing up...so much tabahi and death all around him. He doesnt hate them. Some people seem to think the concept of Peace is naive. It is naive to people who are so far gone, all they see is fighting. But for an outsider, its not naive. It makes sense when you're able to think clearly and are not blinded by hate for Indians.

This thread is a waste, just like the other one is now. If you think uniting AGAINST the world will make them respect you, you're wrong. But then, maybe your goal isnt that. Maybe you dont care about people respecting and acknowleding Pakistan as more then just a 3rd world, poverty stricken country. Maybe all you care for is beating some Indians up and thumping your chest because you got them!

I will say once again, if unity between pakistanis and non-muslim indians was possible or realistic then there was no need for partition in 1947?? If muslims and hindus of the sub-continent are basically the same people then there is no reason for pakistan to exist. The self-hating pakistanis like PSquared need to read about the two-nation theory

And hate is a strong word so i wouldn't say i hate indians. I would use the word "contempt" instead of hate, and yes i have contempt for hindus. Didn't the prophet Muhammad (SAW) contempt idol worshipppers of Makkah??

^ Self-hating? No, I simply cant stand your views. Its people like you that make it hard for Muslims all over the world and always will.

How am i making it hard for muslims all over the world? Are you really so scared of the hindus? You seem to be very worried and concerned about what the indians think of us Pakistanis

hell raiser is some indian pretending to be pakistani.

beat this hindu imposter up!!

I am gona stay out of this thread! Had enough of this pakistan india already!

Its people like you who make it hard for other Muslims all over the world to breathe and live peacefully. Your nick is hellraiser right? There you go, you chose wisely and living upto it.

Im actually worried about what the world (India is a part of this world) thinks of us and how we portray ourselves. Its not about the Hindues, its about the Muslims and what our religion teaches us. Or did you conveniently choose to ignore that part? Do what you need to do make sure Muslims survive and for the time being, hating India isnt it. There are Muslims in India right now and all you will do is make life miserable for them. But your Pakistani Pride prevents you from thinking clearly anymore about anything else.

:cheer:…thank you PS…you guys have no idea how it is for muslims in india…experience that first, then talk all others…:snooty:…staying somewhere else and talking about P-giri…:frowning:

adeeba, where in india are you from originally?

baseless and inflammatory propaganda on either side will never give peace a real chance. sadly, does not matter if 500 ppl want peace, there will be 5,000 who do not. an example:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/310251-such-propaganda.html

Why don’t you share with us? Saying “you guys have no idea how it is for muslims in india” is vague.

We all get angry at India over its genocide and persecution in Kashmir but its citizens are not to blame for that, we should have friendly and cordial relations with everyone, people who preach hatred are a disgrace to their family, religion and country, it reeks of bad breeding.

Win over peoples hearts with your good manners and warmth, don't make people hate Pakistan and Islam more, only good prevails over bad.

If you're going to be an arsehole, people are going to form a bad opinion of Pakistanis and Muslims.

Be a credit to your nation and religion, you foreign Pakistanis are ambassadors of your country and religion.

Just look around you, everyone hates chavs but they love and respect preppies.

It's wrong to pretend we're one and the same as Indians, we should all be proud of who we are, we can maintain our individuality and still respect other people.

Religion is not the only difference between the two countries.

Pakistan and India are multi-ethnic countries, the only Indians we have any similarities with are those that border us directly i.e. the Punjabi (Khalistani) Sikhs and the Urdu/Hindi speaking people.

We have nothing to do with Indian Gujaratis, Tamils, Malayalis, Keralites, Bengalis.. etc. but we should still respect them as fellow humanbeings.

Pakistani Pashtuns and Pakistani Balochs have nothing in common with any part of India.

So in short the only similarity between the two countries are the two languages Punjabi and Urdu/Hindi.

I'm against the use of Urdu as a sole national language in Pakistan and the use of its sister dialect Hindi as a constitutional language in India, it's unfair to other languages spoken in these two countries, this language Urdu/Hindi is responsible for this Pan South-Asian culture thing that is forming.

^ I like your thoughts.

Wah! kya baat hai, very well put. :k:

You want peace? Great. Just go ahead and read Pakistan Affairs on this website and see how your Indian brothers and sisters speak of Pakistan. You might learn something.

Peace is a pipe dream. You better start smoking if you want to see it.

Exactly.

We can't mix with hindus as their culture and our culture and religion is opposite. Mixiing with them means make ourselves gunahgaar.

As punjabies almost all would love to mix with sikh other then sindhi, sirhadi, balochi, mahajir. I don't know why they don't understand that they have to give importance to Muslims then sikhs due to language. That is so stupid who does that.

As quran says musalman say achcha dost musalman kay siwa koi naheen ho sakta yani musalman bahtar hay kisi kafir say.

What I saw here ppl like to make friends to kafir aka angraiz instead of muslim most of the time.

Who has seen and know that understand very well but some ppl are so blind about reality.

CM................of course its a pipe dream...for those who dont want it!

Heera, yahan bhi puhunch gaye? Your answers only make sense to you, thats it.