Is Karachi really modern?

What is it with Pakistani people that whenever they come to think of wealth, education and urbanism the first thing that pops up in their head is “the city, Karachi”. I am from Karachi myself and I don’t see it as anymore than an overpopulated, corrupt dehat with illegal jobs available around the corner. Maybe there is some good education available (as people say :rolleyes:) in Karachi but what’s the point when you’re going to live in corruption anyway, unless of course you decide to haul ass somewhere else. I mean like more than half of our population has no friggin access to safe drinking water, we have mosquitoes causing malaria thanks to the garbage we dump on the streets, and how come are we modern?

When my nani came here to visit us she’s like “hamara Karachi bhi bara ‘maadran’ hai, aisa waisa na samjho”. I kept quiet out of respect for her otherwise I should’ve went on an insulting spree had it been a worldly young person. We have all kinds of problems in our city; political corruption, illegal businesses, an almost perfectly dystopic infrastructure, and what not… how come is it modern? Okay if you build a handful of modern shopping malls - which aren’t going to benefit the people in need anyway - that doesn’t mean that you’re modern.

Plus the extremely self-centered businessmen just keep investing in the city and hog 4 land plots for absolutely no reason, with no regards for the poor people who need them, law, and conservation. We have no regards for the environment; dumping garbage on the streets, destroying natural habitats, and at the same time our poor people don’t want to move anywhere for a better future; they have no idea what is good for them, simply because they are uneducated and uninformed, and of course our government doesn’t give on friggin sh*t about it… about the govt, for God’s sake enforce the laws, for God’s sake care for the people.

And for the people, for God’s pay your taxes–how will the govt care for you if you don’t care for them? I read somewhere that a large number of govt employees are underpaid. You people of Karachi for God’s sake once–just once–have a glance at those below you. For God’s sake respect yourself, respect your city, respect yourself as a Karachiite, a Pakistani, a Muslim. And finally, for God’s sake agree that you’re not modern, you’re a backwards, grotty little city that still has a lot to do… for God’s sake become truly modern, and not by wearing jeans and eating pizzas, but by doing what’s good for you, for your city and for your people… and the citizens of Karachi know what those things are and thus I need not waste space here.

I might have missed out some points due to the emotional rush within me, but I hope I have conveyed the point.

Re: Is Karachi really modern?

Umm.. pay taxes so that it can end up in some minister's Swiss bank account?

yeah right ! just like when people settled in U.S or U.K pay tax ............... it end up in iraq or afghan war

^^ And what about U.S.' and U.K.'s infrastructure... at least they put the money there first, its most rightful place. Mistrust, mistrust and more mistrust... that's what prevents us from paying our taxes and thus the govt from being able to do its thing. If you pay your taxes you're not doing something additional, it's like this - if you don't pay your taxes you're being illegal (unless you are below poverty line). I know that there are even wealthy people in Karachi don't properly pay their taxes. We should be thankful that we have a decent Chief Justice who isn't ready to subdue, and that is a backup for us in case the govt doesn't rightly use the taxes when we pay them.

In 2001 I had to go to Dubai (my first visit to a strange land). I was feeling too good to see the marvellous Jinnah terminal in Karachi. When two weeks later, I came back from Dubai, this aiport looked to me as if I was in ruins compared to the Dubai airport.

Forget everything else, start by ending corruption, if we want to move foward, that goes for anyplace in Pakistan.

^^ "Stop corruption, stop corruption" that's what every person out there in Karachi is saying, be it a yelling mullah or a tuxedo-clad lawyer. But how do they expect to stop corruption when they don't cooperate one bit? I mean when the govt doesn't do anything we all keep saying that the govt should do something (which is alright), and when the govt does something we aren't ready to trust the govt and the govt gives up, the result: nothing happens. I think that stopping corruption involves more than one factor, which direly includes our cooperation.

good point retro

I too agree retro has a good point, ending corruption in Pak is easier said then done, it has to start from the top, and as far as the trust issue, do you blame the people after how recent Goverments have behaved.
Anyway the topic is Karachi wich I visited once and the only memory I have of it, is it was over crowded and hot.

