Is Ignorance a Bliss for Rahat Fateh Ali Khan ?

**HI,

looks like for Rahat Fateh Ali Khan, IGNORANCE of the LAW is a BLISS!

He got LUCKY twice so far by pleading IGNORANCE for NOT paying Pakistani TAX on his LUXURY car and on the Rs 32 LACS he paid for Hotel Charges and the worst thing is that the Revenue Pakistan Authorities seem to have NOT only accepted his plea bargain but also walked an extra mile with him in his ignorance.

what do you think? Can a person who travels the world be so IGNORANT?**

Re: is IGNORANCE a BLISS for RAHAT Fateh Ali KHAN?

well all i can say is that he is lucky...and all i will advise him that he should be more careful in future now because khuda-na-khwasta he can get unlucky too.

he can be CAREFUL if he wanted to...i do NOT believe that it was his ignorance. he should have learned his lessons when he was caught in India. also, who in the world doesn't know that heshe can make money and NOT pay taxes? i think it was intentonal and it's too bad that he got caught twice.

^ well allah behter janta hai.

i have never heard him singing (only read his name in papers). but all i will say is kabhi kabhi ho jata hay "Rab dia-n La Parwai-an, Khotay Khaan Malai-an".

He was also caught at Dehli airport travelling with a huge amount of cash in his hand bag and point he made there was that he didnt know that was not allowed :)

:eek: really?

TOPON KA RUKH os hi ki taraf KHAS TOR per q

es HAMAAM mi to sub*************:stuck_out_tongue:

YOUSAFE SAANI ho k DARDE BHUTTO:mehr:

yes, 100% true.

oh ok.

Re: Is Ignorance a Bliss for Rahat Fateh Ali Khan ?

Everyone is ignorant to some extent, including you and me. And yes ignorance is a bliss since it can help us walk away being innocent. Lucky Rahat FAK :k:

well, it may be true if he is telling the truth but i doubt it. he is a shrewd tax evader and that’s my opinion. what i know is that a common man can not get away with ‘pleading ignorance’ twice! :slight_smile:

Ignorance will only save a person from fines and imprisonment - when it comes to debt recovery of the duration that taxes were not being paid ... the UK courts will make the culprits set up a payment scheme to make up for unpaid back taxes.

That would have been better for RFLK to have been given ... the sentence of a payment scheme ...

what?

All along I was believing that he had no idea about Indian laws, but now I am beginning to think that he was deliberately trying to evade taxes and was unlucky to get caught.

YOU TELL HIM GIRL!

oh i see. true…can’t fool the public twice :smiley:

**hehe..kisii ek ko to qurbaanii kaa bakraa banaanaa hii paRegaa na :smiley:

TRUE…you can’t FOOL all the people all the time…he and hundreds like him must be punished severely so others can learn a lesson. :slight_smile:

True KKF. Some are ignorent and some just lie on face of millions or perhaps billion. And yes you are right, people like RFK and Tendulkar should be punished severely so other people dont try to follow the icons unless off course they have millions to hire tax attroneys who can do “lafzoon ka hair phair”.

I am amazed that tribunal in India accepted Tendulkar’s declaration that he is a “non professional cricketer” and “an actor”. That got to be funniest joke eh? bigger than RFK’s ignorance. :smiley:

Tendulkar is an actor, not cricketer… for tax
By Staff
Published Monday, June 06, 2011

Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar saved more than two crore rupees (Rs20 million) by declaring that he is not a cricketer but an actor before the income tax tribal on the money he earned from TV commercials.

The star was told to pay Rs2.08 million as tax on Rs5.92 million he earned from different television commercials such as Pepsico, Visa Inc. and ESPN Star Sports during 2001-02 and 2004-05, Indian Today reported on Monday.

The tribunal accepted that he is an artist on the grounds that “he has to use his own skills, imagination and creativity in the commercials”, it said.

When asked by income tax officer about his profession, the master blaster submitted his documents stating that “he is a popular model who acts in various commercials for endorsing products of various companies.”

According to India Today, Tendulkar said that the income he derived from ‘acting’ was categorized in income earned from “business and profession” whereas income from playing cricket was reflected as “income from other sources” since he is a non-professional cricketer.

The income tax tribunal ruled that Tendulkar can claim deduction in tax on his income from modelling as he is an artist.

According to Indian Today, Tendulkar had also claimed deduction of Rs 57,969 towards staff welfare expenses that included expenses incurred on tea and snacks provided to his staff, Rs 50,000 each on account of entertainment expenses and telephone expenses and Rs 1,42,824 on account of car expenses. However, the tribunal dismissed these claims saying that the use of telephone, car and food was for him and his family.

PS: Of course you will have explanation for this readily available eh? If tendulkar is a non-professional cricketer (in fact an actor), I am sure RFK can be anything including ignorant. :slight_smile:

^^ Figures dont add up. 2 million is 20 lakhs, how can he save 2 crore on that.

plus i cannot believe he made 6 million in ads. he takes 30-50 million per ad. 6 million in whole year is peanuts.

off course he will not report all of his salary to Tax department, will he?

here is the news as its reported by other media too

But isn’t true for all “rich” people? Has Zardari paid his taxes? Or Shahrukh? [waiting for waleedh to come in and throw timatar at me]. :hehe: