Is covering the head really FARD? Or just an Interpratation? Convince me

Assalamu Alaikum

Soooo…after a long period of research on the topic of Hijab (The head cover) in Islam..I have come to the conclusion that head cover isnt fard in all countries, it actually depends on the society. In the Quran in Surah Nur Verse 31 Allah has specified Bosom Hips Thighs And Private Parts to be Covered at all cases, and parts that cant be decentely apparent which depend on ones culture. I have written a whole book on this, but first I want you guys to convince me whether its fard or not. Maybe I am wrong, maybe right. So please if you can, convince me that Hijab is fard. So far anyone who has tried to convince me ends up getting convinced BY me. Basically I want to start a nice peaceful debate. Anyone in?

Re: Is covering the head really FARD? Or just an Interpratation? Convince me

Yup, its FARD alright. Covering the head is an obligation. Based on the rules of countries? Well that's no standard as they are only based on the will of their rulers. But in Islam it is the rule of ALLAH and it is FARD.

You dont get what I mean, what Im saying is that Allah says 'Do not reveal their beauty except for what is apparent', now the term 'what is apparent' changes from society to society. In India, if a woman wears sari, then her belly is apparent, and she wont be considered immodest but if she wears those same clothes in Arabia, then she would considered very very very immodest. You get what I mean? Like Allah tells us to use our stregnth to the utmost of our power and our best horses in war (in Surah Anfaal verse 60), now we in this era have planes and tanks, does this mean we should stop using planes and tanks and start using horses? Of course not, that verse is to be taken metaphorically in out era. Allah orders women to cover their Bosom with their Khimar, the order in this verse is not for the use of the khimar but the covering of the bosom with another piece of cloth over the shirts (such as Dobatta in Pakistan). Covering of the hair was an arab tradition, they were doing this before this verse even came down. It was their fashion, it was a way to protect oneself from the sunlight and it was a sign of modesty. In their era uncovering the hair was a very immodest act so much that even if the bosom was left uncovered, the hair should be covered. Then Allah revealed that NO your bosom must be covered. In our society uncovering the Hair is not immodest at all. Go through the book I have written. Allah has not specified the covering of the hair.

Women should cover their heads and every part of their body this is farz.

Three Grades of Pardah:

The first is that the woman covers every part of her body except her face, her hands and her feet.
2. The second is that the woman covers her face, her hands and her feet also.
3. The third is that the woman keeps herself indoor or keeps herself hidden in such a veil that no one can ever see her clothes.

This stage is the greatest of all the three. All three grades exist in the Holy Qur’aan. The first grade of Purdah is stated in the Qur’aan as:

“That they should not display their beauty and ornaments.” (Surah Noor Chapter 18 Verse 31.)

The commentary of this verse of the Qur’aan is the saying of the Holy Prophet Sallallahu Alayhi Wa’alihi Wasallam that: “O! Asma when a woman reaches puberty then it is not permissible for her to open any part of her body except this and this, indicating towards his face and his hands.” (Abu Dawood)

The second grade is stated in the Qur’aan as:
“That they should cast their outer garments over their persons.” (Chapter 22 Verse 59)

The third grade is stated in the Qur’aan as: “And stay quietly in your house.” (Chapter 22 Verse 33).

Chapter 22

Verse:033
**Abdul Daryabadi : **For you in them are benefits for a term appointed, and thereafter the destination is toward the ancient House.
**Dr. Mohsin : **In them (cattle offered for sacrifice) are benefits for you for an appointed term, and afterwards they are brought for sacrifice unto the ancient House (the Haram - sacred territory of Makkah).
**Mufti Taqi Usmani : **And for you there are benefits in them (the cattle) up to a specified time. Then their place of sacrifice is by the Ancient House. [QETafseerComment]
**Pickthal : **Therein are benefits for you for an appointed term; and afterward they are brought for sacrifice unto the ancient House.
**Yusuf Ali : **In them ye have benefits for a term appointed: in the end their place of sacrifice is near the Ancient House.

