Is smoking haram?....

Is it really?

I heard it’s maqrooh but some people say “anything that harms you is haram”…

I am a little confused on this issue…i thought it was jus maqrooh?:confused:

I mean if it really is haram than what about Sheeshah/Hookah? Is that haram too??

I have seen many muslims smoking, if it was haram than surely the percentage would’ve been a bit low right?? Just like drinking it’s haram but Muslims do drink but the percentage is far less compare to smoking…

PS: I don’t smoke but i still want to know whether its maqrooh or haram? Other day i had this debate with one of my friend and he said “It’s haram no doubt about it!”…:confused:

If it’s haram than why do i see soooooo many muslims smoking?:hmmm:

Re: Is smoking haram?....

Bhaiya

thts a good question.

You should ask this to a scholar of your sect/school of thought.

Some scholars even say music is haram outright.

Re: Is smoking haram?..

Yes but for music i heard you are not allowed to listen but if you do listen and you don’t follow it than it’s ok? :hmmm:

I might be wrong…

shaz .. smoking ..in this day n age would be considered haraam if its done repeatedly .. cos in islamic shariah .. scholars have declared it as Makrooh e tahreemi .. and the other is makrooh e tanzeehi .. but if makrooh e tahreemi is repeated over and over it becomes haraam ..

aur yeh .. anything which is is detramental to health is considered haraam .. like u gae the exampple of drinking sharaab is haraa, a ruling was declared during the time of the Prophet SAW .. and at that tme and age .. that wa haraam .. so as time and eras went on and on .. new and new rulings came derived ..thru figh.. and in this day one of the things would be drugs ..so similarly .. smoking is also something which causes harm to health ..

so question is really for you.. knowing k smoking can kill and can / is harmful to the health .. what do u think it is ..halal jaiz makrooh mubaah haraam ? :hmmm:

It is considered a slow form of suicide hence haram.

On the flip side many people smoke for 80 years and live just fine...so who knows.

My avatar smokes.

***Yes it is Haram ! ***

Now QUIT IT ! :smilestar:

Sheyn: I don’t smoke :snooty:

FBI: What you said does make sense…but what about those uncle who do hukkah (thats what u call it?) isn’t that haraam? doesnt it harm you too? Smoking is being going on for yrs nd yrs and many many muslims smoke…I know smoking harms you but yet i have seen people who have been smoking for over 50 yrs & yet they are fine & healthy, no problem what so ever??? What about this??

Correct me if i am wrong but i heard from someone Our Prophet (may peace be upon him) used to smoke hukkah too? I don’t believe this but some next person told me…:confused:

^ Agree with Fayax, it's a form of slow suicide. Islam urges us to take care of our bodies...and to deliberately consume substances that are detrimental to your health is not right. I guess one could argue that stuffing yourself with artery clogging cheese burgers could be a slow way to kill yourself. But at least with food......their is some nutritional value. Whereas....what such value/benefit is there in smoking?

What about man shaving their beards??? I mean that harm your skin too???

Should we declare that haram too???

I see mullah/movlis givin lecture on Islam and yet when i see them outside they are smoking! Some say it's maqrooh?

Its not haram at all. First go to Middle East and ban HUkkah & Pan which is 10 times bigger killer then Cig.

Exactly…

I actually forgoet about paan :wink:

So what about paan & sparis etc? I am sure they are even worse than smoking…:hmmm:

If smoking is haram ( as some of u are sayin) than i am sure hukkah/paan/shaving beards off, comes in the same category as smoking? In other words haram?

oh puhleeez!

do we really have to make religion this hard?

and no its not haram. atleast it wasnt declared haram by prophet pbuh. now watever the mulahs say. dfferent mullahs say different things. ab kahan kahan sar maro ge?

if u dont wanna smoke cuz it effects ur health then jolly good. and u shudnt smoke waise bhi . but declaring it haram ourselves is way too far.

But we should find out whether its haram or not…i mean why would u do something when u are not sure about it??? or have ur doubts???

If we don’t ask people/mullah/molvis than who should we ask? Go to Allah and than ask him???

I know our PBUH never decared it haram but on the other hand he did say “Anything that harms your body is haram or maqrooh?”:hmmm:

I don't know if smoking is haram. I never said that. I said I didn't think it was right. I've heard that some people disapprove of shaving from a religious standpoint. But I've never heard of any religious references to shaving. In my opinion, shaving is not as bad as smoking, the side effects are not detrimental to your health or life. Cigarettes, on the other hand, contain carcinogens or cancer-causing agents. That's why they are a bigger deal than shaving.

I think that even if you were to totally skip the religious perspective....and just look at smoking from strictly an educational point of view......you will find that there are no real worthy benefits in such an activity. And you can argue that education will point out the negative side to almost any activity including eating vitamins or certain foods. In such a situation, you see if there is ANY benefit at all in the issue....and you weigh your pros and cons.....and use judgment based on the information.

My grandfather was had smoked for years and then decided to stop for a very long time.....but this long break that he took from smoking could not undo the damage that was caused. He died from lung cancer several years ago after a long period of not smoking. I personally don't smoke and I don't feel comfortable with people smoking around me as I don't want to inhale the chemicals. However, I have nothing against those who smoke. It's their personal preference and their life.

i didnt say dont go to mullahs :smack: i jst said different ppl have different views so its gonna make more confused. and sum ppl try to prove their point and will give u justifications that hardly make nay sense so be careful of those ppl.

and for smoking we all knw it harms our bodies os y do it in the first place right? leave religion alone and bring common sense in.

and even if its haram and we r confused bout it and we dont knw then there is no sin if commited in ignorance.

there r sum traditions that shows that prophet pbuh didnt like to smoking and didnt like other ppl smoking around him so he jst used to ask them to leave the room and smoke outside. never asked them no to. u getting my point?

^ i dont knw if im right about the traditio u can correct me if im wrong.

^ Exactly Kali Billi! If one is unclear about religion's stance on an issue....or even if one wants to totally ignore religion......u still have your own common sense/education to base your judgment on.

I wouldn’t smoke even if it wasnt haram/maqrooh…i know it harms you…

There are some scholars who say that since it is adictive it is haram.

Others say that since it is haramful it is haram.

And some say since there is nothing good that can come out of it so it is a waste of time and money hence forbidden.

Means there is no exact answer to it..:hmmm: i think/we think/mullahs think…are all opinions…

So this jus proves there is no exact answer in our religion about smoking…so it’s upto people who want to smoke or not…

The reason why i started this thread was to get a true answer,i thought someone will tell me the real answer whether its allowed or not…but since there is no exact answer i guess jus forget about it…those who want to smoke carry on & those who don’t wnat to jus dont!

yeah exaclty! its another grey area so theres no point arguing about it. there is no gunah or sawab so yeah carry on with ur lives.

Imam Zaid Shakir’ (Arabic: 'زيد شاكر*,* Zaid Shākir‎) is an African-American Muslim speaker and intellectual in the United States. In 2003, he moved to Hayward, California with his family to serve as a scholar-in-residence and lecturer at Zaytuna Institute where he now teaches regular courses on Arabic, Islamic Law, History, and Islamic Spirituality.
Zaid Shakir is amongst the most respected and influential Islamic scholars in the West. As an American Muslim who came of age during the civil rights struggles, he has brought both sensitivity about race and poverty issues and scholarly discipline to his faith-based work.

Smoking is makrooh bro. Not haraam.