Is It Haram If It Is related To Any Non-Islamic Rituals?

:salam2:

I heard that some International games which organized/played after some years were actually are some non-muslims rituals and celebration/participation in such activites are haram. Same as celebration of some yearly basis games and/or International day(s) which in History, are rituals of non-muslims also considered as ‘Haram’.

Please discuss:

1- Names of such games i.e. Olympic game organized after 4 yrs and originally its related to some rituals of ‘Greece’.
2- International Day i.e. ‘Celebration of Labour Day’.
3- Any other game/day etc.

Re: Is It Haram If It Is related To Any Non-Islamic Rituals?

why would olympics be haram? ur not doing sheerk.. and playing games is not haram. non of this goes against the Quran... if u have to wear revealing clothes to participate then i guess its haram. other wise it shouldn't be a problem.

Peace abassi,

That what I would like to know if it is haram, than why? Is this bcoz of some rituals of non-muslims on that specific day/event?

absolutely right.

Yes , whoever will participate in those games , their legs will be in hell fire on the day of judgement. :@:

Peace,

Please read the hadith below carefully.

**Book ‘Oaths and Vows (Kitab Al-Aiman Wa Al-Nudhur)’ of Sunan Abu-Dawud Hadith No. 3307
Narrated Thabit ibn ad-Dahhak: In the time of the Prophet :saw2: a man took a vow to slaughter a camel at Buwanah. So he came to the Prophet :saw2: and said: I have taken a vow to sacrifice a camel at Buwanah. The Prophet :saw2: asked: Did the place contain any idol worshipped in pre-Islamic times? They (the people) said: No. He asked: Was any pre-Islamic festival observed there? They replied: No. The Prophet :saw2: said: Fulfil your vow, for a vow to do an act of disobedience to Allah must not be fulfilled, neither must one do something over which a human being has no control.

Now, I heard that Olympics is just to cover-up original ritual of Greek god Zeus performed by the pagans later on obsreved by ‘Rome’ and then by the ‘Christian’. The ritual held every after 4 years. Considering the above hadith, participation/celebration of such events which have religious history are probhibited/called haram?

How come olympics become religious ritual for non-muslim? I heard they hold flambeau and run in circle of that city to complete their religious ritual and till today, in olympics such flambeau is used.

Now any1 would like to discuss it. :slight_smile:

Yes. Mere masjid ke molana keh rahay thay ke the lightning of Olympic torch signifies the worship of fire.

Toba toba ..

i don't know ...but my common sense tells me that........since it is not considered a religious event nowadays.......and if no other islamic princples are being violated.......it should be legitimate...lets see if someone with proper qualifications can shed some light.

Peace Nomica,

There is no argument about how it considered nowadays. The actual thing is to look at it base whether it was any religious event or not. If it is related to any religious event then the hadith prohibited us to join such event.

With the help of this hadees and your logic you can also deduce that all those nikahs are invalid in which mehndi and mayoon ceremonies were part of wedding celebration.
Islam says "innamal amalo bin nayat"
Today's Olympics are hardly held in Rome and that particular arena where pagans originally held their games. Now a days these games are held to bring the nations of the world together . Zeus is never mentioned . None of the people who participate have any alliance , sympathy and allegiance with Zeus.

Peace Mirch Bhai,

The main point is about the 'reality of that place/day' if there any idol worshipped in pre-Islamic times or was any pre-Islamic festival observed? btw how many of us know the reality of 'mayoon'? where does it come from and how and why it observed by muslims?

In post # 1 I already asked to mention such events observed on a specific day.

Pagans and Kuffar also used to do Tawaaf of Kaaba…now are you going to say not to do that based on this hadith??? :konfused:

Peace NomiCA,

First of all I don’t have any authority to say any1 not to this or that. If you read the title of the thread and post #3, i also would like to know if prohibited, then why? Although what I know i pass it with you guyz hoping that you guyz will correct me.

btw you raised a very logical point. I agree in past idols were worshipped in Ka’aba, but when Islam reached, all idols were cleared from there and now its become a center point of all Muslims. Its mean no longer any religious ritual related to any non-muslim is performed there.

The religious ritual behind olympic is purely related to non-muslims as they repeat it in rememberance of their god Zeus of whatsoever reason and so far no changes were made in it like the Ka’aba were cleaned from idols and no worship other than Almighty Allah will be worshipped there.

I think the hadith clearly indicating to those religious rituals of non-muslims which is celebrated/held till today.

this is the problem with us muslims, we focus on small petty things like the topic of this thread. use ur common sense. competing in a sports event is not against Quran. now lets concentrate on bigger issues. us muslims commint bigger sins everyday, and nobody questions them. even walking by ignoring a crime is a sin. which i am sure every pakistansi do everyday. so stop whinning about the olympics and try to fix a bigger problem. thank u.

So I'm going to hell for playing basketball and using my laptop because they are both shirk :(. Maza sirf Allah (swt) say aata hai aur main sirf Qur'aan aur Sahih Bukhari/Al-Kafi parh sakta hoon. Iss forum pay mera aana bhi haram hai.

Peace,

You both missin the main point of discussion. It is not about any game or sports but actually about that specific day/event which were held in history and till today its a part of non-muslim rituals and they still do/worship.

Ok so the FIFA World Cup must have some shirk associated with it then? I’m sure the people of Greece don’t actually believe in the mythology that was in their past anymore :smack:

Peace Jafri,

Now where from this FiFA game came into this? Well, I think you have seen/heard a man runs in a circule with a fire-torch and reach at highest point then by using his fire-torch, he lights a bigger fire then the olympic is started.

What is the history of lightining the toch? Why they do so? That what I would like to know why its considered haram?

Wrong line of questioning and example.

Tawaf was performed by the Prophet himself. So why even question it being acceptable or not?

And google comes handy…:slight_smile:

http://www.infoplease.com/sports/olympics/history-olympic-torch.html

History: Flame and torch.

The ancient Greeks believed that fire was given to humankind by Prometheus, and considered fire to have sacred qualities. Mirrors were used to focus the sun’s rays to ignite flames that would burn perpetually in front of Greek temples. Greek rituals also included torch relays, although this was not actually part of the Olympic Games.

The Olympic flame today.

Today, the Olympic flame is lit in front of the ruins of the Temple of Hera in Olympia, Greece. The flame emphasizes the connection between the ancient games and the modern ones. In the past, a high priestess of the Temple of Hera would light the flame using a skaphia, the ancestor of parabolic mirrors.

Read more: History of the Olympic Torch, Flame, and Relay — Infoplease.com http://www.infoplease.com/sports/olympics/history-olympic-torch.html#ixzz1XZTGu8u3

Premise of the OP is that…the act which was a religious ritual/practice of the kuffar in pre-islamic times (i.e before the coming of the Prophet or Islam in its final form) is haram…

and i just said that…the kuffar did used to do tawaaf at teh kaaba and worship their, considered it holy etc…

anyaways…i don’t want to get into too much of an argument…since my posts keep getting moved…:hehe: