Is Organ Donation Allowed? [split from: Tough Decisions in life]

Islam Question and Answer - Ruling on organ transplants

Ruling on organ transplants

Praise be to Allaah.

This subject is one of the topics which is being researched by the Islamic Fiqh Council (Majma’ al-Fiqh al-Islami), which has issued the following fatwaa:

It is permitted to transplant or graft an organ from one part of a person’s body to another, so long as one is careful to ascertain that the benefits of this operation outweigh any harm that may result from it, and on the condition that this is done to replace something that has been lost, or to restore its appearance or regular function, or to correct some fault or disfigurement which is causing physical or psychological distress.

It is permitted to transplant an organ from one person’s body to another, if it is an organ that can regenerate itself, like skin or blood, on the condition that the donor is mature and understands what he is doing, and that all other pertinent shar’i conditions are met.

It is permitted to use part of an organ that has been removed because of illness to benefit another person, such as using the cornea of an eye removed because of illness.

It is haraam to take an organ on which life depends, such as taking a heart from a living person to transplant into another person.

It is haraam to take an organ from a living person when doing so could impair an essential vital function, even though his life itself may not be under threat, such as removing the corneas of both eyes. However, removing organs which will lead to only partial impairment is a matter which is still under scholarly discussion.

It is permitted to transplant an organ from a dead person to a living person whose life depends on receiving that organ, or whose vital functions are otherwise impaired, on the condition that permission is given either by the person before his death or by his heirs, or by the leader of the Muslims in cases where the dead person’s identity is unknown or he has no heirs.
Care should be taken to ensure that there is proper agreement to the transplant of organs in the cases described above, on the condition that no buying or selling of organs is involved. It is not permitted to trade in human organs under any circumstances. But the question of whether the beneficiary may spend money to obtain an organ he needs, or to show his appreciation, is a matter which is still under scholarly debate.

Anything other than the scenarios described above is still subject to scholarly debate, and requires further detailed research in the light of medical research and shar’i rulings.

See also questions # 2141, 2159, 424.

And Allaah knows best.

Qararaat Majma’ al-Fiqh al-Islami

Re: Is Organ Donation Allowed? [split from: Tough Decisions in life]

Why ppl don't think about this simple thing which is If Allah wanted that person to have that thing then why didn't he give him that organ at 1st place.

Maybe to see who He can reward when they save that person's life? We dont understand why Allah does everything He does, but we accept that everything He does is done with a wise purpose and is for the best

Ppl think that this worldly life is the only life. But they are wrong. There is a life after this life would you like yourself in other life be blind or without your organs. No you won't.

What about someone who gets their limbs ripped off in an accident? Will they be made to live in eternity without any limbs? Allah is the One who gave us our organs in the first place, it is an easy and small thing for Him AlMighty to give us again in the next life

i think it is a good idea to donate organs. i have known 2 people who died early because they needed a liver transplant. It was heart breaking to see what the families went through in Pakistan. One family sold everything and borrowed heavily so they coulld go china and get a transplant it was unfortunately never meant to be as he passed away from a viral infection before he could get the liver.

I personaly think it has to do with what the persons intention is, and people forget Allah is merciful and understanding. From my understanding the objection for organ donation and post mortum is that your soul feels pain through these processes, that is why you have to be washed carefully and with respect.

yup so something is not mine, and it is gods and I am giving gods thing to another oen of his creations..

if Allah did not want us to be able to save others by organ transplant, why did he even make it possible?

If he gave them at first place then why he took that back.

Can you save a life of a dying person? No you can not. Why don't you guys make anything to save them.

there are diff types of blindness and those which can be corrected by donations well yeah u can save two, but more ppl with good eyes die every day than those who need help.

okay let me bust this one wide open..be ready for a can of wisdom to be opened

does islam allow amputation in your view?
is amputating a limb to save someone's life allowed?
should an amputee carry hsi amputated limb around and ask for it to be buried with him?

I dnt know where I was asked this question that If I want to donate my eyes, First I decided to say yes but then I thought If I go in Jannat(InshAllah I will) then how I will be able to see all those things, I will be blind :eek:

Sorry Who are making these formulas. What if I'm on vaction and I die there they don't find anything about me who the hell are others who will give permission about my body to replace my organs.

That way ppl will make money over my dead body.

Above formulas are not in quran neither in Ahadees.

That way mullahs will become organ sellers and make money over muslims dead body.

Watch out there are many home made and kuffar made mullah's out there.

Stop blaming mullahs for every wrong thing in the world. Non-Mullahs are also not given a passport to Jannat either.. In fact what you just said is a buhtaan. I dare you to prove one Muslim scholar who is involve in organ smuggling and making money or just stop expressing your opinion if you dont have proves, cause that makes you look like not a very smart person

So itni hamdardi hai to why not abhi why after death. There are many needy out there.

if Allah did not want us to be able to save others by organ transplant, why did he even make it possible?

Very simple for Azmaish.

If he gave them at first place then why he took that back.

Very simple Us ki marzi. Agay yay na bolna kioon paida kia kioon mara.

there are diff types of blindness and those which can be corrected by donations well yeah u can save two, but more ppl with good eyes die every day than those who need help.

It doesn't matter why don't you save at least two eyes now why after death? Why don't you donate daily?

okay let me bust this one wide open..be ready for a can of wisdom to be opened

does islam allow amputation in your view?
is amputating a limb to save someone's life allowed?
should an amputee carry hsi amputated limb around and ask for it to be buried with him?

Islam in my view lol. Islam made my view.

Exactly thats my point.

Ppl have to understand that.

I said that what a person posted about things mullahs said.

In future if as they said that it is permitted that if they find no one they can give permission.

What if I'm on vacation and alone and I die there can a mullah give permission to donate my organ.

No I won't allow that to any mullah to sell or give permission to my a very single body part to anyone.

How could I be smart in front of you?

I don’t know if this is correct or not (some one more wiser can give the details) but in hereafter we don’t have our aged bodies.

I was told that everyone would be YOUNG like in their 20-25 and everyone would look almost the same.

:lifey: you got that right dude ..

or is it dudette …

anyway, I apologize. I got little rude for no reason. :smiley:

Kiya ho gayaa? did I make a grammar error there :bummer:

^nah, how could you? ur a very smart person:p

Yeah yeah, I should’ve said ‘proofs’ .. I know .. bite me :snooty:

in MY islam, i can do whatever i want. now shut up and follow me.

should’ve kya?

“bite me” nah thnx i’ll pass…:chai:

Organ donation.

I had the chance to work for a major transplant center a few years ago and I was told that most patients die waiting for a suitable organ. Even family members, muslim or non muslim, hesitate in donating organs.

TLK, regarding knowing that the heart of someone you loved now beats in someone elses..chances are you wouldn't even know who that person is. And to know that their heart beats on maybe a wonderful thing in one regard and a sad thing knowing that the person isn't with you. Very tough.