Is Music Haraam ?

Re: Is Music Haraam ?

waalaykumsalaam
It is the Sunnah of Rasool Allah(SAW).....then its sunnah of Sahaba(ra) bcoz they followed Prophet(SAW).

JazakAllah Zerokhan and Khanbaba for your posts.

My dear brother...........

Some of the stars are in the east, some in west and son while there is only one path to Allah (swt)...............

and all ayas are talking of them being the best and of their reward but u r not asked to follow............ coz there can not be 2 kings /leaders/symbols to be followed ............ and on the other hand when sunnaha of rasool is there than it would be against the logic/respect/akal to follow the shahaba or relate sunnaha to them.................. thought they have very high status................. example could be a haji and alim............... very respect haji, when he leaves for hajj we escort him to airport , when he comes back we receive him at airport, we invite him at house, we stop calling him by name but "Hajji sahib".......... but what happens when we have a religious question/issue........ we go to Respected Hajji and follow his saying or we go to Non-Hajji Alim and follow his words................... so sahabaa has very high status ( haji in example) but sunnaha/orders/path belongs to Rasool (alim in example) pbuh.

Wasalam

you don't...

4:59 O You who have chosen to be graced with belief! Obey Allah and obey the Messenger, the Central Authority of the Divine System, and those whom the System has appointed as office-bearers. If you have a dispute concerning any matter, refer it to the Central Authority. If you truly believe in Allah and the Last Day, this is the best approach for you, and more seemly in the end.

4:60 Have you thought of those who claim that they believe in what has been revealed to you (O Prophet), as well as in what was revealed before you? Yet, they resort to TAGHOOT (priests and monks of any religion) for judgment in their differences. They had been commanded to reject them but their rebellious desire misleads them far astray.

[quote="hypnotix-2000, post:81, topic:158162"]

4:59 O You who have chosen to be graced with belief! Obey Allah and obey the Messenger, the Central Authority of the Divine System, and those whom the System has appointed as office-bearers. If you have a dispute concerning any matter, refer it to the Central Authority. If you truly believe in Allah and the Last Day, this is the best approach for you, and more seemly in the end.

4:60 Have you thought of those who claim that they believe in what has been revealed to you (O Prophet), as well as in what was revealed before you? Yet, they resort to TAGHOOT (priests and monks of any religion) for judgment in their differences. They had been commanded to reject them but their rebellious desire misleads them far astray. [/qoute]

AOA
Brother look at the following translations
Al-Hilali Khan Translation:
*4:59. **O you who believe! Obey Allâh and obey the Messenger (Muhammad), and those of you (Muslims) who are in authority. (And) if you differ in anything amongst yourselves, refer it to Allâh and His Messenger , if you believe in Allâh and in the Last Day. That is better and more suitable for final determination.
**4:60. **Have you seen those (hyprocrites) who claim that they believe in that which has been sent down to you, and that which was sent down before you, and they wish to go for judgement (in their disputes) to the *Tâghût *(false judges, etc.) while they have been ordered to reject them. But *Shaitân
(Satan) wishes to lead them far astray

4:59
YUSUFALI: O ye who believe! Obey Allah, and obey the Messenger, and those charged with authority among you. If ye differ in anything among yourselves, refer it to Allah and His Messenger, if ye do believe in Allah and the Last Day: That is best, and most suitable for final determination.
PICKTHAL: O ye who believe! Obey Allah, and obey the messenger and those of you who are in authority; and if ye have a dispute concerning any matter, refer it to Allah and the messenger if ye are (in truth) believers in Allah and the Last Day. That is better and more seemly in the end.
SHAKIR: O you who believe! obey Allah and obey the Messenger and those in authority from among you; then if you quarrel about anything, refer it to Allah and the Messenger, if you believe in Allah and the last day; this is better and very good in the end.
4:60
YUSUFALI:Hast thou not turned Thy vision to those who declare that they believe in the revelations that have come to thee and to those before thee? Their (real) wish is to resort together for judgment (in their disputes) to the Evil One, though they were ordered to reject him. But Satan's wish is to lead them astray far away (from the right).
PICKTHAL:Hast thou not seen those who pretend that they believe in that which is revealed unto thee and that which was revealed before thee, how they would go for judgment (in their disputes) to false deities when they have been ordered to abjure them? Satan would mislead them far astray.
SHAKIR: Have you not seen those who assert that they believe in what has been revealed to you and what was revealed before you? They desire to summon one another to the judgment of the Shaitan, though they were commanded to deny him, and the Shaitan desires to lead them astray into a remote error

