Re: Is it wrong
My husband thinks we should make halwa out of the little pumpkin we have.
Anyone realizes my Avatar may be a smiley, winky perfectly round kaddu? ![]()
kaddu ka Halwa? maiN ne na to kabhii sunaa aur na hii dekhaa!
kia yeh sirf shikaarpur meN hii bantaa hai? ![]()
not just your avatar, my frand..
I’ve never had it but yes it does exist (in Shikarpur and other places). ![]()
I know you can tell which vegetable even with the eyes closed my frand.
oh wow! i didn’t know the Shikarpuris are smarter than people from Jhumri Talaiya! ![]()
if and when you make Kaddu kaa Halwa, please make sure that you post the pic in “aaj kia Khaayaa pakaayaa” thread! thankoo ![]()
Will do. ![]()
thankoo ![]()
AoA
I just saw this topic today and so would like to comment a little. Islamically you cannot celebrate any holiday that has roots in another religion. Like Christmas, easter, valentine (all being christian holidays). Similarly Halloween has its roots in the pagan religion. Another holiday with pagan roots is mothers day. You can eat all the pumpkin you want but you cannot do anything on Halloween.
is that a Fatwa or a friendly advice? ![]()
Well… I’ve read fatwas of it. But i’m in no position to give fatwas. Look at it this way… if it was ok to celebrate these holidays and you didn’t do it there is no harm, but if is wrong than “gunah” ho ga
Btw this brings us to another question, how do parents against halloween deal with activities done in school?
For instance each kid in my son’s class was asked to bring in a pumpkin that they decorated and took back home. I am really curious to know how parents who are against doing anything related to halloween, deal with this?
You can go to the teacher and say it is against your beliefs. They will be obligated to excuse your child. thats what my parents did
well, if you do it with religious convictions then of course it will be a gunaah…but…kids doing it for fun and the purpose of it is only fun in their head then why it should be a gunaah? it’s parent’s responsibility to give religious understanding that it is indeed a pagan ritual but we do it for FUN only…tell them all the time. they will understand.
yeah, i would like to know that as well. good point, Sajalina! ![]()
Yes I understand you have the option to not be a part of it and that’s what your family chose to do. I am still curious to know how others deal with it.
Thanks for replying.
As others have already mentioned why is Halloween pumpkin bad but easter chocolates are ok?
Or birthday cake? Or wedding cake? Or engagement rings?
They’re all customs from other cultures, aren’t they..
Put hakimullah mehsuds face on it , this would be testament to the horror that “Lived” in Pakistan.
excellent points…
how come everyone is totally cool with birthday cakes?
poor pumpkin is cursed by a lot of people…!!! ![]()
October 31st should be declared as a day of mourning for all the “kaddus” [Pumpkins] of the world. ![]()