is quran only directed at males???!!!!!!!!!!!

i have a question :

why is quran (if u read the translation) being addressed to males?.. i mean god doesnt actually address women in the way as he/she/it talks to MALES … it looks like males are the directed audience for the quran???

and what were the reasons that none of the prophets were females?..

i need some directions here

You have got wrong information. The number of times women have been addressed in Quran is exactly the same as the times men have been addressed in Quran.

i can call 911 4 u if you want…woh khud hi aker tum ko pagal-khanay pohuncha dein ge…

God bless u all…

cheez-cakez par baitha hua…
DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

Originally posted by khan_sahib:
*You have got wrong information. The number of times women have been addressed in Quran is exactly the same as the times men have been addressed in Quran. *

read al baqara .... its always.... "and u should take care of ur wives...." .... and never "u females ....do this....."

.... y?????

Seems that way. Women may be mentioned as many times as males are but like Gamma said, it's not you women, it's you men and your women and the like.

sarah right... thats what i mean...

is there a reason to this...???????????? does any one know????

In the first place, we need to see whether these types of issues are required to be addressed instead of the main teachings which
Quran revealed ? and if we start looking into those issues then I am sure we will forget our actual syllabus which we need to cover for final exams and we have very limited and un-certain deadline for such preparation.

There are a lot of things in Quran which are beyond our understanding skills, as Allah knows well the reason of each and everything, and we don't have such capability to understand these type of questions.

However, the only reason that comes in my mind about such " Men' addressing in Quran is based on following facts;

1- All the prophets who were given the books including Quran, were Men.And that's why Allah is addresing them although women are also addressed but virtually.

2- Men is supposed to be the " Qawwam " on their females and kids according to Quran i.e " Arrijaal-o-Qawwamona Alan-n-Nisa" so he is the main focus of directions, just as the Driver of any car is supposed to know all the rules and regulations of the driving and locations and lateron he can inform such rules and regulation to other passengers of the Car.

Last but not the least, Women is created weak(comparatively) and more vulnerable than Men and hence according to Shariah laws Men is made responsible for their families, not the Women.

Anyway, without minimizing the role of Women in Islam and indulging into any "MEN and WOMEN RANKS in Islam" discussion,we shall simply focus on the questions and issues which we are told to be asked on the day of judgement.

God knows better

hmmm thanks

that kinda made sense… thanks for taking time to look into those matters

but there have to be some other reasons

GammaDilation,

It's a matter of understanding. I would understand from the quoted ayat that it increases the responsibility of men a little while. I don't know how u deduced that meaning but the fact remains that Quran addresses men and women equally.

gamma u have acted like a fool once too often, but if u do this in religion forum too i will try my best to have u banned....

armughal bahi i dont understand what ur problem is????????

state it explicitly ok.... u have no right to call me ** "fool" ** , ** "acting smart" ** , ** " pervert" ** , ** "loser" ** , ** "low IQ ** .... ok.... have i said anything such as this about u????

u exactly know when u have used those words and in which threads..thank u

take care

The best direction I can give is for you to try and improve your knowledge on religious issues. Asking questions about why Allah has done something or not done something is not knowledge and can mislead you. He is All-Knowing and All-Wise. There are many things we cannot understand because of our limited knowledge.

Rabbeshrah lee sadree; wa yassirlee amree; yafqahoo qaulee.

Originally posted by FactFinder:
** The best direction I can give is for you to try and improve your knowledge on religious issues. Asking questions about why Allah has done something or not done something is not knowledge and can mislead you. He is All-Knowing and All-Wise. There are many things we cannot understand because of our limited knowledge.**

FF,
How is he or anybody else for that matter supposed to improve/gain knowledge about Religion when you Damn them from asking questions?

But the fact is - Mullahs and Orthodoxy do want muslims asking questions; they just want them to:HEAR & OBEY! I stated this matter of fact rather clearly in the post started by Sarah: IS GOD MISOGYNIST?

Asking questions can lead to Heresy - such is the state of islam today.

Originally posted by armughal:
gamma u have acted like a fool once too often, but if u do this in religion forum too i will try my best to have u banned....

Similar reaction to asking questions as taken by FactFinder. The difference is one is using DIRECT threat of banning and the other (FF) is using Allah's retribution as a THREAT.

** GET THE POINT - They do not wish you to use your intellect & reason. They just want you to OBEY what their scholars have laid out for you as the Sharia'h (practise of islam).**

Follower of any dogma should ask questions to what they are being lead to believe. Reactions displayed by FF & armughal should serve as a red flag that they are trying to conceal and do not wish you to know.

**NOTE to SENTINEL:
If you choose to delete this post as you deleted my rebuttal to your post in your thread: THE COLOURS OF ISLAAM then- ensure I receive a copy of my post in the pm.

