Is smacking children an effective form of discipline?

Opinions please.

Re: Is smacking children an effective form of discipline?

It is wrong. They learn from their parents that violence is acceptable when you cannot get your way. And repeat it for their kids. Desi mom's have a better weapon than their hands....."GUILT" Most use it to perfection..."hai allah...mera laRka..meri larKi kaisi hai...dekho..meri izzat..balh..blah..blah.."

It is wrong.

Children need to be respected, smacking them is degrading. And yes they learn to be violent -- it never disciplines them. Plus parents might start with a smack, and when it no longer works, it turns into abuse.

Shahreen--- Why do I not like the fact that you - who has an adorable child- opened this thread . :p

Don't worry MQ......it's just a general topic. Besides Harris is more stronger than I am.

It depends on the circumstance. there is nothing wrong with whopping that little tush once in a while. I am not advocating beating them up, I am just saying that little spanking does not harm them in any way if the cirumstances call for it.

Shahreen—I feel better. :kiss:

Kaleem — how can you possibly think theres nothing wrong with smacking them? And how is that teaching them they did something wrong?

It's wrong. It's tempting 'cause you know it will work, but the repurcussions are bad very bad.
Let me qualify: I am not talking about hitting on the tushie. I am talking about beating like our parents and grandparents used to beat us up.
Gitmo is joke compared to the siht I had to put up with.

I agree with Kaleem. It depends on the circumstances.

Matsui yaar, I thought the poll is about smacking kids, and not one’s spouse. It’s all about kids yaar.

Smacking kids is not only not effective, it is downright barberic.

It depends upon the kid :D

Circumstances that lead to a smacking generally result from bad parenting to begin with.

Wah Ahmadiji Bhaijan, blame parents for messed up kids.

:jhanda:

Ahmadjee bahijaan, how old is your daughter?

Madhanee, barbaric....sue me. Call the CPS on me. There is nothing wrong with it at all if done under the right circumstances.
Verizon, I knew there was something wrong with you. No wonder you duck under the table when somebody raises his hand to scratch his back.

Does that explain the recurrent gitmo references in all your posts?

It also depends on what your definition of smacking is.

For example, if a 2 or 4 year old keeps touching something they aren't supposed to touch (say an electrical appliance ... yes, I know it should be out of their reach) but they keep touching it despite your repeated verbal warnings ... I don't see anything wrong with lightly smacking their hands (after you warn them of what you will do) if they continue to push you ... cause the way I see it, they are testing you too in order to see how far you are willing to let them go. To me, lightly tapping their hands is also considered smacking and I don't think there's anything wrong with that. I'm not advocating beating up your kids or anything like that.

Mind you, I don't have a kid and who knows if I'll even be able to discipline like the above example in the future.

Kaleem Bhai, my daughter is 15 months old and she runs like there is no tomorrow. These days her best hobby is to pull the table cloth or try to see what's on the stove.

You will Mehnaz, and sometimes you need to. These people who talk about just talking to the kid and sending them to time outs are teaching their kids that there are no consequences for their bad behavior.

So true Mehnaz. Its all easier said than done! In theory everything seems easy and logical who knows what the real deal will be like!

Inflicting physical pain is not a lesson.

MQ, do you have kids?

Its not physcial pain, its a little tap on the tushi. Trust me that little pain tells them that they are not supposed to do certain things. I am not saying that you do that for everything, you only do it sparingly. Mehnaz, gave a perfect example...if my girls are trying to put their fingers in the electric socket...(yes I have mine child proofed.) After repeated attempts to stop them for it, and a clear warning of spanking. I will/have spank her/him if he/she continues to do it.