Verse:059
**Abdul Daryabadi : **Surely He will make them enter an entrance wherewith they will be well pleased and verily Allah is Knowing, Forbearing.
**Dr. Mohsin : **Truly, He will make them enter an entrance with which they shall be well-pleased, and verily, Allâh indeed is All-Knowing, Most Forbearing.
**Mufti Taqi Usmani : **He will definitely admit them to an entrance they will be pleased with, and Allah is surely All-Knowing, Forbearing.
**Pickthal : **Assuredly He will cause them to enter by an entry that they will love. Lo! Allah verily is Knower, Indulgent.
**Yusuf Ali : **Verily He will admit them to a place with which they shall be well pleased: for Allah is All-Knowing, Most Forbearing.http://quranexplorer.com/index/Sura_022_Al_Hajj_THE_PILGRIMAGE.aspx

Chapter 18

Verse:031
**Abdul Daryabadi : **These! for them are Gardens Everlasting whereunder rivers flow; bedecked they shall be therein with bracelets of gold, and wear they shall green robes of satin and brocade, reclining therein on the couches; excellent the reward, and goodly the resting-place!
**Dr. Mohsin : **These! For them will be 'Adn (Eden) Paradise (everlasting Gardens); wherein rivers flow underneath them, therein they will be adorned with bracelets of gold, and they will wear green garments of fine and thick silk. They will recline therein on raised thrones. How good is the reward, and what an excellent Murtafaq (dwelling, resting place)!
**Mufti Taqi Usmani : **Those are the ones for whom there are eternal gardens, rivers flowing beneath them. They will be adorned therein with bracelets of gold, and they will be dressed in green garments, made of fine silk and thick silk, reclining therein on couches. Excellent is the reward and beautiful is the Paradise as a resting-place.
**Pickthal : **As for such, theirs will be Gardens of Eden, wherein rivers flow beneath them; therein they will be given armlets of gold and will wear green robes of finest silk and gold embroidery, reclining upon throne therein. Blest the reward, and fair the resting-place!
**Yusuf Ali : **For them will be Gardens of Eternity; beneath them rivers will flow; they will be adorned therein with bracelets of gold, and they will wear green garments of fine silk and heavy brocade; they will recline therein on raised thrones. How good the recompense! How beautiful a couch to recline on!

http://quranexplorer.com/index/Sura_018_Al_Kahf_THE_CAVE.aspx

U definitely have the wrong reference there.

***Three gems in the book:

***"I'm not being a racist"

"But when you are going to go off displaying yourself, then no, even the most pious man would get hot."

In the 'Sources' section - "My Brain"

What do you mean by 'Gems'?

Peace my21098,

Before I start, could u plz tell me that whether you included any hadith also or just concluded based on Quranic verses.?

1. Everybody quotes that hadith, but fails to realize that Hadith is a weak hadith, Abu Dawud (May Allah reward him for his efforts) himself admitted that the hadith is a weak hadith and the second narrator is missing, Khalid b. Duraik did not see 'Aisha (RA)'. And we can not and should not base our rulings on weak Hadith

2. The full verse is 'They should not reveal their ZEENAT (Bodily Beauty and Beautifaction, such as jewelry) ILLA MA ZAHARA MINHA (Except for what is apparent of it) 'It' here means ZEENAT

So women should not reveal their zeenat except for what is apparent of their zeenat. Now whatever is apparent must also be something that if uncovered wouldnt give an immodest look right? Now this changes from culture to culture, in Afghanistan, only the eyes can be apparent and I have no problem with it, if I was in Afghanistan I would have said covering the whole body is fard except eyes cause anything else if uncovered would give an immodest look. In KSA only face and hands can be apparent, if I was in KSA and if I was debating from KSA's perspective, I would have agreed that covering the hair and everything else except the face and hands is fard, because anything else if uncovered would seem immodest. In Pakistan, if hair are uncovered, they wouldnt cause much fitna (Or atleast not in my society) and wouldnt make a woman 'BESAHARAM' 'IMMODEST', so they can be apparent. You get my point bro?

1. The part where Allah says 'cast their outer garments over their persons' is YUDNNENA ALAIHINNA MIN JALABIBIHINNA 'Near/Wrap Over Themselves from their Outer garments' but people forget to read the next part, which says ZALIKA ADNA AINYORAFNA FALA YUZAIN which is 'So they may be recognized and not be molested/annoyed/disturbed'. Now lets analyze, why did Allah order the use of extra outer garments? So woman may be recognized and not be molested, now the main objective here is to be recognized, look at the Wisdom behind the verse, SO THEY MAY BE RECOGNIZED, Allah wants you to be recognized. Now recognized as what? To understand this, lets see what we are NOT supposed to be recognized as: Allah says Recognized and NOT BE MOLESTED/ANNOYED. Who are the woman who get molested? Yes, Prostitutes and Sex Slaves. Now what is the opposite of a Prostitute/Sex Slave? Yes, A decent free respectable woman. So Allah wants you to be recognized as respectable woman. Now in 7th Arabia, the use of a Jilbab (The special outer garment at their time, a very loose large cloak/or piece of cloth) was their way of being differentiated from porstitutes and being recognized as free woman. This does not at all mean that in every era and time this will be the case, in fact here in edited the town where I live in, a burqa is actually worn by women when they want to do some sort of evil act, believe me, so this verse means that woman have to wear clothes which according to wear they live, would differentiate them from Prostitutes and give them a respectable look. You get my point bro?