Tafseer-ibni khathir (to give u historical bacjground)
Al-Bukhari recorded that Ibn Abbas said that the Ayah, أَطِيعُواْ اللَّهَ وَأَطِيعُواْ الرَّسُولَ وَأُوْلِى الاٌّمْرِ مِنْكُمْ
(Obey Allah and obey the Messenger, and those of you who are in authority.) "Was revealed about
Abdullah bin Hudhafah bin Qays bin Adi, who the Messenger of Allah sent on a military expedition.'' This statement was collected by the Group, with the exception of Ibn Majah At-Tirmidhi said, "Hasan, Gharib''. Imam Ahmad recorded thatAli said, "The Messenger of Allah sent a troop under the command of a man from Al-Ansar. When they left, he became angry with them for some reason and said to them, Has not the Messenger of Allah commanded you to obey me' They said,Yes.' He said, Collect some wood,' and then he started a fire with the wood, saying,I command you to enter the fire.' The people almost entered the fire, but a young man among them said, `You only ran away from the Fire to Allah's Messenger. Therefore, do not rush until you go back to Allah's Messenger, and if he commands you to enter it, then enter it.' When they went back to Allah's Messenger , they told him what had happened, and the Messenger said, لَوْ دَخَلْتُمُوهَا مَا خَرَجْتُمْ مِنْهَا أَبَدًا، إِنَّمَا الطَّاعَةُ فِي الْمَعْرُوف
Had you entered it, you would never have departed from it. Obedience is only in righteousness.)'' This Hadith is recorded in the Two Sahihs

Mohammad sarwar:
Believers, obey God, His Messenger, and your (qualified) leaders. If you have faith in God and the Day of Judgment, refer to God and His Messenger concerning matters in which you differ. This would be a more virtuous and a better way of settling differences. (4:59) (Muhammad), have you seen those who think that they have faith in what is revealed to you and to others before you, yet choose to take their affairs to Satan for judgment even though they are commanded to deny him. Satan wants to lead them far away from the right path. (4:60)

Mohammad Asad:
O you who have attained to faith! Pay heed unto God, and pay heed unto the Apostle and unto those from among you who have been entrusted with authority; and if you are at variance over any matter, refer it unto God and the Apostle, if you [truly] believe in God and the Last Day. This is the best [for you], and best in the end.
4:60 ART THOU NOT aware of those who claim that they believe in what has been bestowed from on high upon thee, [O Prophet,] as well as in what was bestowed from on high before thee, [and yet] are willing to defer to the rule of the powers of evil - although they were bidden to deny it, seeing that Satan but wants to lead them far astray?

So my dear brother show me even in one of the above translations ………. Quran saying to follow Sahabaa…………….. but leader………….what kind rightful/pious leader only and even pious one in the matters of life where u differ not Islam or Sunnaha
It’s illogical too coz I can show u difference opinion on a lot of issues b/w sahabaa and u will not be able to get any where………………….and look at the historical background......... one sahabi is asking other ashab to enter the fire and when story is told to prophet (pbuh) he disapproves it............................ I mentioned earlier u can not have 2 leaders …………….. just one and that is appointed by Allah (swt) and is Prophet (pbuh)………………………….. inspite of status of Sahabaa

Wasalam

Looking at the ‘translation’ you have posted Hypnotix certain things can be concluded:

1. Shabbir Ahmed is the author of it.
  2. It has been written to secularise Islam
  3. It has been written to rationalise the ‘ghaib’ aspects of our belief system.

Apart from it being an attempt to be more palatable to a CNN/CBS/BBC audience, it does however turn a blind eye to some linguistics that the Qur’an uses. Hence he fails on many levels to depicts the truth of the Qur’an as a translation. At the very best the above posted is an interpretation, but a translation it is not.

