I have heard in a few lectures that it’s wrong to do tasbeeb/dhik/etc for a worldly gain as that’s selfish.
I understand that ibadat which one does with only the desire to please Allah is more superior.
I know that certain ayats such as Ayat Kareema are recited in huge quantities for the relief of problems or fulfillment of duas.
*****My question: Is it wrong to recite Durood or certain surah for relief of problems?
From a religious perspective, Rasool SAWS has told us to recite Surah Waqiah for financial stability and he SAWS has mentioned certain rewards we’d receive for reciting certain dhikrs certain number of times.
Allah, Himself, tells us about the reward (jannat) we’d receive if we come to the straight path.
I guess what I’m trying to say is that why is it that some people will tell you “Sirf Allah ki raza k liye parhna chahiye, apnay kisi garz ya dunyavi khwaish k liye nahi”…when even Allah and Rasool SAWS have attached rewards both of this world and the next to ibadat that can easily become one’s garz or purpose?
Again, I know that ibadat done only for Allah’s pleasure is much superior, but is it wrong to do so for relief of problems and dua fulfillment?
^^^ It is not selfish or against Islam to desire something from Allah for oneself or for worldly gain ... or to pray Allah for the benefit of own worldly life.
Rather, to pray Allah for worldly benefit (as long as it is not at the expense of anyone) is ibadah and regardless of that prayer is fulfilled or not, person would get rewards for his prayers (dua, tasbih for worldly benefits or whatever).
Reason: Asking Allah for worldly benefits can only be done if one have faith on Allah and have faith that this world or next world, what one gets is from Allah. Those who have belief that they would not ask Allah for their worldly needs, and they would ask Allah only for life after death, they are misguided, rather unbelievers, as from their such belief they are excluding Allah as provider of their needs in this world ... when it is only Allah who provides in this world as well as after death.
Thus, one should ask Allah for any (legitimate) needs one have in this world (and bounty from Allah one hopes in world after death) ... as that is ibadah and shows belief as well as reliance on Allah.
Actually, there are times when Allah put a person in misery or pain as test just to see how much faith they have on Allah. Those who have faith on Allah, they pray to Allah (pray or do wazifa) so that they come out of such misery or pain ... but those who do not have faith they suffer but do not call Allah for help.
Remember ... Yunus (AS) who did wazifa (recited 'ayet-e-karima') in belly of fish, for his freedom from belly of fish, that resulted in him to get out of fish's belly. Hz Zakariya (AS) prayed to Allah for an heir in this world. Ibrahim (AS) prayed for safety and prosperity of his family he decided to leave in Mecca, and so on.
Agree with Sa1eem.
In doing dhikr, tasbheeh, etc, you're only remembering Him, reciting His words, and asking for His guidance, you're only asking Allah (swt) for what ever it is you're wanting here.
And only He decides if you're worth of having your wants/ duahs fulfilled.
So in short, no, I don't think it's selfish or wrong, as you'd still be rewarded for turning to Him, In Sha Allah.
Its no harm in Asking goodness and prosperity from Allah...zakkariya alehe salam dua for child, hazrat ayub alehe salam dua for cure, n hazrat musa alahe salam dua for goodness...above all you are asking Allah..this thing counts much n Allah says in Quran, mujhse mango mein qabool karunga..
In the Name of Allah, the Most Beneficent, the Most Merciful.
All the praises and thanks be to Allah, the Lord of the 'Alameen (mankind, jinns and all that exists).
The Most Beneficent, the Most Merciful.
The Only Owner (and the Only Ruling Judge) of the Day of Recompense (i.e. the Day of Resurrection)
You (Alone) we worship, and You (Alone) we ask for help (for each and everything).
Guide us to the Straight Way
The Way of those on whom You have bestowed Your Grace, not (the way) of those who earned Your Anger, nor of those who went astray.
And when My servants question thee concerning Me, then surely I am nigh. I answer the prayer of the suppliant when he crieth unto Me. So let them hear My call and let them trust in Me, in order that they may be led a right. *[2:186] *
Our Lord! Grant us good in this world and good in the hereafter, and save us from the chastisement of the fire[2:201]
Turning to Allah Almighty for help and our needs, Worldly-wise or for hereafter pleases Him because we have acknowledged Him as the ONLY source for help.
