Is it Mothers OR Kids??

For a last couple of years, I have been hearing this sentence when kids are being so naughty.. “AAJ KAL KE BACCHAY BHI NAA”!!
When I try to give my opinion on how to bring them up.. I am said to be quiet in a funny way because according to them.. Pehle Mama ban jao phir pata chalega!

Now, here! I personally don’t believe kids can be naughty at extreme unless you allow them! I believe this is a mother who can teach her child the goods and the bads and bring him/her up as not an ill-mannered kid.

Am I right? or they are right?

Are the kids, borne naughty? Can’t a mother or even father bring him up as the way she wants? are these the lame excuses (aajkal ka bacchhay) when parents fail to teach their child some manners?

(I have used MOTHERS most of the times, not because specifying them, but because I have been in discussion over this issue/ topic with mothers only! rest, I know that mother and father both should play their roles accordingly towards their kid).

Re: Is it Mothers OR Kids??

I've seen this a lot around as well. I dont know who to blame to be honest.

One thing is for sure, I have seen karma hitting back hardly on those women who used to talk "big" about how others kids were not upto their standard, later on the same mothers have problems raising their children. I'm not talking about you OP, but what I've seen around me happening lately. So therefor, its hard to say who to blame.... Maybe new mothers just learn by seeing the mothers around and therefor the circle of "aaj kaal ke bache" goes around?!

It's the kids. Parents can make the kids a little better and guide them but if the kid is bad, what can you do

You sound like me before I had kids, I always said if my kid did that I'd do this and that...
now that I'm a mom of two there have been plenty of times when my kids have gotten the best of me.
I'd say 90% of the time they behave but there is that 10% when they are just tired or hungry or miss being home - whatever the case they are misbehaving.

In all honestly - I agree Mama banai kai ba'd I have a completely new understanding of the situation and am not to quick to judge other peoples parenting.

That being said - you dont just use this excuse to have little monsters running around. As a parent you do have to teach them manners and be persistant. What annoys me not the mom who say aaj kaal key bachai but rather the moms who don't attempt to correct the bad behavior.

I had a girl at my house who was jumping on my ottoman - my mom stopped her saying that she'll hurt herself and her mother responded that "isko chaut nahee lagthi"

I think mothers can make kids better but after some age when they can learn

My baby is 1 year n she is 1 naughty who is right now jumping on my tummy n I yes I m the one who says aj kal k bachay sakoon tu hay he Nhi na

But still i m waiting at least 1 more year whn I have 2 strict n make her realize some manners instead of saying aj kal k bavhay

It totally depends on parents how they bring up their hild at young age u can't do anything but if a child is above 5 n still parents r saying thn blame is on them

Wht I hate when mothers make excuse I Suntay he Nhi Han mei kya karu oh u have to make them hear plzzzzzz

N ofcourse the most important thing I m seeing here is both parents r working n children r totally under maid's supervision n ofcourse they r least bothered about these things so when certain age goes ofcourse children becom dheet thn no mar dant Asr them n yes they don't listen thn instead of saying bAchay Suntay Nhi parents should be blamed bc they didn't paid attention when it was required

This!! The bold one! I can’t bear this happening around me!

You seem over annoyed :cb:

Regardless of what the age of the kid is I HATE mothers who think going over to someone's place means they are not responsible for their kid. I have had a lot of such women come over for dinner who don't care what their kid is doing. Won't clean up the mess their kid made at the table or in the bathroom.

And if you happen to say something indirectly to them, then they start with the taaney baazi of abhee toh tumhara hai naheen or abhee toh tumhara bahot chota hai barey ho kar sabh aisey ho jaatey hain...

Kids of today are sharper than kids of yesteryears but it is our job as parents to raise them well. My kid is only 20 months old but I watch him like a hawk when he is around other kids or at other ppl's homes. Instead of apologizing later I should watch what he is doing and even if I can't scold him I can divert his attention or keep things out of his reach so he doesn't break things. This is how kids learn.

yes automone this is wht i was trying to say to make a simple excuse tht they dont listen is not correct u have to make them listen so its parents duty my baby is 1 year but still i make sure she behaves well i know she understand wht i m trying to say

i have seen parents who r not ready to make an effort i have seen such ladies i have an experience n indirectly i told mother ur baby is gng there plz dehkay chot na lag jai n she was beta na karo wthout even looking at the kid :smack: n thn again strt gupshup

so who to blame kids or mothers?

after reading these, I m like, “oh, so I am not the only one who is suffering this” you two are very VERY true.. I see the same things around! specially mother saying to a kid without seeing him, “beta mat karo” literally this happens a lot!

it's a lame excuse.

But having said that IMO children are born with personalities. Some more aggressive or hyper than others.

hm!

well before motherhood u can say a lot of things and be idealist but in actuality kids don't have remote controls. they do things no matter how much u discipline them. my kids r very very naughty. the min i'm out of sight they do something. painting on walls, hair cuts, spills in tv room, climbing stair cases etc. my friend who was planning to visit me with her 2 yrs old recently asked me if we have a child gate for stairs n i told her my daughters(7 n 3) don't use stairs, simply the stair case and she got frightened. lol. my 3 yrs old recently gave her a hair cut , even though the scissors r way high in the medicine cabinet. she can still climb up.
but yes we try to minimize their misbehaviour. so mostly ppl say they r well behaved but at home not so much.

yes kids can give u hard time,but being a parent one has to be cool ,plam and collected .....my mothersaysif kids wont do such things then wht will be the diffrence bw elders and kids....and my son's teacher says if a child is not naughty then he or she is not normal..:)
but we have to guide them,teach them since early childhood by not only telling them but also playing an example for them by urself....if ur not doing the rite behaviour in ur house then don expect ur kids to do so....

i cant leave my kids on their own jus for a minute or so,otherwise they will do something naughty....:)

lol :cb:

i agree wth u but being naughty n illmannered r too different things

right!

yeah being illmannered is different,that's why i wrote we have guide them and play a good example infront of them,becoz kids learn wen they see somthing,those kids who are ill manered there's alwayz a reason behind it....i used to watch super nanny before i even had kids,the kids they used to show were affected directly or indirectly by the behaviour/ignorance of their parents..and resulted in bad behaviour or throughing tantrums...

yeah this is wht i m obeserving which i mentioned before also both parents working n kids r totally on nanny who r least bothered about these stuff

my 16 monht old is soooo naughty, i tell her off, but she doesnt get it/listen at all..otherwise shes a chalako maasi, but when i tell heroff, she tells me off right back...nothing scares her. at. all. shes a proper little bully. my friends daughter is 4 and she came over the other day, and wanted to play on my daughters kids laptop, my daughter pushed her back, grabbed the laptop and hit her on the arm, and didnt let any kids touch her toys....if someone did touch her toy she woiuld cry hysterically....

haiiii, aaj kal key bachey....

^^ I hope you did take the laptop away from her. Kids become bully when you provide them with such opportunities. Sometimes, it is okay to let them cry.

With little kids saying stop all the time doesn't help but sitting with them and showing them what it looks like makes a lot of difference.