Verse 59 misses out the essential term [from among you] which is from the Arabic ‘minkum’. Note he chooses to pen the words ‘office-bearers’ alluding to the working elite rather than the ‘people of knowledge’. Because it is an error to say that those who have political authority have any such authority over issues in the Deen. Early Islam had these positions superimposed in one person. i.e. Khaliphs, but now this is not the case. In this verse he chooses to change referring to Allah (SWT) and the Prophet (AS) to simply referring to the ‘Central Authority’. This is a problem twice over. It is understood that referring to Allah (SWT) means the Qur’an or Hadith Qudsi, referring to the Prophet (SAW) means the hadith and his Sunnah. Also, the Arabic says, ‘fa’in’ which means ‘then if’ but the translation simply says, ‘if’. Which means we have lost the order of priority, the precendence that is inherent in the Arabic is lost.

Similar problems are found in the next verses’ translation. However, I note the same thing has cropped up about the Shaitaan. He has reduced the pronoun of Shaitan to rebellious desire. This is also false, as the Arabic says, ‘WayoureeduShaitaanu’ meaning ‘and (but) the Shaitaan Wishes’. How can evil desires wish something? A wish is itself a desire?

My final point is that this translation is itself not taken from any ‘Central Authority’ so it shoots itself in the foot.:hoonh:

I guess this thread is destined to deviate since all disagreements in what people erroneously label 'Islam' is based on fabricated hadith that is full of contradiction and is distanced from the Quran.

It is because of sectarian movements throughout the ages that people have forgotten about the message of God and have started to rely on the so-called 'ualama' to be (mis)guided.

Now, zerokhan, who are "those (hyprocrites) who claim that they believe" ? Don't leave this unexplained since hypocrites need to be identified... Most hypocrites are those who use religion to dominate the commoners. This has been true in ALL times including the Jahiliyyah.

Taghut: False judges... who are these? This includes ALL false judges including the likes of today's mullah, peer-fakeer, panchaayat and the rest of the sectarian bandwagon.

Quran has always praised the companions of the exalted prophet Muhammad, but at no point have we been asked to follow them or what they have said/related/narrated. Why is it that hadith collection took place at least 150 years after the exalted prophet Muhammad? What was the purpose other than the motive to distort the meaning of the Quran so tyrants like the Umayyads, Abbasids and Fatimids could bend the rules to dominate through state sponsored clergy?

The message is clear. Obey God and obey the prophet... and then the prophet in various passages of the Quran is commanded to "Say: " ... It is THESE statements the prophet is commanded to say, that are authentic hadith, not the 'compilation' of sunni and shia muhadditheen who in my opinion are nothing but state sponsored 'canonized' imams of the Umayyad, Abbasid and Fatimid Empires.

Who are those charged with authority... they have not been left out to do as they please. They are included with the rest of the populace that is being asked to follow God and the Messenger THROUGH WHAT IS PROVIDED IN THE QURAN.

5:67
يأيها الرسول بلغ ما أنزل إليك من ربك وإن لم تفعل فما بلغت رسالته والله يعصمك من الناس إن الله لا يهدي القوم الكفرين
O messenger, deliver what was sent down to you from your Lord, and if you do not then you have not delivered His message; and God will protect you from the people. God does not guide the disbelieving people.

5:99
ما على الرسول إلا البلغ والله يعلم ما تبدون وما تكتمون
The messenger is only to deliver (not to add to or to abrogate). And God knows what you reveal and what you conceal.

3:79
ما كان لبشر أن يؤتيه الله الكتب والحكم والنبوة ثم يقول للناس كونوا عبادا لي من دون الله ولكن كونوا ربنين بما كنتم تعلمون الكتب وبما كنتم تدرسون
It is not for a human that God would give him the Scripture and the authority and the prophethood, then he would say to the people: “Be servants to me rather than God!”, rather: “Be devotees for what you have been taught of the Scripture, and for what you studied.”

20:134
ولو أنا أهلكنهم بعذاب من قبله لقالوا ربنا لولا أرسلت إلينا رسولا فنتبع ءايتك من قبل أن نذل ونخزى
And if We had destroyed them with retribution before this, they would have said: “Our Lord, if only You had sent us a messenger so we could follow Your revelations (nothing else) before we are humiliated and shamed!”