Okay so let's say one thinks that they will recite durood in abundance for the resolution of their problems, to feel peace, for purification.....would this person's recitation of durood be less superior or perhaps lacking than the person who recites solely for Allah's pleasure and to send blessings to the Prophet SAWS?
Since Allah (swt) is said to love us, His worshipers, more than 70 mothers...
If a baby is hungry, who does (s)he ask for food? If a child is hurt, who does (s)he turn to for comfort? If a child is in trouble, who does (s)he hide from because (s)he expects punishment?
If a mother can provide her children with all of the above, and then some... Then why Sould we not turn to our Creator? If it is for worldly reasons or not is between Him and us... No third person should be involved in passing any judgements.
So to answer your question, no. I don't think any person's, who remembers Allah (swt) and His Prophet (saw) (in his/ her time of need or not), recitation is less superior or lacking in any way... because they're turning to The One who they know will guide them and help resolve their worldly hardships.
Another piece to think about, there are those who don't remember Allah (swt) except in their time of need. Subhan Allah, He still listens to them - their prayers don't go unheard, In Sha Allah.
"Indeed, Allah leaves astray whom He wills and guides to Himself whoever turns back [to Him] -Those who have believed and whose hearts are assured by the remembrance of Allah . **Unquestionably, by the remembrance of Allah hearts are assured." - Surah Ar'Rad, Verses 27 & 28
^Jazak Allah to everyone for taking the time out to respond.
I have come across the durood: Qallat heelati anta waseelati adrikni ya rasoolallah salallahu alaihi wa sallam. In this durood one is asking the Prophet SAWS to help…is such a durood not shirk?
^yes don't go for it. Stick to daurd ibrahimi mainly. or recite very short ones which are only salawat. and that's it. There are lots of such daruds out there that contain shirk due to the use of certain words
Sister its in my knockout naat thread, no its not Shirk, RasoolAllah Sallallahu Alaihi wa Alihi wa Sallam is our Prophet
There is also a dua which talks directly to him as well, which was taught by Him Sallallahu Alaihi wa Alihi wa Sallam and taught by His Companions after.
RasoolAllah Sallallahu Alaihi wa Alihi wa Sallam also views our actions and has said in Hadiths that He will pray for us
Muzaffar Hussein Shah has a few videos/audios on shirk its worth you finding them and listening to them. Also Shaykh Asrar Rashid has a three part program on Tawheed which is worth watching
Both 'ibadah and du'a are part of our duty to Allah (SWT) ... However, you have a valid question ... People can choose to make selfish du'as and non-selfish du'as ... It is not wrong to seek protection from Shaitan with Allah (SWT) for example ... It is also charitable to do du'a for others and one can make supplication to Allah in all halal matters as mentioned earlier anyway.
by continuing the habit of asking from Allah (SWT) we actually programme ourselves to recognise our dependency ... Which removes arrogance and heightens our sincerity, inshaAllah.
so du'a helps our souls ... Also, ibadah is for Allah (SWT) and the greatest du'a is durood ... which is not a selfish one.
Although I personally do not make direct requests from RasoolAllah (SAW) (I do try to converse with him (SAW) in my own way and send him salutations) ... Shirk is to ask someone what is only befitting of Allah (SWT) to ask and/or to worship other than Allah (SWT) ... So in the matter of waseela ... It is wrong to say that we ask Allah (SWT) for waseela, but we can ask Allah (SWT) to destine for us the waseela of RasoolAllah (SAW) ... I do not believe asking in this regard from RasoolAllah (SAW) directly is shirk so those who do it and have their evidence ... let them ...
So sister redvelvet ... Where in that sentence is a request being made?
I can't completely gather the Arabic from your statement ...but it seems like it is written ...
she said, she is the one, you are my intercessor, that I have gathered, o Prophet of Allah (SAW) ...
so from roman Arabic translation I might have made an error, but it does not sound like a du'a ... And it does not make sense either. Please confirm Arabic ...