Is music a form of food for the soul?

The age old mystery surrounding tunes from all different cultures. Some high pitched vocals of string instruments, while others are combined natural sounds with the vocals of a human, in one form or another music is found to have a special impact and place in every culture no matter how isolated or out of touch the part of the world may be.

Often music has been associated with being food for the soul, and how the sounds of music have calming effects on the humans. Even in today’s age of technology music is the common ground. Variations of music have become a form of speech, a way of expression, an avenue for conviction.

The music also seems to have a connection to spirituality, and some claim it serves as a ladder to allow human spirits to ascend higher than usual. Such as the Sufi tunes of Swirling Dervishes, or just plain Qawwali, or Sitar, and so on…

Do you believe music has a connection to our soul, and serves as its perceived to be, or is that just a superstition?

Re: Is music a form of food for the soul?

That is true that a lot of times we find certain tunes/lyrics to be catchy but our soul has connection to God and therefore there's no better food for our souls then the Quran itself.

I know, you might find this a very general answer but i'm in hurry and sure will contribute more on it.

Yes, from a religious point of view, there is no doubt for a believer that holy scripture is the source of tranquility and food for the soul.

But what about from a mystic point of view? Or those who use music as a tool to achieve a state of meditation thereby concentrating, and so on....

From religious point of view, music is haraam- any kind of music or songs are banned in Islam. People don't focus on Islamic naats and want jazzy music and/or movies with females in them.

Coming back to the topic!

"Food for soul" is a metaphor for spiritual uplifting. Spiritual uplifting can in fact come from listening to music. However if you do not like a particular style of music, or the music itself, then off course it cannot help your spirit.

Hi all I do believe in Teggys point of view raised- music I feel has a spiritual connection somewhere in the body and mind- how songs can remind you and take u back in that time of fun, joy, sadness- how music allows me personally to vent and so ..... meditation requires an ambience that is enhanced by music and beats....how Qawaals can really enthuse you to a point that your heart beats to each note... great post!!!

Hmm. I haven't found such prohibition in the Quran. Mind pointing out where it is?

Depends on the type of music i guess.....some types can be like the food for the soul while other types can poison it.

indeed, music can be junk food for the soul and inflict it just like junk food afflicts the body with..obesity, hypertension, diabetes, heart disease etc etc etc.

religion aside but there have been improvements in paralyzed patients.Read such an article long ago

Music whilst being food for the soul, can also take away your soul. It is noted that some music can have a huanting effect on people and lead to delessions and other mental problems.
Many tunes have also been noted for thier physcological effects for example there are many instruments whose notes can reverberate inside your ear for a long time and can even trigger nerves so that you think you hear something when there is nothing there.

That said there are also many instruments which can physically create such powerfully pitched notes that they can actually shatter glass or burst ear drums without enhancement speakers.

Now on a lighter note some tunes can actually be very strange ina good way, becuase they can linger on in your head for a long time and make you feel more peacefull. It would be nice to see what sort of music people are into. I love Quwallis and epic folk tunes from around the subcontinent Arabian, Persian, and Chinese classical music is also my favourite styles. I don't like modern music in particular songs.

The Quran does forbid some music such as the music of taverns and other filthy places as well as un-islamic lyrics as well as some instruments which are said to be bad for you, the insturments were made from harraam animal parts like early Arabian lutes used leather from non hallaal animals like donkeys.

Music like quwwalis and war anthems was actually encouraged, in fact on some instances there are haddith relating to Rasoolallah ordering the armies to sound the drums and fifes and let the enemy know they were coming!

Anyway thats my two cents worth.

Bhar do Jholi meri ya Muhaamad,
Loat kaar me na jahoon ga Hali!

FATWA POLICEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
runnnnnnn for your life… :tomato:

back to the topic… yeh i believe music is sorta like food to our soul…
as long as you r listening to nice songs with nice lyrics which are NOT explicit … its all gud…

yeh i would describe most of the songs that are produced today to be harmful only cuz of the language and very explicit description…

most of the english music is as such that it really effects ur psychology… they kinds of cords that r hit and the tunes that are produced make kids go hyper and go crazy… TRY it

putting some fast english track on while driving … automatically u r jst gona hit on the gas… and would like to over speed

May want to tell it to the people of Medina who welcomed the prophet with songs and he did not prohibit that...

^ i was wondering abt the same thing.....

when girls were singing and play Dhaaf

^^ the girls that sang tala albadru alaina ... its reported that they were minors who were singing..

I Completly Agree with Faris Uddin. on the Issue.

A lil off the topic but just to Reply to BH.

this topic is debateable but am sure if i start debating hardcore ... i know for a fact FATWAS are gonna fly in every direction, but i wud say that Any form of music that leads away from the actual intent that wud be haram such as indian songs - unless the GS muftis agree other wise.

what is permissable in ''MY PERSONAL'' opinion is things like qawali but to the extent that you understand what its about and u understand the intention for listening to it .eg Allah hoo Allah hoo by Nusrat Fateh Ali khan. how ever if Rahat fateh Ali sang something which has nothing to do with the praise of the Prophet SAW or to do with praise of a Saint or nothing to do with Allah being mentioned. but he sang it in qawali format .. thas haram.

As for listening to a Woman reciting a Naat, its perfectly permissable in MY opnion AGAIN ...with the condition that you are NOT listning to her Naat cos of the Voice and have no idea what the naat is about. and ur just listning cos you like the sound of her voice . then this wud be not permissable. And the Naat is heard for the sole purpose .. which is the praise of the Prophet SAW.

Anywayss, this is my opinion. Now where are the GS Fatwa Officials to Dish out the Fatwas :p

:hehe: No, no Fatwas for you Fbi bro. :salute:

Thank you all for the answers. I too feel like certain kind of music can be beneficial and soothing, while another kind can be just as destructive or give you wicked thoughts.

I’ve always been fond of Sufi Folk music (Bulleh Shah, etc.) or Qawwali if it’s good. :k:
Sometimes Enigma also helps to relax the mind. Not sure how many of you have heard it.

And where did this new statement come from?

Why I never heard it before?

So prophet muhammad SAWW kay samnay bhi loag nangay naachay thay aur chichoray dance kiaay thay jaz or break dance kia tha aur wahiyaat ganay gaay thay gitaar bajaay thay ya bhungra dala tha?

Isn’t it your FATWAAAAA?

lol PINGOO TUM SAY YAY UMMEED NAHEEN THI.

Yes its true, it depends on the persons taste of genre. You can compare music with food :p

K337 <--- inspired by munna bhai :p