Is cremation an option for Muslims, would you consider it.

Hindus cremate their dead, not many Muslims do. Cremation is getting very popular in the West, would Muslims consider cremation ?

Cremation is much cheaper than burial.

Cremation: The New American Way of Death - LightBox

Swedish photographer Lars Tunbjörk has documented frenzied consumerism, the soul-deadening effects of office life and the strange theatrics of U.S. politics, always displaying a sense of humor and a grasp of the absurd that would not be out of place in a George Saunders short story. For our feature on the increasing popularity of cremation around the country, TIME sent Tunbjörk deep into the American heartland to chronicle the goings-on at three separate crematories.*
For decades, burial has been by far the most common form of disposition in the United States. Most Americans never gave it a second thought: their grandparents were buried; their great-grandparents were buried—it just made sense that they’d get buried, too, in the family plot, beside their closest relatives.

(Click here to read TIME’s special report on cremation and find out why our changing attitude toward this final rite of passage says everything about the way we live now.)*
But today we’re a far different society than we were just a few decades ago. Within the next few years it’s projected that, for the first time, more Americans will get cremated than buried.
Much of the recent rise of cremation’s popularity can be credited to the Great Recession. Cremations can cost as little as a quarter as much as traditional burials. But it’s not just the price tag that makes cremation a popular alternative.

For one, we’re a much more mobile society today. We don’t buy family plots the way we used to because more of us get an education, start a family, get a job and retire far from our birthplaces. When it comes time to find a final resting place, transporting an urn is much easier than dealing with a casket.
Historically, the U.S. has been a majority Christian nation, and Christianity favors burial for a number of reasons. But Americans are becoming increasingly secular and many of us now identify as atheist, agnostic or, even if we consider ourselves religious, aren’t affiliated with a particular faith. That separation from a religion with ties to traditional burial has led to more Americans exploring other options of disposition.

Cremation has also appealed to those looking for a more eco-friendly solution than burial, which involves placing a body filled with embalming fluids on a plot of land that will need to be maintained in perpetuity. And while flame-based cremation is a more environmentally sensitive solution than traditional burial, a new breed of eco-friendly cremations is just starting to become popular. “Green cremations,” which use a mixture of water and potassium hydroxide, are available in a handful of states and are outpacing flame-based cremations in the areas where they’re offered.
The practice of cremation will in all likelihood only grow as we become more mobile, secular and eco-conscious as a society. In fact, in the not too distant future, burial might well be seen as a peculiar option in light of the eminently reasonable, less expensive and environmentally sound method now so widely available—and increasingly embraced.

Read more: Cremation: The New American Way of Death - LightBox

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/12/09/us/in-economic-downturn-survivors-turning-to-cremations-over-burials.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

Re: Is cremation an option for Muslims, would you consider it.

Ashes to Ashes: The Growing Popularity of Cremation - LightBox

Ashes to Ashes: The Growing Popularity of Cremation
Cremation Is on the Rise, but Where to Put the Ashes? | TIME.com

Chalo....ab burial per bhi aitraaz.

Its like asking if Hindu vegans would consider eating beef steaks?

For Pakistan, cremation will lead to further loadshedding. so big no :nahi:

Ethical living: Should I … be buried or cremated? | Environment | The Guardian

According to the Federation of British Cremation Authorities, there were 424,956 cremations held in the UK in 2004. This figure represents 70.8% of all deaths. Consider that a cremator needs to operate at 760-1150C for 75 minutes per cremation and it’s easy to see how much energy is required. In fact, a cremator uses about 285 kiloWatt hours of gas and 15kWh of electricity on average per cremation - roughly the same domestic energy demands as a single person for an entire month.

I wouldn't consider this, as we believe in the life after death and that we would be questioned about how we lived our lives (in our graves).

However if it were allowed in Islam, then who knows.

BTW, why Kabir Dasa said this:

Maati Kahe Kumhar Se, Tu Kya Rundhe Mohe
Ek Din Aisa Ayega Main Rundhungi Tohe

Has he converted to Islam? or he found burial more poetic and economical than cremation? :hmmm:

in Islam, the burial is the cheapest...you can bury the deat in one/two pieces of cloth.

here in Canada a Muslim burial coasts around $600 while cremation about $2500

in Islam, we respect the dead body because it belongs to God. we return the dead to the ground. the constituents of our body is after all made from clay...so clay returning to clay is most natural way to dispose off our dead.

Cremation is much cheaper than burial :smack:

I think we should book a grave and even buy a kafan. :emmy:

Frankly, cremation gives me the eebies jeebies.:bummer:

Having my father’s ashes in an urn on the mantel with the other decoration pieces would creep me out. :eek:

I think there might be similar thoughts for burial by those who believe in cremation.

These borderlines should not be crossed as they are very much sensitive. Simply, apna aqeeda (deen /dharam) choRo nahin, aur kisi ka aqeeda cheRo nahin.

PS: We can discuss economic aspects or personal liking of anyone. Some of Muslims writers and famous personalities including Ismat Chughtai opt for cremation.

no never as a muslim :alhamd: i will never consider cremation as an option…

in india still majority of hindus use wood instead of those electrical cremation machines…

even adivasis(aboriginals in our region) still bury their deads

What about jains. do they cremate their dead ones?

one more point of view:

since Allah will punish humans by fire in the hell, we must keep the our loved one's dead body from fire in this dunyaa. fire is unique punishment in the hereafter.

not all Hindus cremate their dead...some float the bodies of their loved ones in the sacred river, Ganga [Ganges], especially in Varanasi.

I think in certain areas, they bury their children as well.

cremation IMO

Isn't that symbolic rather than literal ?

Does your $600 figure include the cost of the plot of ground in which you need to put the body?
I doubt it.

TIME magazine reported in US burial costs $7500 while cremations costs around $2500.

In India many people opt for electric cremation, it costs as low as 300 rupees as government electric crematorium. It is fast, no pollution

Hindus, Jains, Buddhists and Sikhs cremate.

Keeping ashes is American things.

Hindus dont keep ashes at home. They scatter a small portion in holy river or sea.