Is fasting good for health?

Views?

My personal view is that it doesn’t matter when it comes to health, I feel the same way physically during Ramadan like I do when its not Ramadan. Yet when I talk to people who are not fasting their reasons are ‘its not good for our health’ ‘it makes us tired’. I have played football cricket during fasting and frankly it doesn’t affect me much.

Your views? Is fasting good for health or does it not matter?

• Also share your tips to stay healthy in Ramadan.

I can’t believe the amount of women that only eat toast drink water and go about fasting and then moan about headaches
:no:

A nice paratha does the trick :yummy:

Also does anyone feel that when we do iftaar we don’t eat much? Or is it just me? I feel full after literally like 5 mins :smack:

Re: Is fasting good for health?

I feel more thirsty than hungry during fasts. So I try to drink up as much water before the fast begins :smack: as if I have a reservoir of some kind :emmy:.

Anyway, people say it’s a good way to flush out toxins from the body :hmmm:???

I cant eat much as soon i break the fast...but i make sure i eat loadssssss abut 2 hrs after tht :@:

Tips for staying healthy: don't eat junk otherwise you'll get burnt out too soon!

for thirst in ramdhan nikki…
try these

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/gupshup-cafe/343434-how-to-avoid-thirst-in-ramazan.html

Thank you!!!

Interestingly I was looking for information on this subject yesterday and I found out that there is a difference between fasting and skipping a meal. Fasting is when you do not eat for 24 or more hours. Skipping a meal is what we do during Ramazan. We skip a lunch during Ramazan and it does no damage to your body , health and brain.
Fasting on the on the other hand for longer than 24 hours and more can cause damage to your body , health and brain. This kind of occasional fasting is OK for once in a while too but should not be done too frequently.

Aap ko ajeeb se cheez hai yeh :aq:

Niksik,

Aap ko ajeeb se cheez hai yeh, no hunger but thirst? :aq:

Agreed, I think people just call it fasting for a lack of a better word

But i think when i eat less or something light at sehri i'm less hungry during the day.. if eat like a paratha i'll have stomach aches n wud feel more hungry. :\

You don't eat much food in Iftari because your stomach shrinks, that's why you only eat a little amount of food. I'm feeling thirsty just reading this post!

niksik same here i feel more thirsty than hungry and can someone tell me what to drink or eat that make u not feel thirsty for long ..

According to this article, fasting may be healthy for flood victims as not drinking the polluted water for 14-15 hours reduces their chances of getting diarrhoea. But on the other hand, given that they are struggling to get food, they may not be sufficiently nourished to be able to fast healthily.

Aid workers fear that Ramadan could endanger the health of people already facing food shortages and could complicate efforts to deliver assistance.

People only getting poor nutrition are not well placed to fast, although abstaining from drinking water could protect people from water-born disease, a doctor involved in the relief effort said.

Ahmad Shadoul added: 'Definitely they are not in a good position to fast. The food they are taking is not enough.

‘On the other hand, fasting can be a preventive measure for diarrhoea as people are not drinking water for 14 to 15 hours.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/article-1302155/Ramadan-2010-Fears-survivors-starving-Pakistan-flood-victims-vow-observe-religious-fasting.html#ixzz0wJAMwbVQ

Fasting is not good for my health, i end up gaining few more pounds :nahi:

Translated as: ‘Niksik’s cooking is full of oil and fat’

TLK bhai :no:

I’m losing weight this ramadhan instead of gaining :teary2:

Chalo kuch to acha hua phir

:smilestar: acha kaisey :emmy:
gravity ko aur zoor laga ke pull kerna pareyga :bummer:

Roza is good for body and mind to be trained.

Eating/drinking 'too much' in Sahri/Iftaar nullifies its benefits.

Drinking too much water in sahri actually can make body to flush all the water in early hours of the day and person feels thirsty later. Tea, coffee, cola beverages also make person dry.

Some people feel better if they eat very little in Sahri. Body and mind does not feel as heavy all day.

Good post LP.

Avoid direct sun exposure
You cannot do that if you have to pick and drop children at school in 110 degrees :)