Is Music Haraam ?

Though I was once shown some hadiths, but don’t remember their sources.

Kindly do share if you have any authentic sources to prove your point.

By Authentic sources I mean in the light of Quran and the well known Books of Hadiths. (Bukhari, Muslim…etc.). You might also share words of any well known scholar while explaining any verse or hadith.

p.s. PLease NO “I think”, " I feel" and “in my opinion”…etc. ONLY “Authentic sources” to be shared here.

JAzakAllah khair:)

Re: Is Music Haraam ?

brother.....this topic has been discussed briefly in the past.........you can see archives.
Some scholars say its haram some say its not(only light music with good lyrics). some say only duff is allowed.
I'm sure that music is'nt a rewardable thing......bcoz Abu Bakar(ra) said that musical instruments are instruments of satan.
According to Quran vain talk is not a quality of a mu'min.....

It is very hard for people now a days to avoid music completely but we should try to avoid it as much as we can.

Why would Music be haram? Muslims make the dumbest things haram! Im surprised breathing is still not considered haram.

its not the muslims who make things halaal or haraam.

per yeh sach hai k music sonna haram hai mainey khud dr zakir naik k lecture main yeh suna tha k kaisee pey tor pey music sonns haram hai

Can you please provide a reference for others.

baqi log believe nahi karen ge...:)

ok i will inshallah

Music is haram becuase its in the Hadith. Better go and study hadith before making such comments. :grumpy:

And the Quran is silent about music… better study Quran first

1) Allah Most High says:

“And there are among men, those that purchase idle tales, to mislead (men) from the path of Allah and throw ridicule. For such there will be a humiliating punishment.” (Surah Luqman, V. 6)

The great Companion Sayyiduna Abd Allah ibn Mas’ud (Allah be pleased with him) states in the explanation of the word “idle tales”:

“By Allah its meaning is music.” (Sunan al-Bayhaqi, 1/223 & authenticated by al-Hakim in his Mustadrak, 2/411)

Imam Ibn Abi Shayba related with his own transmission that he (Ibn Mas’ud) said: “I swear by Him besides Whom there is no God that it refers to singing.” (132/5)

The great Companion and exegete of the Qur’an, Sayyiduna Abd Allah ibn Abbas (Allah be pleased with him) states:

“The meaning of the word is music, singing and the like.” (Sunan al-Bayhaqi, 1/221& Musannaf Ibn abi Shayba, 132/5)

He also stated:

“Music and the purchase of female singers.” (Musannaf Ibn Abi Shayba, 132/5)

Hasan al-Basri (Allah be pleased with him) said:

“This verse was revealed in relation to singing and musical instruments.” (Tafsir ibn Kathir, 3/442)

The same explanation has also been narrated from Mujahid, Ikrima, Ibrahim Nakha’i, Mak’hul and others (may Allah be pleased with them all).

The above verse of the Qur’an, along with the statements regarding its meaning is clear in the prohibition of music. It also serves as a severe warning for those who are involved in the trade of music in any way, shape or form, as Allah warned them of “Humiliating punishment”.

2) Allah Most High says whilst describing the attributes of the servants of the Most Compassionate (ibad al-Rahman):

“Those who witness no falsehood, and if they pass by futility, they pass by it with honourable avoidance.” (Surah al-Furqan, V. 72)

Imam Abu Bakr al-Jassas relates from Sayyiduna Imam Abu Hanifah (Allah be pleased with him) that the meaning of “falsehood (zur)” is music & song. (Ahkam al-Qur’an, 3/428)

3) Allah Most High said to Shaytan:

“Lead to destruction those whom you can among them with your (seductive) voice.” (Surah al-Isra, V.64)

One of the great exegete, Mujahid (Allah have mercy on him) interpreted the word “voice (sawt)” by music, singing, dancing and idle things. (Ruh al-Ma’ani, 15/111)

Imam Suyuti (Allah have mercy on him) quoted Mujahid as saying: “Voice (in this verse) is singing and flute.” (al-Iklil fi istinbat al-tanzil, 1444)

Another exegete, Dahhak (Allah have mercy on him) also interpreted the word “Sawt” with flutes. (Qurtubi, al-Jami` li Ahkam al-Qur’an, 10/288)

That verse is in no way is is clear in the prohibition of music. Music is a beautiful expression of human emotion, bringing happiness and joy. It can also be used to glorify God, hardly "idle tales".

