Re: Is it okay if you give ur child a english name: though u are a muslim/pakistiani?
Wow i cant beleive this thread is going to the tops.... :P I just created this 2 days ago and wow!
Re: Is it okay if you give ur child a english name: though u are a muslim/pakistiani?
Wow i cant beleive this thread is going to the tops.... :P I just created this 2 days ago and wow!
Is it okay if you give ur child a english name: though u are a muslim/pakistiani?
Yes, if you don't have any problem with being recognized as a Pakistani Christian.
If you are brown and you've got an english name like Peter, Martha, Monica, Henry etc etc then people gonna think you're a Paki or indi Christian.
Self fulfilling prophecy. Continue the cultural tradition of using Arabic names for "Islamic" names and that's how you will be known.
Self fulfilling prophecy.
No, that is how it works in Pakistan.
Continue the cultural tradition of using Arabic names for "Islamic" names and that's how you will be known.
Of course.:)
yeah you wanna be just another Annie or peter or jim go ahead... hpefully most desis/Muslims won't be so self-hating that they adopt "gora" names.
so Rose is a no, no?
^^ well ya can use Gulabmarina instead :) see you got choice here !
so Rose is a no, no?
Gullaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabo.:D
yeah you wanna be just another Annie or peter or jim go ahead... hpefully most desis/Muslims won't be so self-hating that they adopt "gora" names.
but there is no issue with desis adopting "arbay" names? or afghan names, or persian names?
^^ well ya can use Gulabmarina instead :) see you got choice here !
is marina a desi name?
but there is no issue with desis adopting "arbay" names? or afghan names, or persian names?
Zing!
is marina a desi name?
we r in making , remember marina khan :) couple of days ago some one was tellin me that he bought a space in some marina project near clifton !
so we gona be there soon ! just hold it , will ya :)
If you mean Muslim desis of the subcontinent, then I sure as heck won't name my kids Ram, Krishan, Gopal e.t.c....
One guy I know dug up the name 'Mashaail' for his daughter but somehow through some cross linguistic wrangling of Arabic and Persian the name means a collection of 'Mashals' or torches...
But the guy was ecstatic that the name resembles 'Michelle'...
I guess it all comes down to whom you wish to be most associated with...
islam is a religion beyond race, language, continent and nationality, so I dont see an issue what name one picks as long as the name is not attributed to some diety
so what was so different with persians and turks hpw come they kept the names that were their traditional names, yes they also adopted arabic names but they did not give up on their cultural names.
so if which cukture a name belongs to is not an issue, then the whole argument is moot.
No because if they adopt Afghani or persian names, that means they want something unique and different, to stand out from the typical desi names..they'll still be different than western names.... its different when that gora is a muslim convert and they keep their old name and give their children similar names, i'm referring to desis giving gora names to their kids (and changing their own) just to "fit in" and are afraid of standing out and being made fun of
Although I don’t agree with you, I do like hte name Alexander.. I have a name in mind, I don’t care where it comes from (though I’ve known Muslims with that name), I just hope I get to name him/her ![]()
Alot of people believe that if they name their children after the Prophet, his family and his companions, it will bring some kind of barakat to the kids.
What I say to those people, is what my Grandmother used to say alot,
"woh Mohammed aur tha, yeh Mohammed chorr hai!"
How about naming the kid "Sky"?
No because if they adopt Afghani or persian names, that means they want something unique and different, to stand out from the typical desi names..they'll still be different than western names.... its different when that gora is a muslim convert and they keep their old name and give their children similar names, i'm referring to desis giving gora names to their kids (and changing their own) just to "fit in" and are afraid of standing out and being made fun of
they are just as non-persian and non-tyurk as they are non-brit so what is the real difference in naming your kind hooman or orhan versus gabriel.
Chinese muslims, and Allah bless all millions of them, call their kids by Chinese names. I see no uproar about that here?