Well the weather is from Allah! We can not do anyting about it!

Overcrowding we can control it - by building other cities - as Gawadar being built and by controlling population.

How would you control the population ?

I dont think Birth control and family planning works in Pak.

Well a lot of educated people are already doing it! But some people remain in dilemma! They do it after 5 kids. They may stop at 2 or should not stop at all.

Education is slowly making in-roots into our people.

karachi is modern compared to the rest of the pinds that masquerade as cities in Pakistan.

^^ Not just other pinds in Pakistan but a lot of other wannabe cities around the world

Lol..this is SO TRUE! the masses pay taxes which ends up being consumed in buying somebody's another Mercedez or another vacations and/or shopping spree in Mediterrenian..and what does the general public get? NOTHING & NADA!

An excellent point which had been racing through my mind. We do need population control, natural birth control methods… but there are people who believe that it is taboo or something in Islam to have less kids or something (mullahs :halo:)… we need to educate our people and inform them about the population’s impact on the environment and resources, although no doubt the earth is sufficient if you know how to use it. And how is Gwadar good news, they’re just exploiting Pakistan’s great natural habitats for some self-centered money-making schemes… we need to organize our city planning and educate the population. Plus, we need to restrict land plots to stop idiotic businessmen from hogging 4 plots for commercial use… not to mention conserving natural habitats and reforestation. There are no trees alongside roads in Karachi and the environment is almost dystopic; wow, what a modern city.

It is understandable if someone who is poor or a middle-class dude doesn't pay the taxes... but we have friggin millionaires who take advantage of the corruption and don't pay their taxes! That's ridiculous... they can waste friggin Rs. 100,000 dining out with fellow businessmen in Pearl Continental Hotel every week, yet they can't pay their taxes? What's putting me off is that some people here on GS blame the govt and are adamant on not paying taxes (which they call "wasting money").

Through experience I tell you that it isn't the govt that hogs the taxes, it is mostly the "in-between" things that do it - well, there is corruption in the Pakistani govt to an extent but they aren't entirely to blame. I read in the news that a large number of govt employes are underpaid their salaries due to lack of taxes, which is resulting in people wanting to go for private jobs, which means no benefit for the country itself and unemployment for people who aren't qualified enough - which is a criteria for most pvt jobs. Let me give you a simplified example.

It's something like this: you go to a shop to buy something; the things costs Rs. 20 + Rs. 2 for tax; the shopkeeper altogether sells it for Rs. 22. But the shopkeeper hogs the Rs. 2 that is supposed to go to the govt for himself... eventually he is tracked down by some political party who blame the shopkeeper for not paying taxes and eventually - through a corrupt judiciary - keep the money for themselves. Of course, not all shopkeepers are like that, but many are--especially those who are pressured by political parties and gangs.

And judging by that, how do you expect the govt to spend enough on education and other necessities? Half the reason of Pakistan's current existence is its military, and the govt has to spend the majority of the taxes on what is sees as the top priority. Our biggest misfortune is that we don't have a proper judiciary system; if our judiciary system is corrected, most of our problems will automatically begin to die out... so don't blame it all on the govt, there are other things that affect the payment of taxes--most prominently the judiciary system and the people themselves.

That is a ridiculous reason. there is tons of wasteful spending in any given country, but do people stop paying taxes? No.. do people in US stop paying taxes because they are no longer supporting Iraq war and think that is a waste of money? or stop paying taxes because they dotn agree with the handouts US givs to countries ranging from israel and Jordan to Pakistan and Egypt?

why? they have their obligations, now if you are so poor that you fall below a certan threshold and dont pay taxes, thats one thing, but other than that taxes are taxes. What is next, would it be understandable if middle class people stop paying bills?

You retorguy, seem to be educated. The millions of Pakistanis are not as educated as you. It's your job to go out there and establish centers and the likes. Get together with like minded people and start a system for your area. InshAllah when I am done my education here in Canada I will move to Pakistan and do the same.