is it incest?

First of all if you believe that cousin marriages are disgusting, then go read the Quran provided, of course, that you’re Muslim. Islam clearly allows cousin marriages, so who are we to say whether it’s disgusting or not?

I understnad if you personally wouldn’t marry your cousin, but it should be for the “right” reasons, like letzuchat says, that you feel more brotherly/sisterly towards them and nothing else, not because you think its disgusting and that your kids will be retarded.

With that, I will say proudly that I’ll marry a cousin.

Just not my own :hehe:

i see :rolleyes:

*Originally posted by Mamaof3: *
As a gora myself, I can answer this. Yes, cousin-marrying is completely out-of-bounds. Except in the back-woods areas and here you will find genetic mutations and infertility abounds. Cousin marrying is extremely bad for the "genetic pool", just talk to any animal breeder. Or look at the Hasidic Jews. There are few of them and they can only marry hasidim and its been this way for so many generations that they either cannot produce anymore or they produce genetically damaged children. The gene pool cant handle inbreeding and thats a fact jack.

Yeah then please explain why you have so much in-breeding in Utah, West Virginia, Kentucky and Tennesse. BTW Italian are gora's too (last I checked) and they have no problem with cousin marriages.

ok fine, it makes retarded babies, but why 'ban' it?
disallowing cousin-marriages can have political reasons. its the ultimate way to disallow tribal and blood-based communities and loyalties to develop which are a threat to 'national' development.

When offspring is produced of two blood relatives, it has a negative effect on the gene pool of the offspring. Yes, in America there is cousin marrying in certain backwoods areas and in Utah - and here you will find many mentally deficient children, deformities,learning disabilities and children who turn out to be infertile. I think I mentioned before the Hasidic community which is so small with so many, many generations of inbreeding that infertility is rampant. There was a study done and yes, the risk of detectable genetic problems is not as great as once thought but that study has nothing to do with weakening the gene pool and causing the types of problems I just mentioned. Animal breeders will not inbreed for this reason. If you fall in love with a cousin and decide to marry, a genetic counselor should be seen and it should be determined how much inbreeding has gone on in your family. The more inbreeding, the greater the risks.

*Originally posted by Mamaof3: *
When offspring is produced of two blood relatives, it has a negative effect on the gene pool of the offspring. Yes, in America there is cousin marrying in certain backwoods areas and in Utah - and here you will find many mentally deficient children, deformities,learning disabilities and children who turn out to be infertile.

These things exist in every society - here in the UK, you see lots of people with disabilities even though cousin marriages are rare among the indigenous people.

Infertility clinics cannot cope with the demand in the UK as so many people are infertile - you have to wait 4 years in total before they will even consider NHS treatment. Trust me, these people are not cousins who married.

^ she just needs to read the links u provided

ditto

her in aussie land i see more disabled ppl than ive seen in pakistan.. how come then :konfused:

i dont think that cousin marriges are related to disabilities :rolleyes:

Technically, there is a scientific risk when marrying a cousin, but it is so small as to be practically negligable.

Gross problems are only likely to result from many, many, many consecutive generations marrying into their cousins.

On the other hand, if, say, your family has a history of diabetes, and you marry a first cousin, you're statistically more likley to have a child who will later develop diabetes than if you marry someone from another family without a diabetic history.

What you're NOT likely to have, through a cousin marriage, is a child with 6 toes :D

there is alot of cousin-marrying in our family.
my naani and daadi are sisters and naana and daada are brothers - all their children have married each other.

my mamu married my puppoh, my khala married my chachu, my mum & dad are also first cousins...

one of my cousins is 'abnormal' this is to say - she is mentally more alert than any of us, understands every human emotion from love to jealousy, to anger.. she has very poor eyesight and cannot speak. Doctors have said it is coz my puppoh & mamu are cousins.

Who knows.

I myself worked in a special needs school and yes there were lots of asians but also a helluva lot of gora with (allah maaf karay) worse special needs than some of the asians. their parents werent cousins - so whose to say what?

As for illnesses being passed onto the next generation - this is very true... as we marry out of the family - we are diluting the 'illness' out - same as if we marry in the family then we are multiplying our chances in...
It takes an illness 7 generations of marrying OUT of the family to significantly reduce risks of passing them onto you future generations.

I am indeed marrying a cousin.. When inshallah I do become pregnant _ I can say I will have my fears about the 'normality' of my child.

Subhallah - thanks for sharing Mem Saab.

May Allah help you and the rest of us - Ameen.

thanx :)

mem saab .. cudnt agree more :k:

Cousins that marry make forrest gump babies. ewwwww :eek:

^ Don't blame your parents for your problems :p

marrying cousins is haram in our family Sahar. it ust sounds sooooooo odd. bachpan pey khel rahay ho saath saath bhai behen ki tarah ..aur phir romeo juliet ki tarah.. eek:

^ lol. Live and let live, my dear.

chalo jiyo…with or wihtout four feet. :k:

MATSUI,

dont be nasty :nono:

as for those cousins who were brought up pretty much together or in one household then it probably feels weird.. but alot of families grow up apart so when they meet their cousins - sparks can fly :slight_smile:
we can all go round looking for love but sometimes its right under our nose!

Source:http://bmj.bmjjournals.com/cgi/content/full/308/6929/659

Infant death and consanguineous marriage
EDITOR, - Perinatal mortality and infant mortality are important indicators of community health **Consanguineous marriage increases the risk of having children with autosomal recessive disorders and may be a cause of perinatal and infant death that cannot be prevented.**1,2 We recently compared perinatal and infant mortality in children with a Norwegian background and children with a Pakistani background.3
Perinatal mortality in the Pakistani children was 1.5 times higher than that in the Norwegian children, and infant mortality in the Pakistani children was more than double that in the Norwegian children. **Deaths due to autosomal recessive disorders were 18 times more common in the Pakistani children Similarly, deaths due to multiple malformations, which may be part of unrecognised autosomal recessive syndromes, were 10 times more common. **

Perinantal mortality (stillbirths and deaths at age 0-7 days)
and infant mortality (deaths within first year of life) 1000
children born in Oslo 1983-9

Excluding children who
                                      died of inherited
                                        disorders or
               All Children             malformations
        ------------------------------------------------------
         Norwegian   Pakistani   Norwegian    Pakistani

Perinatal
mortality 6.5 9.8 5.4 5.5
Infant
mortality 6.2 14.9** 4.3 5.1

*P<0.05, **P<0.000001.

When children who had died of disorders with monogenic inheritance or of congenital malformations were excluded from our series the difference in perinatal mortality between the two groups disappeared and the difference in infant mortality was greatly reduced. The similar perinatal mortality in the two groups may reflect equivalent prenatal and perinatal care in the Pakistani and Norwegian families.

Consanguinity in immigrant populations has great social and cultural advantages but health workers must be well educated about the risks associated with consanguineous marriage. An increase in the rate of consanguineous marriage in immigrant populations has been reported.4 This may lead to an increase in perinatal and infant mortality, which may outweigh the effect of improving prenatal and perinatal care.

K H Orstavik, R Lindemann, J Steen

Ulleval University Hospital, Oslo, Norway.

There is another study done in UK which proved the statistics that the 25% retarded children belong to British Muslim community whereas they do not constitue that percentage of the population. I will post it as soon as find it.