12:111
لَقَدْ كَانَ فِي قَصَصِهِمْ عِبْرَةٌ لِاُوْلِي الْالْبَبِ مَا كَانَ حَدِيثًا يُفْتَرَى وَلَكِنْ تَصْدِيقَ الَّذِي بَيْنَ يَدَيْهِ وَتَفْصِيلَ كُلِّ شَيْءٍ وَهُدًى وَرَحْمَةً لِقَوْمٍ يُؤْمِنُونَ
Indeed in the history of these men, there is a lesson for people of understanding. As for this Revelation, it could not possibly be a hadith, something that can be fabricated. It confirms the Divine Origin of the previous Scriptures, and gives a detailed explanation of everything. And it is a Beacon and Mercy for all those who accept it.

31:6
وَمِنْ النَّاسِ مَنْ يَشْتَرِي لَهْوَ الْحَدِيثِ لِيُضِلَّ عَنْ سَبِيلِ اللَّهِ بِغَيْرِ عِلْمٍ وَيَتَّخِذَهَا هُزُوًا اُولَئكَ لَهُمْ عَذَابٌ مُهِينٌ
But among people, there are those who invest their time in HADITH, which is unfounded, so as to lead those without knowledge away from the Path of Allah, making mockery of it (the Qur'an). For such there is shameful punishment in store.

31:7
وَاذَا تُتْلَى عَلَيْهِ ءايَتُنَا وَلَّى مُسْتَكْبِرًا كَانْ لَمْ يَسْمَعْهَا كَانَّ فِي اُذُنَيْهِ وَقْرًا فَبَشِّرْهُ بِعَذَابٍ الِيمٍ
Whenever Our Verses are conveyed to such a purchaser of Hadith, he turns away in arrogance as if he never heard them - as if there were deafness in his ears. So give him the tidings of a painful doom.

4:87
اللَّهُ لَا إِلَهَ إِلَّا هُوَ لَيَجْمَعَنَّكُمْ إِلَى يَوْمِ الْقِيَمَةِ لَا رَيْبَ فِيهِ وَمَنْ أَصْدَقُ مِنْ اللَّهِ حَدِيثًا
Allah! There is no god but He. He will summon all of you on the Day of Resurrection about the advent of which there is no doubt. Who can tell you a more reliable HADITH (saying) *than Allah* (not his messenger but Allah Himself - and that is through the scripture and not through someone else)?

45:6
تِلْكَ ءايَتُ اللَّهِ نَتْلُوهَا عَلَيْكَ بِالْحَقِّ فَبِأَيِّ حَدِيثٍ بَعْدَ اللَّهِ وَءايَتِهِ يُؤْمِنُونَ
These are the Messages of Allah We convey to you with Truth. Then, in what HADITH, if not in Allah and His Verses, will they believe?

7:185
اوَلَمْ يَنظُرُوا فِي مَلَكُوتِ السَّمَوَتِ وَالْارْضِ وَمَا خَلَقَ اللَّهُ مِنْ شَيْءٍ وَانْ عَسَى انْ يَكُونَ قَدْ اقْتَرَبَ اجَلُهُمْ فَبِايِّ حَدِيثٍ بَعْدَهُ يُؤْمِنُونَ
Can they not see (and correlate what he tells them with) the Dominion of the heavens and the earth and what Allah has created? Does it ever occur to them that the end of their own life may be near (hence the time to make the right decisions is not unlimited)? What HADITH besides the Qur’an, are they going to believe after him?

It is as if Allah put these verses in the Quran for a purpose... indeed, **Allah-u Khair-ul Maakireen**.

If you can challenge God and the Quran through fabricated hadith of Bukhari et al, then that is between you and your God for you are not submitting to Him, but to what Bukhari and the rest of the Muhadditheen of the shia and sunni sectarian movements have 'recorded'!

Refer to my threads...

