Is music a form of food for the soul?

Narrates *‘A’ishah *(rta): The Messenger (sws) of God came to my residence while two female singers were singing the songs of Bu‘ath.1 The Holy Prophet (sws) lay down and turned his face to the other side. Meanwhile Abu Bakr (rta) entered and [seeing the singers] rebuked me thus: ‘Satanic musical instruments in the presence of the Holy Prophet (sws)?’ On hearing this God’s Messenger (sws) turned towards him and said: ‘Let them [sing and rejoice]’. When Abu Bakr was engaged in some other business, I signaled to the girls [to go out] and they left. It was on the ‘Id day.2 (Bukhari, No: 907)

*Umm-i-Salamah *narrates: A slave girl belonging to * Hassan Ibn Thabit *(rta) came to us on ‘Id al Fitr. Her hair was unkempt and she carried a tambourine and was singing [some song]. Umm-i-Salamah rebuked her. But the Holy Prophet (sws) said to her: ‘Ummi-i-Salamah, let her [sing and rejoice]. Certainly every nation has an *‘Id *and this day is our ‘Id’. (Mu‘jam Al-Kabir, No: 558)

Narrates *Ibn ‘Abbas*: *‘A’ishah* (rta) arranged      the marriage of a close *Ansari* girl. The Holy Prophet (sws) also came      to attend the ceremony. He inquired from the people: ‘Have you sent forth      the bride?’ ‘Yes’, they replied. ‘Did you send any singer with her?’ He      asked. *‘A’ishah* (rta) replied in the negative. The Holy Prophet (sws)      then remarked: ‘The *Ansar* cherish singing. It would be better that      you sent along with her a singer who would sing’[4](http://www.renaissance.com.pk/Aprefl2y5.htm#_ftn4)      
      ‘We have come to you; we have joined you.      Peace be upon us. Peace be upon you.’[5](http://www.renaissance.com.pk/Aprefl2y5.htm#_ftn5)      (*Ibn Majah*, No: 1900)

*A’ishah *(rta)reports: An Ansari girl lived under my guardianship and I arranged her marriage. The Holy Prophet (sws) came to my house on the day she was married and did not hear any songs or any other joyful activities. [Observing this] he asked of me: ‘Did you people sing to her or not?’ ‘This is the tribe of the Ansar who like singing,’ he added. (Ibn Hibban, No: 5875)

And there are more if you do your research. :slight_smile:

BTW do you mind pointing out where anyone here has said anything about “nangay dances or chichoray songs”?

No one had before you said anything about justifying “nude dances”…You just assumed that. Very shallow, my friend…very very shallow.

When did that happened?? As fas I know Prophet(S.A.W.) advised sahabas to pray and stay away from music- if people indulge in music, sharaab and such other things, a society can never improve. Please do not quote me that movie, "Khuda Ka liye"- the movie was crap and all muslim scholars in Pakistan have refuted the so called "Islamic facts" in the movie.

Looking at the contradictory responses of the people here, I did some research of my own and came across a detailed article on the subject. Please read the complete article.

Music and Singing are NOT forbidden in Islam (Submission), The true Islam-music-instruments-midi-audio-video-tapes-TV-radio-television-programs-play-theater-entertainment-cinemas-art-activity-history-books-book-distribution-publisher-musical-agent-ti

The sincere Muslim who is following the Quran will not find in the Quran ANY PROHIBITION whatsoever OF MUSIC OR SINGING. God is very specific and His commands are very clear regarding any prohibition given in the Quran. God, the Most Merciful, NEVER prohibited music or singing in the Quran. Any prohibition of music or singing that is talked about among some Muslims has no basis in the Quran. These prohibitions are innovations made up by some of the scholars and their followers who do not shy from refusing to follow the clear commands in the Quran and instead follow man made laws and books of Hadith and Sunnathat contradict the Quran, contradict simple common sense and insult the message of the prophet Muhammad. These books of Hadith and sunna were written over 200 years after the death of prophet Muhammad (See Hadith and the corruption of this great religion). The prophet Muhammad himself followed and preached ONLY the Quran. These scholars and their followers, who failed to accept God’s law in the Quran, looked for different kind of laws in the interpretation of Imams (leaders), Sahaba (companions) and Tabi’in (followers). They invented their own law and claimed that “Music and singing are haram.” Those who are confused or ignorant with their Quran choose to follow the interpretation of these human idols and their laws and disregard the clear laws of God in the Quran. After all we should always remember that Quran is the book that God calls COMPLETE, PERFECT and FULLY DETAILED.

I seriously doubt that music is a religious or even a philosophical issue.

Music is a form of expression that has 100s if not more, variations in the instruments, styles, etc. etc.

Some people enjoy music (regardless of their religion), and others don't.

Haven't you all head the famous proverb?

------ Bhains kay aagay been bajana ??

p.s. somebody please translate this for non-Urdu speaking people.

