Is it really that important?

yea its very important..ur husband might starve to death, ur kids will be malnourished, ur inlaws might abandon you, ur parents will disown you and the world will come to an end
^ thats how mom n aunties make it sound

im never learning how to cook

OOh dear, I actually got a marriage proposal in this thread. So it WAS good for something :blush:

Thanks Faizy,
I’m definitely not going to be a walkover. These r just people who showed interest without even seeing me and than came up with this whole cooking business. Bass mujhe hairat hui and thought lemme see if guys really find it that important.

Suroor,
U lucky ducky!

Thanks pyaari83 :slight_smile: I know this is just the ‘start’ and I’ll probably come across all kinds of guys (and their mothers :stuck_out_tongue: )

Hiccy, ur never getting married :p

*Originally posted by ShiNoO: *
Bass mujhe hairat hui and thought lemme see if guys really find it that important.
being a guy i think we are REALLY disgusting .. and food is not our priority to begin with.. wo to baad main khiyal aata hay khaanay/ghar ka..

and no its not THAT either.. :-)

^ to phir kya?

:-) chalain chorain rahnay dain.. its best for the time to teach .. specially after marriage..

(jumping the gun is bad)

A guy once asked me "can you cook?" I was like "no, but I love to eat!" :D

*Originally posted by lastknightess: *
A guy once asked me "can you cook?" I was like "no, but I love to eat!" :D

guys can tell that just by looking at me :D :p

*Originally posted by faizy: *
:-) chalain chorain rahnay dain.. its best for the time to teach .. specially after marriage..

(jumping the gun is bad)

so what is important faizy bhai? :p

Is it that big a deal if someone asks whether or not you can cook desi foods? Maybe he guy loves food. Maybe he can't cook and needs a wife that can.

Should guys be as offended if they are asked whether or not they can support a wife?

^ No! And why would they be getting married if they can't support their wives?

Re: Is it really that important?

LOL

I didnt know it was that common.

We had a pretty good looking guy came over to our house with his brother and his Mrs. and his sister… well, we were enjoying the conversation when suddenly his “bhabhi” said “To apko kya kya banana ata hai.” I was like, “Kuch nahi.” She looked amused and said, “Kuch nahi?” I was like, “Oh haan, Mujhe anda boil karna ata hai.” And she burrrrrst into laughter and everyone else too. I wondered why she asked me that.

Then there was another pretty pathetic family. The brother came along with his mother to “discuss” his brother’s “marriage”. Hmmmmm… most part of his conversation was… “COOKING COOKING and only COOKING!!!”… Now I cant describe how he made it a point to make it clear that this was something they REQUIRED me to do. I got so fed up, sick and PISSED OFF in the end that I just left without saying a word to go to my room. After waiting for sometime, they got ready to leave. My mom came asking me to say “Bye.” I told her to tell them to leave as soon as they can and never to look back. The brother wasnt in town so they contacted us again when he was in town. I told momto tell them to kindly go find a COOK as Im not ready or willing to be one.

IDIOTS!!!

They pissed me off so much that even now when I think about it, I feel like smashing that guy’s jaw who was talking too much… probably looking to get a cook for free instead of a wife for his brother!!! I was quiet cz of his mother and my mother who were two decent ladies present at the scene or I would have done it :devil: :devil: :devil:

:biggthumb

*Originally posted by Sara516: *

guys can tell that just by looking at me :D :p

Ohh same here! high fives Sara :D

:roman: ahhhhhannnnnnnnnnn

Lets just say that a finger lickin good dish intensifies my feelings.

I don’t think it’s that important. I’m surprised it’s actually being asked. Then again, perhaps I’m used to being asked more absurd and ridiculous questions. I wouldn’t be offended by the cooking question. Anyway, I can’t cook. :blush:

hahahahahaha - funny thread.

i dont understand what the fuss is all bout? why do some girls find it so offensive??? it doesnt mean the person askin such a question doesnt care how clever u are or what talents u have etc…

maybe the guy is big on food… would it be any different if it were ure bf askin u taht q? wouldnt u want to learn how to cook if u knew ure bf loved food.. then how does it suddenly become so offensive and weird if a rishta asks u the very same question??? just cuz its an arranged thing and not love???

if the mother asks me if i know how to cook.. i wont take it as a blow to my ego or think “oh she’s such a narrowminded person.. cooking.. bah… who cares bout cooking” :rolleyes: most ppl dotn let a decent and good rista go by just cuz the girl didnt know how to cook… its not the question that makes or breaks the deal… so why take so much offense to it? .. ofcourse, it becomes an issue if u dont even WANNA learn how to cook… then yes.. a person with such thinknig will indeed find teh question quite rude, narrow minded and soo backward.. :slight_smile:

New Wannabe,
There appears to be a great deal of frustration in your post. It is obvious that you have been upset when faced with this cooking question....but can you explain why you have been so angered?