Music part 1
Music part 2

3:79
It is not (possible) that a man, to whom is given the Book, and Wisdom, and the prophetic office, should say to people: "Be ye my worshippers rather than Allah.s": on the contrary (He would say) "Be ye worshippers of Him Who is truly the Cherisher of all: For ye have taught the Book and ye have studied it earnestly." (Yusus Ali)

20:134.
And if We had inflicted on them a penalty before this, they would have said: "Our Lord! If only Thou hadst sent us an apostle, we should certainly have followed Thy Signs before we were humbled and put to shame. (yusuf Ali)

12:111.
There is, in their stories, instruction for men endued with understanding. It is not a tale invented, but a confirmation of what went before it,- a detailed exposition of all things, and a guide and a mercy to any such as believe.(Yusuf Ali)

31:6.
But there are, among men, those who purchase idle tales, without knowledge (or meaning), to mislead (men) from the Path of Allah and throw ridicule (on the Path): for such there will be a Humiliating Penalty.(Yusuf Ali)

31:7.
When Our Signs are rehearsed to such a one, he turns away in arrogance, as if he heard them not, as if there were deafness in both his ears: announce to him a grievous Penalty. (Yusuf Ali)

4:87.
Allah. There is no god but He: of a surety He will gather you together against the Day of Judgment, about which there is no doubt. And whose word can be truer than Allah.s? (Yusuf Ali)

45:6. Such are the Signs of Allah, which We rehearse to thee in Truth; then in what exposition will they believe after (rejecting) Allah and His Signs?(Yusuf Ali)

7:185.
Do they see nothing in the government of the heavens and the earth and all that Allah hath created? (Do they not see) that it may well be that their terms is nigh drawing to an end? In what message after this will they then believe?(Yusuf Ali)

I guess you haven't read my posts where I have expressed my opinion of your understanding... obviously, it is an opinion. But so is yours :)

How easily is this demionstrated that it is very convenient to translate certain words at one place and leave other untranslated if you do not know what you are doing :)

Most translators leave certain words (like Jinn) untranslated, and at other places, prefer to translate Hadithaa as "exposition" and Innee mutwaffeeka as "I will take thee"...

Quran is a complete book points out when someone mistranslates, for example, Yousuf ali and Pikthall (they were human too you know). Thankyou for making my point even clearer.

Whenever you'll come with wrong infact fake translation of Quran by Shabbir Ahmed.......I'll correct it inshaAllah.

only to stand corrected... I have nothing further to discuss with you. Lakum Deenukum wa Leeya Deen.

AOA

this is the ayaa he is looking for

Surah Hashr verse 7 "And whatsoever the messenger giveth you, take it. And whatsoever he forbiddeth, abstain (from it). And keep your duty to Allah. Lo! Allah is stern in reprisal."

and beside this above ayaa

3:68 Behold, the people who have the best claim to Abraham are surely those who follow him - as does this prophet and all who believe [in him] - and God is near unto the believers.

7:158 Say [O Muhammad]: "O mankind! Verily, I am an apostle of God to all of you,Asad(7,126) [sent by Him] unto whom the dominion over the heavens and the earth belongs! There is no deity save Him; He [alone] grants life and deals death!" Believe, then, in God and His Apostle-the unlettered prophet who believes in God and His words-and follow him, so that you might find guidance!

12:108 Say [O prophet]: "This is my way: Resting upon conscious insight accessible to reason, I am calling [you all] unto GodAsad(12,104) - I and they who follow me." And [say:] "Limitless is God in His glory; and I am not one of those who ascribe divinity to aught beside Him!"

Surah al Maidah verse 92 "Obey Allah and Obey his Prophet and worry, and be warned that the Prophet's duty is only to deliver the message clearly"

Surah Mujadilah verses 12-13 "Perform Salat (Prayer), give Zakat and Obey Allah and his Prophet"

Surah Nur verse 54 "Obey Allah and his Prophet and if you dispute, then on him is what is imposed on him, and on you is what is imposed on you; and if you obey him you are guided aright; and there is no duty on the Prophet save the clear delivery".

Surah Aal-e-Imran verse 32 Say, "Obey Allah and the Prophet, but if they turn back, then verily Allah does not love the disbelievers"

Surah Anfal verse 20: "O ye who believe! Obey Allah and His Messenger, and turn not away from him when ye hear (him speak)."

Surah Anfal verse 46 "And obey Allah and His Messenger and do not quarrel?."

Surah Nisa verse 80 "He who obeys the Messenger, obeys Allah: But if any turn away, We have not sent thee to watch over their (evil deeds)."

Surah AL-AHZAB, verse 36: "It is not fitting for a Believer, man or woman, when a matter has been decided by Allah and His Messenger to have any option about their decision: if any one disobeys Allah and His Messenger, he is indeed on a clearly wrong Path"

Wasalam