Is Organ Donation Allowed? [split from: Tough Decisions in life]

Okay, you know how when you go to get your Driver’s License and they ask you if you want to be an organ donor sign the back of your ID? Well, I didnt yet. I thought it was wrong to donate organs in Islam…is that true? Just wondering.

Ive thought about writing a will but havent done it yet. Maybe before I go to Pakistan, Ill write one out.

how could that be :)

Re: Tough Decisions in life

^ thats what i was told...of course no reason was giving but i was told that muslims cannot donate organs.

I dnt know, Ive heard of it all my life though from various people.

Im going to do some digging...

topic got diverted but oh well... I think its because it might be termed as the mutilation of the body. They say that about postmortems/autopsies too.

Okay, its allowed. I just checked.

Islamic Voice

The logic which is given against organ donation in Islam is this:
"This body you have does not belong to you , it is Allah key Amanat (It is something given to you by Allah for safe keeping - this is best translation I could come up with ). So since you are not owner of your body then you cannot decide about what happens to you after you die."
Then there is a verse in Quran :
“Islam denounces excesses in beautifying oneself when it alters the physical features that Allah created him with. The Glorious Qur'an considers such alterations as inspired by Satan, who "...will command them (his devotees) to change what Allah has created...” (An-Nisa': 119)

It is used against organ donation , cosmetic surgery, plucking of eyebrows etc etc.

Then there are these ahadees which are used against organ donation:

Narrated 'Abdullah bin Yazid Al-Ansari: "The Prophet forbade robbery (taking away what belongs to others without their permission), and also forbade mutilation (or maiming) of bodies. (Translation of Sahih Bukhari, Oppressions, Volume 3, Book 43, Number 654)"
The following several narrations of Prophet Muhammad peace be upon him were sent to me by [EMAIL="[email protected]"]Omar; may Allah Almighty always be pleased with him:
Narrated Abu Huraira: "Allah's Apostle said, 'The evil eye is a fact,' and he forbade tattooing. (Translation of Sahih Bukhari, Dress, Volume 7, Book 72, Number 827)"
Narrated 'Aun bin Abu Juhaifa: "My father bought a slave who practiced the profession of cupping. (My father broke the slave's instruments of cupping). I asked my father why he had done so. He replied, 'The Prophet forbade the acceptance of the price of a dog or blood, and also forbade the profession of tattooing, getting tattooed and receiving or giving Riba, (usury), and cursed the picture-makers.' (Translation of Sahih Bukhari, Sales and Trade, Volume 3, Book 34, Number 299)"
Narrated 'Abdullah: "Allah has cursed those women who practise tattooing and those who get themselves tattooed, and those who remove their face hairs, and those who create a space between their teeth artificially to look beautiful, and such women as change the features created by Allah. Why then should I not curse those whom the Prophet has cursed? And that is in Allah's Book. i.e. His Saying: 'And what the Apostle gives you take it and what he forbids you abstain (from it).' (59.7) (Translation of Sahih Bukhari, Dress, Volume 7, Book 72, Number 815)"

^ thank you...makes sense.

**oh my god!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111

we muslims really need to freakin grow.
Islam is not a MAMBO JAMBOO of tradition.
There were strict order aginst some practice 1400year ago because they could become some thing like Gothic-stuff.

THERE IS FREAKIN NEED TO ORGANS, I WILL DONATE MINE. I AM SURE GOD WONT ASK ME
WHEY DID YOU TRY TO SAVE A LIFE.

NO WONDER WHY HATED TO GO TO MOSQUE ALL MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!**

Calm down buddy , in the first post I was answering the question as to why some people say that organ donation , cosmetic surgery, tattoo etc is forbidden in Islam.

I have already posted my views and rebuttal to this POV in many other threads , which is in favor of organ donation , cosmetic surgery and tattoos . I will post those links shortly as I do not feel like retyping all that again. In the meantime someone might already post the rebuttal to the above posted POV.