2. The final verse you mentioned is acutally Surah Ahzab verse 33, the thing here is, this verse is taken out of context, (Im literally sighing so deeply while typing this, it saddens me so much how people change Allah's words) here is the verse with the previous verse as well:

33:32 O Consorts of the Prophet! Ye are not like any of the (other) women: if ye do fear (Allah), be not too complacent of speech, lest one in whose heart is a disease should be moved with desire: but speak ye a speech (that is) just 33:33 And stay quietly in your houses, and make not a dazzling display, like that of the former Times of Ignorance; and establish regular Prayer, and give regular Charity; and obey Allah and His Apostle. And Allah only wishes to remove all abomination from you, ye members of the Family, and to make you pure and spotless.

Now you can see that this verse is specifically for the wives of the Prophet, and they are not like other woman, thus what Allah has ordered for them and not ordered for other women means that its only for them and not for other women. Even then this does not mean that they had to stay in their houses 24/7 they were permitted to go outside, just not too much and only for a good reason.

I hope you got what I mean, and please remain in a calm mood :)

what town is this?????

First of all let me tell you, that Im not a hadith rejector, so dont worry about that. Second of all, I didnt, because after going through different hadiths I have seen that the one hadith which everybody quotes of hands and face is actually a weak and mursal hadith. Other than that their are no authentic hadith directly to the Prophet. We have sayings of Aisha (ra) but they dont make sense (The saying in Sahih Bukhari is that 'Women tore their lower garments and covered their faces when this verse was revealed about covering the bosom, just think for once, Allah is ordering covering the breasts, and women are tearing their lower garments, to cover their faces?) Other than that, the part of covering the head was a cultural tradition, in their era covering the head was a VERY BIG sign of modesty, but that was 7th century arabia. This is 21st century Pakistan, modesty changes from era to era, Im not saying girls should wear jeans or short skirts or tight shirts NO NOT AT ALL, but after looking at my society and after deeply studying arabic in the Quran and after reading views of many scholars and tafsirs, i have written this. Please read my book, its not very long, and then tell me. In other words, Mainey aisa waisa nahi likha, mainey 10 mahiney laga ke is conclusion per aaya houn, ofcourse main ghalat bhi ho sakta houn. Oh and peace to you too sorry I forgot :smack:

edited Women at that area are mostly streetwalkers, whenever they go off doing evil acts, they wear a burqa and give the impression that they are reserved for the night.

Peace my21098,

You wrote "Allah says 'Do not reveal their beauty except for what is apparent", and to explain the term 'apparent' u given the example of a woman from India who wear Sari. I wonder why don't you give an example of arab woman who wear 'Burkha' which covers herself from top to bottom, except hands, feets and eyes which are apparent. Moreover the same dress 'Burkha' weared in western countries isn't against their society?

I say leave these society/country a side and lets talk by quoting reference from Qur'an and/or Hadith where covering the head mentioned as 'Fard or not'.

Thats what Im saying, in Arabia, I agree 100% that the head cover is fard, the reason for that is that the hair if uncovered would make a woman immodest thus dont fall under the category of 'what is apparent'. What cant be apparent is what Allah has mentioned when He says 'And Guard their Private Parts' this means to figuratively guard them from zina and literaly cover them, then Allah says 'And Dont strike their feet as to reveal what they hide of their beauty/adornment' now what parts of a woman move specifically when she strikes her feet? Generally, her Bosom, Hips/Buttocks and Thighs. Now its clear that Bosom, Hips, Thighs and private parts are what Allah expects that you would cover in all cases. The rest of the parts:

Hair Face Hands Belly Arms Calves Feet depend on the phrase 'Dont reveal their beauty except for what is apparent' and this 'what is apparent' is a very "open to interpratation" phrase. And which I have after doing a survey in Pakistan interpratted as: Forearms Hair Face Hands and Feet

If we look at the Hadith then first of all there is only one hadith which goes directly to the Prophet in Abu Dawud which is a weak Hadith. The rest are saying of the companions and helpers (Tabieen). We will discuss that but first tell me what do you think about the above paragraphs. Oh and let me point out that I personally love the hijab and abaya

Peace my21098,

In Surah Al Noor Almighty Allah SWT said: "Waqul lilmu/minati" means "And tell the believing women". All those who believe in religion Islam is referred here not only the arabs. Therefore it is 'Fard' on all believeing women in Islam. Below i'll translate some arabic words used in same verse with its meanings. Hope this will clear your point.