Re: Is music a form of food for the soul?

not neccessarily the 'food' for soul. rather something(lets be elusive about its nature here) that has the ability to touch to your soul.

I read above posts quickly.

Here are my thought on 'music'.

There are three schools of thoughts among muslims.

1- One who absolutely is against any kind of instrumental or vocal music.

2- Second which allows certain musical instruments including Duff or what we call it Drum or Percussion, Beat kind of instruments.

3- Those who base their belief on the basis of Duff and singing etc. allowed by the Prophet SAW and say that music in the form of pure music is not really un-islamic as long as it has some boundaries. (Those who play in middle ground)

There is an extension of these thoughts **which everyone including **non-muslims seem to agree.

4- Any music inciting a person towards what we call 'Haijaan' or disturbance of mind or lose mind enough to commit inhuman/animalistic acts is prohibited.

Hence, in my humble understanding,

A- Music by itself has nothing to do with soul.

B- We do not even have ANY understanding what soul is and we talk about its so called food?

C- The so called universal saying of "music is the food for soul' is just a myth and nothing but a myth. It is created by the people who wanted to make people have firm belief on music power.

D- Music just affects your emotions in one way or other by something which depends upon the brain power of 'listening/comprehending/processing by brain cells'.

*It is just another stimulant to these cells and create a certain response.

Until someone defines soul, music is just another stimulant of brain cells in certain way.
Music and singing do have a **short lasting effect
on a person's feeling. Does this mean affecting soul? Not really known.

Reciting Quran in certain way does the same thing as singing. Up and down of pitch or notes in reciting Quran has very similarity to what we call music. Only difference is that one is reading God's words and other is reading human written sentences or verses.

DEFINITION OF MUSIC IN MY OPINION:

**Music should be looked as a mathematical way of creating sound in a regular order.

In other way, its just a 'regularly irregular' production of sound.

^very interesting way to look at it.

^that was only a literal definition of music IMHO.

It is true that it is not possible to define soul in any logical formalism , but then so is the case with the impact of percepts experience through our sensory faculties, it is not possible to precisely define them.
The spiritual experience people claim they go through when they are performing some rituals(like Namaz) or when they are in the vicinity of certain places (Like Kaaba), it is not possible to validate their claim but then it is also not possible to invalidate it, when in essence that too is just a mere orchestration of specific sequence of sensory stimuli. My point is that all experiences that people claim have had an impact on their soul can be described
in terms of basic sensory stimulants , their primitiveness does not constrain them for causing such sensations that incapacitate our ability to define them under a cause & effect framework. So is the case with music & soul.., no definite statement can be made about it, but discarding the impact of music on our soul is in itself making a definite statement about an incomprehensible phenomenon.

Funny how few people are hell bent on using "literal" meanings of "soul".

No wonder that they as a group (aka Islamists) are very poor when it comes to creativity and innovation.

Oh bhai logo,

Heart and soul is a metaphor of "inner feelings" of a person. Expressing these inner feelings in a beautiful way, simply shows the creativity and innovation of a "creator" aka person who expresses the feelings. These feelings may be related to Love, fear, or may be hope, or desperation. They are human feelings and expressing them in fine arts instead of bombings and suicidal explosions shows the "depth" of articulation, thinking, and power of that individual's mind.

Appreciating finer art is the first step towards getting "civilized", while creating fine arts is the hight of any civilization.

Off all the great civilizations, one should only look at their art, music, literature, architecture, and poetry and see the state of well being for their people.

Civil societies not only "encourage" the creation of fine arts (all kinds with no limits), but also "protect" and patronize their artists.

Once the engine of creating "fine art" stops, the civilization goes on its death bed.

We can clearly see that in the Middle Eastern countries. Their production and "protection" of fine arts is almost zero, zilch, nada.

Is Saudi Arabia known for creating the latest forms of music, art, architecture, dance?

No.

The result! a dead civilization.

So anyone who wants to "justify or deny" music or any other form of art from Islamists point of view is simply proving the point:

----- Bhains key aaagay been bajana.

translation - You can play even the most beautiful lyrics in front of a water baffalo, it will never generate any appreciation.

BTW This metaphor was used for uncivilized beduins, who cannot or will not appreciate finer arts.

Very good.

I just have to mention that the example of namaz or seeing kaaba and its effects which depends on people's willingness to experience the effects.

A non-muslim will look at Kaaba in a different way.

Music on the other hand can have universal or near universal effect.

Other point to consider is that soul is an undefinable part of human being. Most of the people confuse this with 'feelings' and others just keep saying it is a metaphorical term. Anyhow, 'soul' and music relationship is not really proven.

lol. Not unpredictable.

The so called islamists have lots of fine arts and cultural innovations to be proud of. Its just there is a big difference in nude sculpture in the middle of the city and a great works of art, calligraphy, pottery, carpet designs and buildings constructions etc. all around the globe.

