Recently I have met some people I haven’t met for a while unexpectedly, one used to be an old family friend of my mums I met her in her own city around 80 miles away from home
Another person I met at around midnight in a fast food joint on both occasions they seemed surprised I was alone (I live with my brother and father), is it odd amongst desi circles or something?
Re: Is it unusual to be alone?
Why are you concerned about what others think?
I don't, I otherwise I would change my going out patterns
For a girl (assuming you are) I guess for a traditional perspective its frowned upon perhaps they expect you would be with your husband? or at least with your brother maybe with friends.
Lol I’m a guy!
Lol I'm a guy!
Then I have no idea perhaps they think you should be with friends.
Maybe it was said as a space-filler during conversation, kind of like how people bring up the weather. They might have asked because they assumed that if you're so far away from home in a place you usually aren't seen at and so late during the day....that you're probably either with someone or visiting someone. Perhaps they asked because they know your family and they could then meet/greet your parents/siblings/etc. if they had come along. It could be that they picture you as someone who's more social. Maybe they're hinting that you should get hitched if you aren't already. Maybe they're just being nosy. Maybe they need to find some "flaw." If I were seen at the mall during the day by some aunti, I could picture her asking if I'm alone. I don't think it's an odd question that you should get so worked up over it. I wouldn't "change" my patterns over something like this. I think it requires some level of confidence to be by yourself because I know of people who won't even eat in a cafe or go to a public bathroom by themselves, which I find strange.
Im confused u say you live wiht your brother/father…so..you’re not alone?
or why you were alone at that particular moment?
Live your life according to you. IF you think you are better alone then so be it.
And as for your kith and kins are concerned they asked out of sheer normalcy. Once you touch puberty you come across such questions specially for girls..it’s sometimes is so sickening.
But my Q is shud one avoid such MEHFILs or be adamant that what they are …they are for themselves. !!!
He is dying to get a wife. ![]()
They want to set you up with some girl they know.
Who cares? My standard response now is "kyun aunti, mein apko haste huwe achi nahin lagti?"
That usually makes them laugh and I can change the topic now to why their kids aren't married.
Ankhon me anso a gaye. HAi
Noy unusual at all, I meet enough people for work. I enjoy some 'me' time everyday.
Hey Yoda121! You’re asking for advice about you and you’re getting responses by the ladies … If you do as they say, then people will end up thinking you play ball for the other team … ![]()
Come on people he asked for advice … So at least try to give him some from a male perspective not a girls one.
My current inclinations without further info is to side with SaeedinPakistan … I think they think a person like you aught to be looking and they may have people in mind … That is if they are desis, but if not and they are ladies themselves then they might be trying to suggest their own interest in you.
deleted
My current inclinations without further info is to side with SaeedinPakistan ... I think they think a person like you aught to be looking and they may have people in mind ... That is if they are desis, but if not and they are ladies themselves then they might be trying to suggest their own interest in you.
Saeed gets a point.
I live by myself and i get that all the time. “why aren’t ya married”. There were couple of instances when i went to look for apartment for rent. Some desi landlords go: “ap ke shadi ho gaye kya”? Are you going to be married anytime soon?. I tell them..yo aunts! man has to go for coffee first with ladies to decide. ![]()
yoda wants everyone to know that he is available and that the expectation is that he should settle down soon......
Recently I have met some people I haven't met for a while unexpectedly, one used to be an old family friend of my mums I met her in her own city around 80 miles away from home Another person I met at around midnight in a fast food joint on both occasions they seemed surprised I was alone (I live with my brother and father), is it odd amongst desi circles or something?
Be found alone in a different city is definitely odd. I never care about people's reactions if they find me alone, sometimes I do things alone that are meant to be done in a group and people express their surprise and even laugh at that.