Is it really that important?

These days everyone around me (especially my mother!) is trying to get me married off. I swear to god it’s some kind of obsession for them.
So the latest story is that one of my khala’s friends in England is looking ofr a rishta for her brother and obviously my khala thought of me (tadaaaa, khala is in the complot aswell!). They know nothing about me and have never seen my picture but the first thing her friend wanted to know was: “Can she cook?”
I mean really, is it that important?
And with cooking they obviously mean pakistani khaane.

Meri to shaamat ayee, pakaa to acha khaasa leti hoon but I don’t like desi cooking. I’m more into trying new things (mainly european/oreintal stuff)

In some weird way this is really pissing me off :-/
Can someone fill me in? What else is ‘important’ these days?

Varies from person to person. I am a person who love desi food but I wont base my decision on such minor issues if one can cook desi food or not.

*Originally posted by ShiNoO: *
What else is 'important' these days?

Brains. A working one.

A personality helps too.

^ Very progressive men, indeed.

^^

i beg to differ....
all women need are a serious lack of opinion, ability to stand up for yourself, take watever crap comes at you, to be a freakin pakistani aishwarya.
at least that's what most families desire. of course there's exceptions, and I"M NOT HATING ON MEN!!!

Hahaha, Sara, don't make this a male bashing thread. Already too many of those :-p

I know there are all kinds of people and we all look for differen 'things'. Bas mujhe kaafi hairat hui yeh sunn karr ke the 1st thing they wanted to know about me was if I could cook ..

By the way, I am of marriage age but my parents don't really push me. Oh wait, I am a man. Sorry I had forgotten that only women deal with these problems :p

Hahaha, Sara, don't make this a male bashing thread. Already too many of those :-p

I know there are all kinds of people and we all look for differen 'things'. Bas mujhe kaafi hairat hui yeh sunn karr ke the 1st thing they wanted to know about me was if I could cook ..

did u not read the end of my post????

*Originally posted by fallenpieta: *
By the way, I am off marriage age but my parents don't really push me. Oh wait, I am a man. Sorry I had forgotten that only women deal with these problems :p

u dont want to get married anymore?

I still tell my mum that I can perfectly well find someone on my own (someone who doesnt fuss about his food :p ) but I get a "in how many years?" reply from her.

I hate this whole rishta procedure in our culture :-(

*Originally posted by Sara516: *

did u not read the end of my post????

Sara relax. I did read the last part of ur post hence the ':-p'

hehe okay

Re: Is it really that important?

These days everyone around me (especially my mother!) is trying to get me married off. I swear to god it's some kind of obsession for them.
So the latest story is that one of my khala's friends in England is looking ofr a rishta for her brother and obviously my khala thought of me (tadaaaa, khala is in the complot aswell!). They know nothing about me and have never seen my picture but the first thing her friend wanted to know was: "Can she cook?"
I mean really, is it that important?
And with cooking they obviously mean pakistani khaane.

Meri to shaamat ayee, pakaa to acha khaasa leti hoon but I don't like desi cooking. I'm more into trying new things (mainly european/oreintal stuff)

In some weird way this is really pissing me off :-/
Can someone fill me in? What else is 'important' these days?

well i dunno how i would feel if someone asked that about me. I mean i can cook, but not desi stuff though, but i want to learn, eventually, coz i like pakistani food :)

One more thing:
My sister didn't know her namak from her haldi but her in-laws didn't care. People making demands of women, cooking, cleaning, doing this and doing that, all of it is so ummmmm blaaaaaaah. And she still isn't the greatest cook but the important thing is that her husband also doesn't care. I, aswell, did not make such demands when my parents asked me what kind of a woman I wanted.

I didn't really care what my family, outside of the parents and sister circle, thought about my sister not being able to cook and I suggest you don't pay them any attention either.

*Originally posted by fallenpieta: *
One more thing:
My sister didn't know her namak from her haldi but her in-laws didn't care. People making demands of women, cooking, cleaning, doing this and doing that, all of it is so ummmmm blaaaaaaah. And she still isn't the greatest cook but the important thing is that her husband also doesn't care. I, aswell, did not make such demands when my parents asked me what kind of a woman I wanted.

I didn't really care what my family, outside of the parents and sister circle, thought about my sister not being able to cook and I suggest you don't pay them any attention either.

good for you
I personally love to cook , and wud love tocook for my husband, my family and my inlaws and all.
but i can't clean for isht. i'm so messhy and shooooo lazhy...:(

i dunno, for guys its not that important (guys = larka:p) but their dads, moms, khalaz (bwahhhh**:mad:**) for some reason, ‘namazi parhaizgar, jannati baby, aur SUGHAR

i doubt if i am speaking on behalf of all guys shinoo, but from the ‘ancestors’ level, its much more overrated..

let me tell u something nasty about guys.. we get bored from food okiez.. we find excuses NOT to eat at home, NOT to have food from mom, wife and sisters.. (believe me) .. u show me a guy .. in his early 30s who CONSTANTLY wants to eat at home and DOENST Like outside food, and i will show u a hypocrite :slight_smile:

believe me, u gotta step up and be rebellious.. cuz opposite to that, u cant possibly just GIVEUP on everything u believe and silently live the life, that OTHERS want for u

:slight_smile: my $0.02 was that u marry me:blush: i only like home food 6 days, for 7th i GOTTA have outside food ..

(hope u know what i am trying to say.. guys side, doesnt matter, ancestors side, first thing)

ofcourse its not important!

i dont know much about kitchen work.. thora bohut.. and i absolutely cant cook (ik do dafa bananay ki koshish ki thi to kuch aur ban gaya tha..hehe.).. desi or non desi :D yeh bhi nahien k bilkul nahien ata.. i know how things are made but i am out of practice to hamesha garbar hojati hai. fortunately, my husband loves to cook, for him whether or not i cook is so not a big issue.
it really depends on what kind of person ur significant other is. personality and understanding is more important than these lil things.

^ as i said, that 'priority' of cooking isnt really coming from the 'larka' but the ancestor-level.. buzurgwaar group

Shinoo- I know people who have been through the samething u have and all I have to say is that when its time for you to get married things will happen so fast you won't even know it. And the only thing that will matter is that your happy. The ristha process is really hard because there are so many people you meet with so many demands. When you find Mr. Right everything will fall in place. Just don't worry about what people have to say I am sure you have many other wonderful qualities to make your saas (mother-in-law) happy.

If a girl doesn't know how to cook, no biggie. Everybody learns.

But if the girl has got the why-should-I-need-to-know-how-to-cook attitude, then good luck!