Re: …is it fair???
Oye bachay everyone has a different pov don’t bash him
warna war na start hojai yahan ![]()
Oye bachay everyone has a different pov don’t bash him
warna war na start hojai yahan ![]()
u didn’t give any exact amount? So not only that u showed off but u lied too. LOL
just tryin to make a point. glad it came across
Whatever thats supposed to mean. I will laugh tomorrow.
ASif she was saying that to me ![]()
I know. I was just trying to figure what it meant
Re: ....is it fair???
Citrine, I can totally understand where you are coming from. My wedding outfit was beautiful and expensive but I wore it once at someone else's wedding and had another friend wear it for hers as she was a non desi marrying a desi but didn't want to spend on a new outfit.
If I have the money, I would love for my daughters to wear beautiful wedding clothes and jewelry if we can afford it.
The point I think you are trying to make is why spend on the dress instead of elsewhere where the value is greater than the cost. I guess we humans do get carried away. Some people can totally afford it and I guess it is OK but there are many families who stress over planning weddings and take karza in order to "fit in" thanks to the pressures of society. Now that's where I have the problem. I say do what is within your reach.
u didn't give any exact amount? So not only that u showed off but u lied too. LOL
just tryin to make a point. glad it came across
omg how did i lie? i said more than a thousand..so hw is it an exact amount nw??
I know. I was just trying to figure what it meant
That's short for Maa KI Dua (MKD) :)
omg how did i lie? i said more than a thousand..so hw is it an exact amount nw??
chill. I am just playin with ya. I didn't read the "more than" part by the way.
Citrine, I can totally understand where you are coming from. My wedding outfit was beautiful and expensive but I wore it once at someone else's wedding and had another friend wear it for hers as she was a non desi marrying a desi but didn't want to spend on a new outfit.
If I have the money, I would love for my daughters to wear beautiful wedding clothes and jewelry if we can afford it.
The point I think you are trying to make is why spend on the dress instead of elsewhere where the value is greater than the cost. I guess we humans do get carried away. Some people can totally afford it and I guess it is OK but there are many families who stress over planning weddings and take karza in order to "fit in" thanks to the pressures of society. Now that's where I have the problem. I say do what is within your reach.
yea nikki apa:biggthumb
chill. I am just playin with ya. I didn't read the "more than" part by the way.
buri baat:o
"Some people can totally afford it and I guess it is OK but there are many families who stress over planning weddings and take karza in order to "fit in" thanks to the pressures of society. Now that's where I have the problem. I say do what is within your reach."
But Niki it is easy said than done.when people start spending these outrageous amout then it becomes the problems for others who can not afford it ..who have three or four daughters to wed. The society pressure comes from norms developing in the society.It promotos class difference, unrest and kind of inferiority complex for those who can not afford to adapt or in this case did not wear or afford to wear a designer bridal dress. To reduce this kind of pressure our govt started the one dish weddings policy( the only wise thing ever done by these morons). why not take along every one and not left them behind struggling to "fit in". My 2cents really.
my inlaws bought me a dress for valima for 400 pounds....i didn't even like it but still wore it ...i thought of selling it on ebay but gave it back to them after the wedding.
Bebo, looks like your post is incomplete.
Having technical difficulties...:)
"Some people can totally afford it and I guess it is OK but there are many families who stress over planning weddings and take karza in order to "fit in" thanks to the pressures of society. Now that's where I have the problem. I say do what is within your reach." But Niki it is easy said than done.when people start spending these outrageous amout then it becomes the problems for others who can not afford it ..who have three or four daughters to wed. The society pressure comes from norms developing in the society.It promotos class difference, unrest and kind of inferiority complex for those who can not afford to adapt or in this case did not wear or afford to wear a designer bridal dress. To reduce this kind of pressure our govt started the one dish weddings policy( the only wise thing ever done by these morons). why not take along every one and not left them behind struggling to "fit in". My 2cents really.
I agree with you Bebo, and even based on Islamic teachings, modesty in every situation has been highly recommended for the very reason that one can get carried away.
But I guess we have come a long way and sometimes the expenses we make at our weddings cannot be justified.
The issue is simple.. you are damned if you do it and you are damned if you don't.
