Is it true that more Indians read Pakistani English web newspapers (especially DAWN) than Pakistanis? This was mentioned to me by a newspaper industry colleague. No data was given to prove.
Could this be true?
Is it true that more Indians read Pakistani English web newspapers (especially DAWN) than Pakistanis? This was mentioned to me by a newspaper industry colleague. No data was given to prove.
Could this be true?
Re: Is it true that more Indians read Pakistani English web newspapers than Pakistani
May be....
I am one of those indians who read internet editions of pakistani news papers....
But i also read iranian,turkish and israeli news papers like Todays zaman from turkey and Haartez from israel
Re: Is it true that more Indians read Pakistani English web newspapers than Pakistani
boht time hai ninja
Ji faraghat ki bulandion par hun............:D
P.S.faraghat sahi lafz haina?:D
Ji faraghat ki bulandion par hun............:D
P.S.faraghat sahi lafz haina?:D
to:
ai'sh baa-faraaGhat ke maze looT rahe haiN?
Ji...............Allah ka fazl hai.........:D
If this is the case, will Pakistani newspaper will be under pressure to make the web content more secular and not showcase content to offend Indian readers.
There are also many readers from US/UK and most of the web ads are catered to those.
Pakistan media is more secular and accommodating than Indian media. Look at the Pakistani TV channels, they show Indian content even that is against the cultural norms of Pakistan, while people in India don't know even know the names of our channels which are banned there.
^ ![]()
Pakistan media is more secular and accommodating than Indian media. Look at the Pakistani TV channels, they show Indian content even that is against the cultural norms of Pakistan, while people in India don't know even know the names of our channels which are banned there.
Not opposing your opinion, but in this sub continent secularism was always by need not by choice, therefore majority of people are pseudo secularist, one can ban Bollywood movies but then people will buy pirated ones:) even if channel are open, I hardly understand youtube videos because most of the keyword are in persianized urdu, while indian content is mostly Hindustani language.
Agree that there is demand of bollywood movies / content that is why Pakistani channels show such content, but believe me there was no demand of Star Plus in initial days, but people started watching long run soaps as the Indian channels were accesible to people.
I've a blurred memory that in early 90s (before advent of Dish / cable system) people put there antennas on higher places to get transmission of Door Darshan here in Pakistan. I still receive messages from Indian viewers on my youtube channel telling how they also tried to get PTV transmission for watching PTV dramas. Its well known that PTV dramas were shown in Indian movie academies. Raj Kapoor himself approached Haseena Moin to write script of 'Henna', where Pakistani Zeba Bakhtiyar played the lead. Haseena Moin's Dhoop Kinare was appreciated in India and later she wrote script of 'Tanha' for Star TV. Dhoop Kinare is recently adapted for Sony TV's show 'Kuch to log kahenge'. Besides that there are hundreds of songs which were copied on both sides of the border. There are movies which bollywood copied scene to scene from Pakistani movies. Even the latest hit ' Munni Badnam hui' is also inspired by 90's Pakistani song of Umer Sharif's movie.
The point of making this long list is that people from both the sides wants to watch each others production, but unfortunately in India, Pakistani content is not easily available as compared to Pakistan. :)
size of country matters when it comes to media. bollywood is a giant, pakistani drama scene, however good it might be, has no serious marketing or visibility into india in comparison.
from my personal experience, pakistani media goes all the way from very liberal and secular leaning (dawn, friday times) to joker-class (80-90% of news media). ironically, a lot of pakistanis are worried and convinced the liberal media is run by indians in proxy :D .
indian media is very immature and relies on bollywood-style sensationalism, lacks professionalism on 90% of its operations. even the print media has deteriorated in terms of formal vs. casual language etc. and the times of india website has been more a see pics of scantily clad women website for almost 10 yrs now.
and indians love reading pakistani news - the last 10 years, every week some drama or other happens in pakistani politics. i was hooked from musharraf's "ham cmaanDu hai hum nai dartey". indian news - very bland and mostly irritating. not very entertaining.
^ Musharaff was a joker... :D
Still he had his moment in the limelight and did a better job than the current bunch.
Your very honest and I agree with that post totaly.
Agree that bollywood got its share and demand in Pakistan, but the way I observed Pakistani media accommodated Indian content says a lot about the overall attitude of Pakistani society. We have observed that many Indian movies which are against Pakistani norms like Veer Zara, Ghadar ek Prem Katha and even J P Dattas Border and LOC Kargil shown on cable TV. I don't think any Pakistani movie revolving around such themes can see day light in India :)
that is true, heck.. shiv sena wants to dig up pitches even for friendly cricket matches, you show a pakistani movie that doesn't suit the norms of rightwingers of india, there'll be big political mileage extracted. -__-
for that matter even indian movies challenging social norms are not easily made. the relatively recent experience of the movie "aarakshan" is an example. everything is politicized.
If this is the case, will Pakistani newspaper will be under pressure to make the web content more secular and not showcase content to offend Indian readers.
There are also many readers from US/UK and most of the web ads are catered to those.
Having established the fact that bollywood got a big market in Pakistan, will you kindly let me know that bollywood movies are secular and don't show the stuff which offend Pakistani viewers?
Negative Views of India
Pakistani Public Opinion Ever More Critical of U.S. | Pew Global Attitudes Project
http://www.pewglobal.org/files/2012/06/PAKISTAN0028.png
Only 22% of Pakistanis have a favorable view of traditional rival India, although this is actually a slight improvement from 14% last year. Moreover, when asked which is the biggest threat to their country, India, the Taliban, or al Qaeda, 59% name India.
Pakistanis have consistently identified India as the top threat since the question was first asked in 2009. The percentage fearing India has increased by 11 points since then, while the percentage naming the Taliban has decreased by nine points.
Despite these negative sentiments, 62% of Pakistanis say it is important to improve relations with India. And roughly two-thirds support more bilateral trade and further talks to try to reduce tensions between the two nations.
Most Indians also want better relations, more trade, and further talks between the two nations. Still, Indian attitudes toward Pakistan remain largely negative. Roughly six-in-ten Indians (59%) express an unfavorable opinion of Pakistan, although this is down slightly from 65% in 2011.
India is not the only country, however, where negative views of Pakistan prevail. Majorities or pluralities give Pakistan a negative rating in six of the seven other countries where this question was asked, including China, Japan, and three predominantly Muslim nations – Egypt, Jordan and Tunisia.
I think, yes! express tribune and dawn news are examples of that, where one will find more indians commenting on articles, at times you feel you are on indian online news web:bummer:
Agree that bollywood got its share and demand in Pakistan, but the way I observed Pakistani media accommodated Indian content says a lot about the overall attitude of Pakistani society. We have observed that many Indian movies which are against Pakistani norms like Veer Zara, Ghadar ek Prem Katha and even J P Dattas Border and LOC Kargil shown on cable TV. I don't think any Pakistani movie revolving around such themes can see day light in India :)
that's correct, this just says it all about our attitude towards our neighbour, no offence, But I feel we are more tolerant and open minded when it comes to showing their content on our screens.
Bollywood is never correct in historiography nor they are professional, Indian are very nationalistic people to the level that they are blind in nationalism, even sports is seen from the prism of nationalism something that India created after years of indoctrination more out of need than out of sense.
that is true, heck.. shiv sena wants to dig up pitches even for friendly cricket matches, you show a pakistani movie that doesn't suit the norms of rightwingers of india, there'll be big political mileage extracted. -__-
for that matter even indian movies challenging social norms are not easily made. the relatively recent experience of the movie "aarakshan" is an example. everything is politicized.
Politics is way of life in India, and bollywood use politics to meet their end than vice versa. Movie makers use politics just to further their marketing agenda:), they don't have solution to the problem nor they are meant for it but they create unnecessary stir for money:(
Having established the fact that bollywood got a big market in Pakistan, will you kindly let me know that bollywood movies are secular and don't show the stuff which offend Pakistani viewers?
Yes they are secular, nearly half of big people in bollywood are muslims, pakistan is another country, movies are nationalistic but secular, bollywood is nation centric, pakistan for them is just another country.
that's correct, this just says it all about our attitude towards our neighbour, no offence, But I feel we are more tolerant and open minded when it comes to showing their content on our screens.
Because Indians don't consider pakistan as equal but rather a inferior thing, what would happen if pakistan is unhappy? answer is nothing hence there is no need to accommodate Pakistan and even think positively about it but creating negative thing about pakistan consolidates power of right winger, humans learn form mistake and society from experience, while some Indian have experience with best of Pakistani, Indian society is in no contacts with Pakistan because Indian society do not count pakistan as equal, not as an estranged brother but an inferior person:)