Perhaps the safer bet would be to sing about olives, NOT sing about non-Muslims and avoid singing about crabs since we really aren't sure about them.

if music was to be forbidden it would have been directly forbidden like eating pork or adultery etc. right now we have perceptions of people about what it means.

idle talk does not mean music unless we are talking about billy idol.

Great scholars you have mentioned. We are NOTHING compared to them.

Ya Allah guide the Muslims to the right path. Ameen.

One of the signs of Qiyamat is people will make halal alcohol, silk and music.

1) Sayyiduna Abu Malik al-Ash’ari (Allah be pleased with him) reports that he heard the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) say: “There will appear people in my Ummah, who will hold adultery, silk, alcohol and musical instruments to be lawful.”
(Sahih al-Bukhari)

2)Imran ibn Husain (Allah be pleased with him) reports that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: “This Ummah will experience the swallowing up of some people by the earth, metamorphosis of some into animals, and being rained upon with stones”. A man from amongst the Muslims asked: “O Messenger of Allah! When will this be?” He said: “When female singers and musical instruments appear and alcohol will (commonly) be consumed.”
(Recorded by Imam Tirmidhi, Imam Ibn Majah in their respective Sunan collections, and the wording here is of Sunan Tirmidhi)

3)Abu Malik al-Ash’ari (Allah be pleased with him) narrates a similar type of Hadith, but a different wording. He reports that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: “Soon there will be people from my Ummah who will consume alcohol, they will change its name (by regarding it permissible. m), on there heads will be instruments of music and singing. Allah will make the ground swallow them up, and turn them into monkeys and swine.”
(Sahih Ibn Hibban & Sunan Ibn Majah, with a sound chain of narration)

4) Sayyiduna Ali ibn Talib (Allah be pleased with him) reports that the blessed Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: “When my Ummah begin doing fifteen things, they will be inflicted with tribulations, and (from those 15 things He said): “When female singers and musical instruments become common.”
(Sunan Tirmidhi)

5) Sayyiduna Abd Allah ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him) reports that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) said: “Verily Allah has forbidden alcohol, gambling, drum and guitar, and every intoxicant is haram.”
(Musnad Ahmad & Sunan Abu Dawud)

6)Abu Umama (Allah be pleased with him) reports that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give peace) said: “Allah Mighty and Majestic sent me as a guidance and mercy to believers and commanded me to do away with musical instruments, flutes, strings, crucifixes, and the affairs of the pre-Islamic period of ignorance.”
(Musnad Ahmad & Abu Dawud Tayalisi)

Ya Allah save us from all this. Ameen.

So you are relying on Bukhari et el to tell you that the verse refers to music, right?

And what about Qiraat? Most of the Qari from egypt have formal music training... so they are commiting great evil in your opinion.

Female singers, musical instruments and the consumption of alcohol has been hapening for centuries. Where are the monkey-pigs?

Does this not give anyone else pause when considering hadith to be words/laws of God?

Good observation.

The fact of the matter is that the Quran is ABSOLUTELY silent about music... Quran is MUBEEN (CLEAR) and tells you everything and marks it out CLEARLY.

As a muslim, I do not have to rely on someone else's "interpretation" to tell me that a certain verse refers to music. If it does not, then it does not... why is adultry not mentioned in the way that someone has to point out that "By God, a certain 'refers' to adultry".

When someone says he/she is following a certain sunnah/hadith, I consider him/her no better than those who told the exalted Prophet "We have seen our elders on this path and God has commanded us to do this".

Music is like a knife. It can be used as a tool, it can be used as a weapon, and THAT is the truth. Hence the Quran is silent on it. No hadith in the world can contradict or go in excess of what the Quran says if it is indeed from the exalted prophet Muhammad.

Firstly, I will not listen to a non-Muslim for a fatwa. I hope you understand Seminole.

Second, brother hypnotix, we are nothing compared to the great jurists and Bukhari. InshAllah this will explain..
http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=1786&CATE=142

No need to explain… Quran addresses ALL mankind, not the “jurists”