In that thread you accuse "Allah's Diversity as an innovation"(naujabillah). My response with DIRECT verses from the Quran were deleted by you.**

Faceup

thats what i am talking about .. we need to ask such questions to get a deeper understanding…

I am a beliver and i want to believe

taking every question as belittling and as a disgrace to islam ..just shows that what propoganda west is throwing at us is right… we need to change ourselves…

nice post

Originally posted by faceup:
FF,
How is he or anybody else for that matter supposed to improve/gain knowledge about Religion when you Damn them from asking questions?

You gain knowledge by seeking knowledge, not by asking the source why he is wearing the colour of clothes he is wearing. I am game for anybody asking valid questions on the deen, but resent people asking irrelevant and trivial questions. I go to another forum where there are sectins on all sorts of issues. People come and ask valid questions and, Alhumdo Lillah, I answer as many as I can, time and knowledge permitting.

The Qur'an contains knowledge, instaed of reading and understanding it if you ask why it is addressed to males, or why it is in Arabic, or why it has one long sura and so many short ones instead of equal length throughout, or why something else, you are just wasting your time on trivialities.

As a believer, you have to believe, and not get involved with trivialities. Your question is totally irrelevant as it does not make any difference.

Are you aware that in every book up until now, the addressee was the male gender. Take any statute whetehr in the States or England, or wherever. A note was sometimes made that the male gender includes the female gender. The Bible is also addressed to the male gender. Now the west is corrupting it further by making it ‘politically correct’. And you guys are concerned with their criticisms. May Alah guide you.

Alhumdo Lillah, I question and find answers to relevant issues. If there is anything that does not apply to my understanding, I attribute it to my failure. Not that it was incorrectly revealed. Naoozo Billah!

Originally posted by Sarah Splendor:
Seems that way. Women may be mentioned as many times as males are but like Gamma said, it's not you women, it's you men and your women and the like.

SS. Do you have any problem with the way Allah has revealed the Qur'an?

GD, have you read the whole Quran with translation? You must have not, otherwise, you wouldnt have asked this question. In Quran, Allah addresses sometimes men, sometimes women and sometimes generally to all believers. Read Surah Nur (The Light) or Surah Ahzab (The Combined Forces). For example, read the follwing verse:

Nur,31: And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty

*Do we - as muslims have the right to ask questions and seek answers that satisfies us?
Or,
Do we blindly believe & follow whatever is being fed to us - as suggested by FF? *

What does the Quran and hadith says:

**[al-Anfal 8:22]The worst of creatures in the sight of God are those persons who are deaf and dumb and do not reflect.

or, Prophet’s hadiths:

The Prophet of Islam says: God has assigned two guides to man: one external to him, the messengers of God, and the other internal, his own power of thought. **

1) Originally posted by FactFinder:
*SS. Do you have any problem with the way Allah has revealed the Qur'an? *

FF,
The rational muslims have issues not with the Quran but with how the Quran has been interpreted into practise? Those interpretations are what we call Fiqhs with their respective Sharia’h.

We are encouraged to ask questions and seek answers. Please refer to the aya and the hadith quoted above.

2) FF states:
"As a believer, you have to believe, and not get involved with trivialities. Your question is totally irrelevant as it does not make any difference."

Exactly the point I keep making but it just keeps coming back re-packaged in different ways. Just 'believe' is what you (FF)and the Islamic scholars keep saying. How does this reconcile with the above ayath or hadith. Frankly, it doesn’t!

3) FF states:
*You gain knowledge by seeking knowledge, not by asking the source why he is wearing the colour of clothes he is wearing. *

FF,
If you read the above three quotes of yours that I 've highlighted, you will see a trend emerge. You are not a thinker but a follower. And, you want everyone to blindly believe & follow.

People who have not believed like you sugest in what their scholars were telling them and **questioned got into trouble, serious trouble.

Here’s some of the recent ones:**
i)A professor explains that the parents of the Prophet were not muslims but pagans. The professor was charged with blasphemey and jailed.
ii)A writer exclaims that Haj is a pagan ritual. He is charged with apostasy and his wife was ordered to divorce him which she quickly rejected.
iii)A fenale scholar suggests that inheritance laws be changed to give females equal shares. This was called blasphemy.
iv)A scholar reading the quran by candle-light sparks a fire and the quran gets burned. A mad crowd quickly gathers, accuses him of being a kafir, beats up the man and the police jail him for blasphemy.
v) A young man (GammaDilation) asks:
"why is quran (if u read the translation) being addressed to males?" His punishment:
He was verbally attacked and threatened with banishment from this Forum (armmughal) and, with Allah's wrath & retribution (FF).

Orthodox Islam and their goons will enforce its teachings and to hell with rational thinking and abuse/wrong done to man in that process:
** [Yunus 10:44] Lo! Allah wrongeth not mankind in aught; but mankind wrong themselves.**

[This message has been edited by faceup (edited December 30, 2001).]