It all depends on the intention. If you are doing it to look pretty to the world or it boasts your confidence or you are doing it for a job position that require some level of beauty and you can achieve that level by wearing make up then your intention is not to deceive someone and you are good to go, But lets say you are wearing it during rishta talks so that the guy and family can’t see your natural looks and take a decision in your favor, then its truly a deception.
I know it’s off topic and totally irrelevant to the topic under discussion… but still i would say she is not aunty vanty, she is young enough to be your elder sister.
Lol, I’m not offended. Everyone’s going to become an aunty or uncle someday. My post was a general one and not directed specifically toward our dramatic friend. In all honesty, I can’t recall if they even posted in this thread.
Really? How many times have you looked at a girl and said to yourself:
“that contouring is so sexy” or “daaaaayummmm that cut crease got me all hot now” or “something about how she blends her eye shadow has me up all night”
Reha, you are being dishonest. Do women randomly put makeup on at home if they are into art? This dishonesty is getting on par with pseudo mullah hypocrisy regarding women will not be raped if only they wore a burqa.
^ Agree. There may be many reasons behind the application of makeup, but attracting people is certainly among them whether you’re aware of it or not.
Sure, you can apply makeup as a way to express yourself …and because it’s part of your grooming…and you wanna feel good about yourself. But rarely is it applied with the intention to repulse others. Even if one’s thought process is simply that they want their makeup to make them look…“more put together”…or…so that others (doesn’t have to be only men) don’t perceive them as looking “tired” …then that, too, also signifies attraction …even on a milder/basic non-seductive level.
Actually yes. I love playing with different colors and techniques randomly at home when I have nowhere to go. In fact, I do not feel comfortable wearing that kind of heavy makeup outside. Also, I definitely am not the only one.
Well, contouring is not meant to be noticed. The goal is to seamlessly blend those contouring lines so that the effect appears natural…as if you were born with a more narrower nose, sharper jaw, etc. The usual intent is for the viewer to find the finished product appealing…not so much to ponder about the techniques and their various names (unless you’re into makeup). A guy won’t muse to himself that, “Hot daaayum! That otherwise Desi beak of hers has been beautifully blended down to button-nose perfection! My heart is dhak-dhaking yo!!!” ..nor will he think…“Man, that cut crease and winged eye-liner has made her otherwise sesame-eyes look like smoldering almonds. Holy macademias!!! I am “nuts” for her now!!!” He’ll simply think she’s pretty/attractive/beautiful and that is partly due to the enhancing effects of makeup.
You are right in that makeup is not a priority for most men. However that still doesn’t change the reality that makeup is applied to attract others (including men). If not, then why do women apply makeup before a date? Think of the advertising/entertainment industries. Why are the women in the movies, commercials, ads, magazines, wearing makeup? In some professions, women are required to wear makeup, so that they come across as more put-together…which in turn attracts customers/clients and has a more positive impact on their psyche. A woman’s boyfriend/husband may have seen her without makeup countless times…has seen her at her worst (sickness, etc etc) and still accepts/loves her as she is…but on those “special” occasions…she’ll apply the mascara, smudge the liner, dab on bit of lipstick. Why??? So, she appears a bit more attractive than usual. If we remove seduction from the equation and argue that we apply makeup so we appear more put-together and less tired/scary-looking to the world..that, too, is like saying you want people to find you more attractive/approachable…even if it’s in a nonsexual way. If we argue that it’s only an “art”…well…why is all the art in the world displayed on walls and in museums and exhibits? It’s done because the artist wants their work to be noticed, appreciated, for their work to be met with a positive perception…excepting cases where the art is meant to shock…but even then the intent is still to draw attention.
Again, there are multiple reasons for why women apply makeup. But to appear more attractive (root word: attract) to the world is definitely among them…even if it’s non-sexual/seductive. Natural si baat hai; I think it’s okay for us to admit this. Men, too, have their ways of attracting women be it through clothing, or physique, or material assets, etc etc. Makeup is just one of many tools. And it’s a powerful tool, but it can be trumped by a good personality, how you interact with others, etc etc.
Men don’t notice that but they do notice that women look different and maybe more attractive with make up on. We aren’t experts so of course we don’t know the name of every tool y’all use lol.
Um, actually many women do. When I was still doing makeup as a business, I was applying makeup at home alllll the time to perfect techniques.