Use of color, and shapes was redefined in Islamic era which was then adopted by current day civilizations. Just take a walk through the Bazaars of Spain and take a peek in to shops for example.

Anyway, I have yet to see posts from you which has content and words outside these following words:

Bombing
Madarsas
Mullah
School
children
Taliban
pigs
suicide
islamists etc..

Says a lot for your thinking power and limited vocabulary.

Isn't it equivalent to death of civilization and progress in one person?

OK. Perhaps you are right.

Now tell us that Saudi Arabia aka the center of Islamism has had a "how many inventions" in the last 1000 years.

Now don't run to India's Mogul empire for you example. Because the mogals enjoyed all kinds of music, arts, dances, wines, etc.

Stick to the Arab land please. As these bad-lands are the source of Islamism.

Thank you.

In my humble opinion.

1- KSA should not be looked upon as the center for islam by any means today.

Its population hardly deserves any meaning other than it has few religious sites.

2- KSA has reasons for being as it is. The explanation will be too long for this discussion but you can get the hints. Just one thing. Monarchy combined with lack of initiative based on need. Being naturally wealthy they are able to buy amenities of life.

Just remember, *necessity is the mother of invention.

Many innovations are based on need. *Certainly some laziness or lack of initiative also plays a role in it. *

Moreover, innovations is not the only measure of success.

Being able to monopolize innovations is another factor.

3- In those days of Islamic great era, KSA was not the center anyway.

4- Being islamic has nothing to do with any lack of or ability to appreciate art or have creative minds. It has a different taste and flavor in itself also.

This is the last point that I wanted to emphasize in my earlier post.

No need for a Pakistani-descent guy to defend Saudi. The whole world knows about the wahabism and spread of death.

FYI.

KSA is the center of Wahabi Islamism
Iran is the center of Shia Islamism.

Both of these regions are cesspools of terror and destruction. You know why?

Because in both these places, the Mullahs have used and abused Islam to ban and scrub new thoughts.

New thoughts come from Human Heart and Soul (metaphorically speaking).

Once the blackness of religious corruption destroys human souls, nothing I mean nothing comes out of that society.

And that society becomes dead culturally and scientifically. Hence both of these "centers of Islamism" are culturally dead places, where no art, no science, no music, no nothing can come out except 30 feet long fatwas.

Blaming it on monarchy is a sham. Monarchs around the world have patronized and helped produce millions of innovations.

So please do not spread disinformation.

Thank you.

Well, your example of 'Bhains Ke Aage Been' fits here. Or Should I say Murghay Ki Ek Taang.

I thought you would get the point.

Not defending anyone at all. No need for me to do. Religion or religious people have nothing to do with what you perceive. But knowing you as I said it was not unexpected. Monarch these days are NOT the same as they were before. They are not free themselves.

See Mullah again come in to discussion. Even if we talk about christianity, you will still bring wahabi or mullahs somehow. Wasn't I right above?

I disagree with you and lets just say its an agreement to be disagreed.

That's fair. Agree to disagree.

Now back to the topic.

Human expressions change every 10 or so years these days. Perhaps that was the same in the past as well. That results in changes in the styles of music, art, literature, architecture, science, and other expressions of human intellect.

Societies that quickly adapt to the changes tend to survive and flourish. Thus it is easy to check if a society is flourishing or it has become moribund.

You don't need a microscope or complex set of equipment to see the status of "adaptability" of any society.

Japan, S.Korea, Hon Kong etc. are the societies that are adapting at breakneck speed.

Middle Eastern and Iranian societies on the other hand are pretty much dead. And so are the African tribal societies.

No adaptability, no life.

Many Pakistanis love to draw their guidance from the dead societies, by simply saying

--- "Look these societies were at the top 500 years ago, so let's follow them".

The problem with this logic is simple. 500 years ago the life was different, and so were the rules of survival.

Things have changed since then.

In fact if we look at the region now called Saudi Arabia or Iran, their civilizations have been dead for 1000+ years.

Thus the Arab or Iranian societies cannot serve as a source for rules regarding our culture. And culture includes music and other fine arts.

I must agree here with you for the most part. Glad to see some change here in the content, as well.

Accepting the norm of the day with common sense and adhering to basic rules should continue.

This is quite off-topic, but this thread reminded me of something that Marcel Proust (a writer from the past) once wrote:

"And, just as certain creatures are the last surviving testimony to a form of life which nature has discarded, I asked myself if music were not the unique example of what might have been - if there had not come the invention of language, the formation of words, the analysis of ideas - the means of communication between one spirit and another."

Wether you agree with it not, it is an interesting thought.

title hona chaeye

is music a form of food for the BAD soul

nahi urdu main zyada mazay ka banay

kia moseeqe bad roohooN ki ghaza hay

jawab : jee haan

vivo