Is Punjab next?

Re: Is Punjab next?

No need to get personal, if you don't understand what is put in front of you.

I am not getting personal...just answer the question.

I am still waiting for the link to show me the PML[N] came in second for the provincial elections in Punjab:

He did not win Punjab - in fact his party came second place in terms of actual votes, behind the PML Q. His party only won the singles largest number of seats.

Yes you did, and you are getting a little tetchy as well. I suggest you cool down and relax.

Fact - the PPP can survive at the centre without the PML N support. The PML N cannot survive in Punjab without PPP support.

PPP can only survive in centre with other parties support. PML N can survive in Punjab with other parties support. However in either case the respective parties won, otherwise they would not be the ones forming the government. Even if a party beat another party by just one seat it is still a win.

Anyway I give up. Believe whatever you want to believe.

No one can survive if the people's wrath is upon them. PPP or PML[N], and right now it seems like PPP is asking for it.

Yes, that's what I said.

PML N can survive in Punjab with other parties support.

The other parties being the PPP or the PML Q. That's what I said as well.

Q league is what the PPP referred to as the 'Qatil' League Aalsi.

You are partly right. Winning is getting most seats compared to any other single party is right. But forming government or having CM from winning party is wrong.

Government is formed when a party or coalition of parties have more than 50 percent of seats in Assembly. For instance, as far as seats are concerned, PML-Q got most seats in Balochistan (15 of contested seats) but in the end, PPP (who got 7 contested seats) form the government in Balochistan because they got more seats with their coalition.

In Punjab, number of contested seats won by parties after election was:
PML(N) : 103
PPP : 83
PML(Q) : 68
PML (F) : 3
MMA : 2
Ind : 34
[Note: PML(Q) and PML(F) are partners ... shujjat leads PML(Q) and Pagara heads PML(F)]

Later independents were given choice to join any political party they want (or stay ind) and then women seats are allocated: Result was that in expectation that PML(N) would form government in coalition with PPP, 27 ind joined PML(N) an 5 joined PPP, 2 stayed ind. PML (N) on that basis got 30 women and 4 minorities seats, PPP got 19 (w) + 2 (m), PML(Q) got 16 (w) + 2 (m), PML(F) got 1 (w).

End present result after ind plus women plus minorities seats:
PML(N) : 164
PPP : 106
PML(Q) : 86
PML (F) : 4
MMA : 2
Ind : 2
Result yet to come = 7
Total = 371 MPAs in Punjab Parliament.

A coalition needs 186 MPAs to form government.

Now anyone who know basic addition would know that with above result, no single party can form government. Further, any two out of 3 main parties have to form coalition for government.

For instance, if PPP and PML joins than they would have 192 seats, that is more than half of Punjab assembly (excluding PML(F) and any new addition from 7 remaining seats) and that means PML(N) could do whatever but they would not be able to make government.

Saleem so are you suggesting new fresh elections will take place? The votebank for the PML[N] will only grow after this judges issue and PPP's stance becoming clearer.

Maybe on paper, but not in reality.
The political momentum in every sense of the word is with PML-N. Speaking to a relative who ran (unsuccessfully) for the PML-Q in the PA this last election, the lean is very much towards Nawaz at the PA level for those who oppose the Chaudries and are not heavily inclined towards Musharraf.

I think Nawaz will be well aware that he may loose Punjab too if PPP and ML-Q join hands. However for this to happen lots and lots of burden will be placed on national exchequer to bribe ML-Q people as Shujaat is not gonna resign.

The PM or the CM will usually be from the largest single party in the coalition.

Why new election when PPP plus PML(Q) could easily form government in Punjab as well as in Islamabad.

On the other hand, all who wanted judges back already voted PNL(N) and that includes JI (Qazi), TI (Imran), and other APDA voters. All this boycott was BS as turnout in Feb election was 44 percentage and that is quite good figure, much better than past. So, most likely PML(N) in next election would lose plenty of votes (and seats) than gain anything.

Let me guess, 350 seats for the PML[Q] in the next one, I just doubled your prediction from last time.

You mean 350 out of 272 NA seats? :) I have feeling that you are either Ishaq Daar, or one of his brilliant students. No wonder that people are scared of Pakistani economy under his supervision. :D

One should know that parties can only contest on 260 NA seats in Pakistan. 12 are non-Party FATA seats. Total = 272 seats.

:D I think your connect with the political mood of the country is we4ll proven with your prediction of a PML-Q sweep in March. In fact without Mushy rigging for them the PML-Q will be decimated... not to mention that PPP has lost the sympathy wave and are now being viewed as another Mushy lota group...
That leaves PML-N to take >90% of the seats and Q league, PPP and smaller parties to fight over the rest.

Yaar, agar jhoot bolna hay tou PML(N) kee tarah North Punjab may jaa kay bolo, where many without upper chamber can buy anything :)

On this forum if you lie than people could ask proof for that too. So, if you are saying that I ever even claimed that PML(Q) would sweep February election (or even going to get more than half of the NA seats) than show that. And if you can't than do not be a joker like most of PML(N) leadership and many of PML(N) supporters :D

Saleem dont be so sore yar, I just took your last prediction, i.e. 175 seats, and multiplied it by two, since you were do adamant that the PML[Q] will do even better.

Now of course, I just remembered that they didn't even get 1/3rd of what you predicted last time.

I am sure that posts on forum 'Gup-Shup' do not disappear, or do they? So, any proof that I predicted 175 seats for PML(Q) ... or is it just what you learned from PML(N) leadership that to keep lying persistently and if people are ignorant than they would accept it? :)