Is Pakistan ready in case of aid stopped by America?

I wonder if Pakistan has any plan or strategy to cope with real problem. The government should think seriously, may introduce a bill in NA how to deal with this problem in case aid is stopped. Keeping a side stupid paki emotions, the repurcussions can be devastated for Pakistan. Devastation may be from disintegration to complete redendency of army, the major consumer of budget and aid. I have few ideas this may help Pakistan’s survival without the aid of Sam.

Population Control
Stopping of haraam khori in every walk of life
working hard to deliver goods
Return of haraam money back to Pakistnan’s treasury
Rich and elite come to support institutitions by paying taxes owed to them
Return of loans which have been waived off
Rigorous exploiting of natural resources
Free trade agreement and friendly terms with India, Iran and Russia
More reliance on friendly Muslim oil exporting countries

I have not included China in this list as they have become unreliable friend after joining WTO, though continuing friendly ties with it for improvement in economy is desireable.

Re: Is Pakistan ready in case of aid stopped by America?

The first Pakistan should do in such a case is to put tax on all sections of population, starting from agricultural tax.

Of course, pakistan is ready, there is plenty of grass to feed the population.

can we throw Indian trolls out of this thread please?

How can you conclude china is unreliable?

i did'nt see china attacking us or planting bombs to divide society

$3billion is not the only amount pakistan needs to survive we survived without it before and we don't need to be a slave for it also!

The pak government has no strategy for anything so you can stop hoping, there time is up they are expired everybody knows they work for america not for pakistan. so they have to be removed immediatly!

Pakistani tou survive kar jaen ge bhai

Zardari and party ka kiya bane ga:chupki:

Pakistan’s interests are above any one’s interests including your pir kala naag, don of landan who believes that “division of the sub-continent was bigger, biggest mistake in the history of mankind”:slight_smile:

o.k who so ever coming to power according to your wisdom, have they any strategy/ contengency plan to deal with this huge problem? If yes what is that? If not, stop spreading your viscious wisdom around here.

Why not start with our budget numbers and how much does "aid" factor into the budget?

okay so I just glanced the "budget" numbers from our government's finance website.

Last year budget numbers (2010-2011)
Tax revenue at: Rs 1778 billion (~$20.9billion @Rs85 per dollar)
Non-tax revenue at: Rs 632 billion (~$7.35billion @Rs85 per dollar)

Total revenue= $28.25billion

so US aid of $1-1.5billion is 3.5-5% ... is it that significant that we can't think of "surviving" without US aid?

Most of that Aid goes towards financing Americas war on terror. If they stopped those funds, Pakistan would simply have to scale back such expenditures.

^ Pakistan won't be crippled if US aid stops. But if economic activity with west comes down, the impact will be quite huge. Some facts :

• Pakistan has to pay about $1B a month to service its debt (internal & external debt). Imagine $12B out of $28.xB to debt service.

• Plus it runs a deficit budget at a runrate (for deficit) of about $12.nnB. And this deficit is funded by......yup, you guessed it right....more debt external & domestic.....point being, your debt service / interest payments are approaching 50% of total revenuE!

At some point in near future Pakistan will have to inflate their currency by 30 to 50% to meet domestic interest payments, if they are to sustain any federal program spending, defence etc. Which will be unacceptable since that would represent a commodity inflation rate that no economy can sustain without a catastrophic failure.

Which will leave only one sane option - to retire old domestic debt by issuing new domestic debt at 1 to 1.4 ratios (which is sort of ok) and to reschedule foreign debt. You may recall Pakistan has been there before.

If US stop the aid, it also mean IMF, World Bank, ADB & Paris club programs will stop too. Our economy is in dire state, 60% of money goes in debt servicing.
I don't think so China can do much.

This aid has to stop sooner or later and the price that we have paid uptil now is much more than what the Americans have gIven us being an independent country we cannot remain dependent on other countries for ever. Agreed when the aid stops we will have to make some tough financial decisions but that would be better for the future besides now the Americans will attach some strings with the aid which might be detrimental to pakistan

If we can develop trust once
The problems can be controlled.
We are not in deficit of money.
We are in deficit of trust.
If we have to live as a nation,
We should be ready for everything ,
but to deal wisely.
No naara bazi, no haiay haiay.
Working hard with honesty
Only way.
Looking for the day
Ghalib has said something for the event

http://www.apnapassion.com/images/urdu_poetry/ghalib/mudat%20hoyee%20hai%20yaar%20ko%20mehman%20kiye%20hue.jpeg

@Anwer_Pasha - sorry too late. now you are in deficit of both money & trust.

@ali - those ‘tough decisions’ may have to include ditching several dozen critical weapon programs, aircraft availability and inflating your currency 30 to 50% overnight. R u ready for that?

Darling;
It is never too late.

If Pak scale back such expenditures then it will hurt Pakistan itself.
Such operations must continue.

Why not impose more taxes on jagirdars/waderas?
These landlords pay zero taxes to government, even though they make tremendous amount of money. Are they some sort of sacred cows?

It makes no sense to wait for US aid when Pakistanis themselves are not willing to help their own country.

well US aid to Pak is next to nothing, the only thing that counts and US does that effectively to many governments around the world to keep them financial slaves. They will also make IMF, world bank and even friendly countries not to support Pakistan. this happened when AZ took power, Pakistan wasnt under IMF loans as previous govt did well to get rid of them. US made sure Pak come back to IMF, they tried China, KSA, UAE all of them were stopped to do anything unless Pak goes to IMF first.

pretty much same will happen, and i think this can be handled by really really good measures and with some good governance. That is no where to be seen in Pakistan presently. If Pakistan has survive a bad time for a while, they will have to be prepared well this time and avoid what they done after the nuke explosions.

The biggest expenditure is the Military.
Pakistan will need to trim it down.

It is easier said than done.