Here you go:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/religion-scripture/241296-shaping-eyebrows-post5684521.html?highlight=tatoo+plucking#post5684521

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/all-views/300399-religious-tattoos.html

Calm down man. Small correction in your post. YOU can't give someone life. Its only in God's hands. He's the only one who can give or take life. What eva you do in your life should be for God not because you think you are hero or somthing!

Just think about it. If something is not yours how you can donate that to other no matter what. You will be asked for that.

As Mirch bhai said this body belongs to us but basically its Allah property. Allah didn't say anywhere to save a person life you have to donate my amanat.

Yes many places Allah said to us to protect a life but by our efforts not by donating our organs.

Why ppl don't think about this simple thing which is If Allah wanted that person to have that thing then why didn't he give him that organ at 1st place.

If he gave them at first place then why he took that back.

Can you save a life of a dying person? No you can not. Why don't you guys make anything to save them.

There are many blind ppl can you give eyes more than 2 ppls? no you can't.

Ppl think that this worldly life is the only life. But they are wrong. There is a life after this life would you like yourself in other life be blind or without your organs. No you won't.

We will get up the way we will die on judment day. Would you like to get up with parts of your body missing. No you won't.

That life would be eternal life. Please if you are muslim and believe in Allah then don't donate his amanat.

If you want to save life of a person then why after death be generous give money to whom who are needy, who are dying of hunger, who don't have clothes and many. Go ahead do that.

What Allah ask us to give that is money to ppl which we don't give and ask us not to save money but we save money and what Allah didn't ask us that is to donate organs to save life we want to do that. Isn't it stupid.

You have life right now. You have money and control over your money then why there are lots of ppl hungry, dying of hunger. Go ahead donate your whole money to those. Don't keep a single penny.

lolzzz
So if there is person who is blind or need a kidney transplant , what "wazifa" do you recommend.

Kidney donation is allowed and recommended. My daddi always says, we only have 2 kidneys as one is spare.

The wazifa is given in ther quran is.

Allah say madad mango beta.

In humarous way I will send you there and ask them to nikal lay is ki ankhain aur gurday. Happy now.

TLK, when my kids passed away as emotional of a state that i was on, if i was asked by someone that could they take any organs because it will save the life of some other kid down the hall, i would have said yes. My loss was there already..knowing that potentially somehow maybe someone else did not have to go thru the same despair would have been motivation enough.

Think about it from that angle.

after all, you or I could be the guy in the hospital waiting for an organ someday..

imagine your or my family's condition if they know I can potentially be saved just if an organ can be found, if there is a dude dying in the enxt room and his donated organ can help save you or me, and that dude s sayign no.

when we look at it as detached, its a diff thing, but think about those ppl being in next room..talking to you, what then
?

So I assume we can donate that kidney which doesn't have "property of allah" stamped on it ehh ?

I don't know about that luv. I do know that we only really need only the one Kidney. One working kidney can function pretty well on its own. Quite a few people in my family only have the one kidney.

I know, I know yaar. You are right. And I know the example you gave in the first para must be tough for you to write but I appreciate bringing everything in perspective.

So at the end, I could leave that decision to my family. If they want my organs to be used, that is fine.

I have two side questions though

1. What is the percentage of people (who are waiting for organs) die because they could not receive the organ in time?

2. What would be my feelings for the person who has the heart of my love one beating inside him/her. How would I look at that person for the rest of my life. Will I love that person as my family or even closer cause he/she is the living memory of my love one whom I lost?

BTW. organ donation to save someone's life is allowed in Islam. Organ donation is haram, but to save one's life, doing haram is allowed (like a starving person can eat pork or anything to save his life).

how would you feel if ur loved one was cut up with a knife? i know ur talking abt it saves a life an all, but imagine it, ur loved one being cut up like a piece of meat and pieces being taken out of them.....

p.s. sowwie for going off topic