Spend karo tou society says "unko dekho show mar rahay hain"..
na spend karo tou they say: "laigta hai inki amdani itni nahi hai"
and that is not even the worst part.. i would care less about what the heck society says.. its the things your own freaking relatives say that hurts the most..
waisay I do agree with Asif bhai here..
i think ppl should have enough CONFIDENCE in themselves, that **even if **other ppl they know like relatives n fmly frnds are spending a lot on lavishing weddings..they should be **sensible **and look at there financial position and what htey can afford. its not a competion between children..'lets c who can have the most awesome nd expensive wedding'!
so y do ppl act like kidz in this competition? bcs they have an *inferiority complex **about they're ghurbaat/not being ameer(plzz no bashing..no offense intended at all)..ppl get inferiorty complexes bcs they have a **lack of confidence in themselves *
if a family who is poor/doesnt have much money has many daughters..nd they' r afraid that if htey dont have a grand lavish weddings 4 them that hteyr community will remember then ppl wont be in awe nd compleimtn them and think nd say 'wow look at that ceremony..kya shaan heh in logon ki..yeh to badsha bande heh!'...
well u know what? even if these fmls without who r not 2 lucky in the financial department do go ahead nd with ltos of trouble do have an extraordinary marriage function..ppl r still not gogin 2 compleimtn them! ..haha .. **they just make fun of htem behind their back..n say..'paas khuch heh neh..khane ko roti neh heh aur kitne paisa laga ke..dhoom dhaam se kare heh shaadi. BEWAKOOF kehi ke..llooll..karza leke aur bhi tight postiion me apne aap ko kardia..ya apni zameen bechkar wedding ke vade vade kharche poore kiye heh! **nd theyll just laugh at htem nd think htey r stupid and call them stupid 2 others nd theink that these r the most shallow ppl they have ever met..bcs they r even sacrificing their future security n rosi roti by selling land which they could earn off of.
and when that poor familiy hears comments like this..its gonna kill their already fragile egos even more.
so u know what? i dont feel soorry AT ALL 4 poor pkstni fmls who try desperately 2 emulate the kind of lifestyle that rich ppl have just bcs they want **2 SHOW OFF!!
**i think such gareeb pathetic showoffs get wht htey deserve when they go in to debt willingly, or sell their land nd(4rom which current/future rosi roti comes 4rom) have the big function and then get humilitated by such sharmnaak comments. bcs theyr not doing it bcs they have 2..they r doing it cause they wanna showoff nd show theyr community what bighsots they r ..nd PRIDE/ maghroori is very much disliked in islam. they dont have any confidence in the social status in whihc they r in.
woh kehte hain na..ke apni chadaar dekh kar hi pehr palane chahiye!
nd some 1 needs 2 tell these fools that..but when u do then they get sooo offended nd start vengeance attacks** ..so let them ruin themselves n make themselves the biggest fools..bcs they deserve it!!!!!**
i think ppl should have enough CONFIDENCE in themselves, that **even if **other ppl they know like relatives n fmly frnds are spending a lot on lavishing weddings..they should be **sensible **and look at there financial position and what htey can afford. its not a competion between children..'lets c who can have the most awesome nd expensive wedding'!
so y do ppl act like kidz in this competition? bcs they have an *inferiority complex **about they're ghurbaat/not being ameer(plzz no bashing..no offense intended at all)..ppl get inferiorty complexes bcs they have a **lack of confidence in themselves *
I kind of agree with that. one should spend what's in their means and to live a life of "what will people think" is akin to living in a prison b/c one can never really relax or do what htey want to do... even though people will never be happY no matter what you do.
It is always wrong to spend lavishly IMO even if you can afford to do so. Why not use that money to donate to charity? I am sure that there is more blessings in doing that then spending loads on a wedding dress.
I have always believed simplicity is best. If and when I get married that's exactly how I plan on having my wedding... elegant yet simple...inshAllah.
here is a quote for those of you who care:
It was narrated that Ibn ‘Umar (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “Whoever wears a garment of fame and vanity, Allaah will clothe him in a garment of humiliation on the Day of Resurrection.”
ummmmmmmmmmmm
ok so y is it that u ppl just pound on 1 person even if he/she is trying to open ur eyes??
citrine is right and we all know that then y r u all bashing her??
just because u wanna spend hell lot of money on ur wedding dresses??
y is it that we dont understand wats right when its cums to us??
i think u all are bashing her jusy because u wanna spen big money and u will be doing a wrong thing if she is right
y cant we do wrong thing and still consider it wrong
y we always try to make wrong right for us???
P.S: floodr-e-azam is planning ot take over ur forum ![]()