And for most women who apply makeup the way that is being addressed here…its not about men…its about a hobby. Women enjoy makeup. Its as simple as that. I understand it doesn’t make much sense because the assumption is that makeup is for men so why would a woman ever use it outside of trying to attract men. But the crazy makeup techniques you see and bone structure altering tricks are NOT for men. They are a hobby.
A man would have to be stupid to think the woman he was talking to was born with pink eyeshadow on her lids. That also makes him completely undateable.
I understand what you mean but I beg to differ considering what makeup has become for women today. Yes, its original purpose was to hide flaws to make women more desirable for men. They were home, not working, raising families and their entire lives revolved around their men. So who would they groom for? Men of course. If they applied lipstick, the automatic question on everyone’s mind was: Why does she need lipstick? Is it for a man? What man?
But now…not so much. Women work outside the home, deal with public, interact with bosses, employees, colleagues, etc and makeup is a finishing touch to a professional appearance now.
Makeup, washing your face, putting deodorant on, combing your hair, changing out of your PJ’s, brushing your teeth, taking a shower, etc are all rarely done with the intention of repulsing others. Why would you ever want to repulse anyone? Most people who have jobs cannot afford to repulse people. Generally, people want to appear as functioning, self aware and put together…not for men…for themselves.
All of these arguments can be used for men as well. Why did my husband show up on our first date wearing YSL? That’s not how he naturally smells 24/7 and can be considered deception.
Again, I do understand where you’re coming from but I feel the purpose of makeup has changed since it started being used.
Such a long essay lol. The point is make up is isn’t primarily used to attract men but it is one of the many reasons. These hobbyist you speak of aren’t doing it just for fun, it stems from a complex or some kind of insecurity. Kinda like the gym rat that was was probably bullied as a kid or had body image issues, saying that it’s only a hobby is so naive.
Also if these bone altering techniques aren’t for men then why do they put them up on dating apps lol, why do some girls show up to social mixers and clubs like that when everybody knows people are there to hook up. Smh at the lies lmao.
I was addressing your post where you had said that makeup is not applied to attract men. The reality is that attracting men still is a major reason (among other reasons) for using makeup.
When we appear more self-functioning and put-together…it does what? Well, apart from making us feel good about ourselves…it also…attracts others towards us…be it our coworkers, clients/customers, friends, the opposite gender, etc. “Art” is self-expression that seeks what? Attraction! Using makeup for self-confidence is about what? Making your inner-self attracted to your outer self. For those who deny that makeup is not used to attract men, my argument is that…“Pfft. At the very heart/root of any beautification and self-adornment is attraction…whether it’s to attract oneself, or others, or in a sexual/romantic sense.” I will agree with you that the use of makeup and its techniques has become varied throughout the years; you’re right. But the rudimentary reason (in my opinion) is still the same: attraction.
I don’t see fragrance as deception though. We all are aware of our bodies and having cohabited with other humans from birth…we know that human beings don’t naturally smell like Chanel No. 5 or musk with warm undertones of citrus and vanilla. And when we apply perfume, we don’t do so with the intention of telling the world that this is our natural scent. But when one changes the shape of their features with makeup…they’re telling the world that THESE features are what I want you to see as my natural ones…that the bridge of my nose really is that narrow; I was born with it…etc etc. In my opinion, it’s not the same as fragrance. It’s a complex topic. We can respectfully agree to disagree. Diverging views are what add fun to a discussion and this forum was long overdue for a good debate. We’re all just sharing our opinions. To each his own. Good to see you back, Reha.
Generally when a woman disagrees with a man, she is a feminist…as if the word “feminist” is a swear word…something negative and horrible. And I am supposed to disagree with this label and defend myself for being pro-women when you are pro-men. Why would I agree to what you’re implying though? Why would I want my daily routine to be all about attracting a man (when I already have one) when it isn’t? Women put makeup on before they drop off their kids at school too…its about feeling more put-together.
Not everything revolves around men. It doesn’t have to anymore. If having a purpose other than attracting a man makes me a die-hard feminist…so be it.
Feminazi reporting for duty.
Like I said, you’ve got to be deaf, dumb and blind if you think the women you’re dancing with in those grungy clubs were born with glitter cut creases and hot pink lips. Grow up.