In verse 24:31 the words in Arabic: "walyadribna bi khumurihinna AAala juyoobihinna" means "and to draw their (Khumur) veils all over their Juyub". Khumur (veils) is the plural of Khimar, which means something that covers, and is what is used to cover the head. This is what is known among the poeple as a veil.

Sa'id bin Jubayr r.a. said: "walyadribna" (and to draw), means to pull it around and tie it securely. "bi khumurihinna AAala juyoobihinna" (their veils all over their Juyub), means, over their necks and chests so that nothing can be seen of them.

In Surah Al Ahzab an arabic word "Jilbab", plural "Jalabib" used which means an outer garment: a long gown covering the whole body, or a cloak overing the neck and bosom.

P.S. There are many hadiths but i'll give you explanation from the Holy Qur'an. Later on I'll quote the hadith to explain it further.

you mean, lets suppose in 23rd century or even after that, when era changes and women start wearing revealing clothes, would it be counted as modesty??

see, what I mean to say is, there must be some time when women started uncovering head from covering head.. most never took it as a respectable step but when they get used to it and this became the part of the society and everyone started uncovering head, later it was accepted by the society and then it was said as “oh, there’s nothing wrong in that because its accepted by the society”

so do you say ke agar 22nd, 23rd century main baypardagi ko modesty ka naam de diya jaye ga to kiya parda farz nahin rahay ga?? because phir to ye yun justify ho jana chahye naa ke “this is acceptable in society”

rest, someone said here "This stage is the greatest of all the three. All three grades exist in the Holy Qur’aan. The first grade of Purdah is stated in the Qur’aan as:

That they should not display their beauty and ornaments.” (Surah Noor Chapter 18 Verse 31.)"

so, dont you think, ke lambay baal bhi beauty main shumaar hotay hain?? why do we have this concept of Haseen tareen baal/ lambay baal/ kharab baal/ badronaq baal, sufaid baal, gehray siyah baal?? because achhay aur ghanay baal bhi khoobsorti main aatay hain, agar koi larki sar p say dupatta hata ke apni poori body bohat achhay tariqay se cover karay lekin uske baal nihayat khoobsorat hon, lambay ghanay ko, to kiya larkay palat ke nahin dekhte? kiya unhe wo larki attract nahin karegi?

I understand your intensity..
because you have seen women who doing such shameful acts wearing burqa doesn't make 'fard', 'not fard'!!

sorry, not in a harsh way but seems aap ghaday ghoro ko aik hi lakri se haank rahay hain!

My bro, let me quote another phrase jo mairay zehen main aa rahi hay, you maybe have this perception of "jesa des wesa bhes"!

Kiya Quran main kahin likha hay ke ye abhi ki century main utara jarha hay to baqi centuries walay apnay apnay mutabiq amal karen?? kahin ye ziker hay Quran main ke parday ka farman country to country vary karega? aap society ko kyun dekh rahay hain?? We see, in west on seas, rivers, women wear very VERY revealing clothes, but because people around are very used to watch such an stuff, wearing shalwar qameez on such a sea will seem stupid & immodest to them! so? do you agree ke wahan jakay agar koi musalman aurat revealing clothes pehne gi to gunah nahi hoga?? because wahan p farz nahin hay naa!

hum musalman nahin, bay painday ke lotay hogaye ke jis mulk gaye waheen ke mutabiq dressing ki aur kaha hamen to gunah nahin milraha naa, is mulk main yehi farz hay!! Kiya hogaya bhai?? ye farz, gunah, sawab mulko mulko p kabse depend kernay laga? kiya behaysiyat musalmaan hamari apni koi shanakht nahin hay??

I am really really not being harsh here, I hope you are getting my points too!

Peace queen_24,

U heard na 'Aik kharab machli sary gal ko ganda kr deti hy'. Similarly wearing 'burqa' and doing shameful acts also affect those women who have nothing to do with this shameful act and because of some idiot pplz they also labeled one of them.

Like I have long beard and while travelling, everybody looks at me like i'm a 'suicide attacker', they keep eye on me and watch my every moves etc., This is b'coz of some outer factors (false news, anti-Islamic media etc.,) make them believe that every beard person could be suicide bomber and somehow their attitude or the looks affects me, creating a disturbance whereas sometime I think I should remove my beard and there is no harm if I removed, although its just a Sunnah.

I think we should (or those who face problems due to that) should raise their voice of take necessary steps.

Anwers are given above!