Is bin Laden the 'Mahdi'?Some Muslim followers believe he is prophesied ...

http://www.worldnetdaily.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=34469

Is bin Laden the ‘Mahdi’?
Some Muslim followers believe he is prophesied
‘awaited enlightened one’

Editor’s note: Joseph Farah’s G2 Bulletin is an online, subscription intelligence news service from the creator of WorldNetDaily.com – a journalist who has been developing sources around the world for the last 25 years.

© 2003 WorldNetDaily.com

**U.S. military intelligence experts are studying a video clip of Osama bin Laden in which he stands before a dry-erase board with an Arabic phrase written upon it – “awaited enlightened one,” reports Joseph Farah’s G2 Bulletin. **

No one who has seen the video is quite certain of the meaning or the context. But, the Hadith, a collection of Islamic holy writings that supplement the Quran, predicts a messianic figure will arise in the last days of history. This “Mahdi,” along with the “Prophet Jesus,” will lead the believers to victory over the infidels.

Osama bin Laden

The video raises the question of whether bin Laden sees himself as this Mahdi or if he is expecting another to arise and lead. Either way, the addition of a dimension of Islamic prophecy to the global terror war may seriously complicate matters for planners in the West, G2 Bulletin reports.

According to G2 Bulletin’s military sources, some of the detainees currently held at Guantanamo Bay have told interrogators they joined bin Laden’s al-Qaida offensive because they think he is the “awaited enlightened one.” Others in military intelligence say some of the terrorists crossing the border into Iraq with al-Qaida ties are doing so because of their belief in this Islamic prophecy.

Muslim believers – both Sunni and Shiite – expect the Mahdi to return one day to restore justice to the world. This messenger is not as great as Muhammad, but is a messianic figure found in all branches of Islam.

Interestingly, since the end of 2001, bin Laden has been signing his name “Osama bin Muhammad bin Laden,” rather than just Osama bin Laden. This is significant, reports G2 Bulletin, because it gives the al-Qaida leader an apocalyptic dimension. The Hadith says the Mahdi will be recognizable, among other things, by the fact that he carries the name of the Prophet.

“Al Mahdi” is supposed to appear at a time when Muslim believers are severely oppressed in every corner of the world. He will fight the oppressors, unite the Muslims, bring peace and justice to the world, rule over the Arabs, and lead a prayer in Mecca at which Jesus will be present.

While some Islamic analysts have expected bin Laden to declare himself as “caliph,” few have speculated about the possibility of the terrorist upping the ante. Operating as he does without a territorial base, bin Ladin could, some suggest, resort to claiming the most powerful title in Islam – the Mahdi.

The Mahdi is one of two positive prophetic figures who, according to Islamic teachings, will appear at the end of time – Prophet Jesus being the other. Together, these two will combat unbelievers and the forces of evil: the antichrist-like Dajjal, or “Deceiver”; the Dabbah, or “Beast”; and the murderous, rapacious hordes of Yajuj wa-Majuj, who appear earlier in the Bible as “Gog and Magog.”

The description of the Mahdi that emerges from these Islamic sources can be summarized as follows:

he will be descended from the Prophet via his daughter Fatima;

he will have the same name as the Prophet, and his father’s name will have been the same as the Prophet’s father;

he will have a distinct forehead and prominent nose;

he will be extremely generous and altruistic;

he will arise in Arabia and be compelled by popular acclamation in Mecca to lead the Muslims;

he will withstand attack by an army from Syria, which will be swallowed up by the desert;

he will fill the earth with justice and equity;

he will reign for five, seven or nine years, perhaps as co-ruler with Jesus (after which, an unspecified amount of time later, the last trumpet will sound and the final judgment will ensue).
If bin Ladin – or some other Islamist leader – were to declare himself the Mahdi, should that make a difference to U.S. policy-makers? Yes.

If the claim were believable to the Islamic world, then the U.S. could no longer claim to be fighting terrorism alone. Indeed, it would become a global religious conflict.

Re: Is bin Laden the ‘Mahdi’?Some Muslim followers believe he is prophesied …

wow :rolleyes: What an objective source you got there. Masha’Allah. Next time, please surf www.ihateislam.org You will find more juicy anti-Islamic stuff in there.

When are you posting your anti-Christianity and anti-Judaism threads?

no he is not mehdi......he does not fulfill the criteria...but yes he is an important element of the group working for his arrival.........

hope u understand this....

Nadia, it is not correct, that everything un favorable is anti muslim, anti islam for you. Do you refute that large number of muslims are mad after bin laden? What generous islam or muslims are doing among muslims to oppose and sideline bin laden?
They only waste time to explain non muslims about the generousity.

no he is not mehdi......he does not fulfill the criteria...but yes he is an important element of the group working for his arrival.........

yeah yeah..i fully understood...so you partly agree with the mood of the article....
Its not afterall 'a juicy anti-Islamic stuff' as some ppl think.
thank you

it is not correct, that everything un favorable is anti muslim, anti islam for you.

well said...kudos!!

nice one… :hehe:

will make good hits in the JOKES forum…

soul, I'm trying to understand why you're so anti-islam in all your posts...were you bullyed at school by a muslim or something.

*Originally posted by the real AK47: *
soul, I'm trying to understand why you're so anti-islam in all your posts...were you bullyed at school by a muslim or something.

Fear, jealousy, envy of Islam/Muslims and insecurity in their own pagan cults is the reason for their hatred…

Wesay kitna maza aata hai inn jesay logou(n) ki mayoosi dekh kar, hamaarey mazhab ka kuch bigaaR to saktey nahei(n) hei(n), jitna bukwaas kertay hei(n) utna hee ziyada Islam phelay jaata hai, apni hee sehat pe burra asar daal rahey hein, agley jahaan to Jahannum ki aag mei(n) jalna hee hai, iss jahaan mei(n) bhi araam se nahei(n) jee saktey, sakhti hee sakhti hai inn ki zindagi mei(n)…

^^ agreed... the thing is I never go to hindu sites and bash hinduism, it just does not interest me, how ever I do feel some ppl here are insecure in there own non islamic religions, but why bash islam?

Yep we don’t do that despite the fact that our religion is perfect whilst theirs contains so many loopholes and shortcomings…

They are going to hate us and express their hatred for us and especially our religion until the end of time no matter what, yeh baat to humei(n) pehlay hee Khudawand Ta’ala ne apney Kalaam-e-Paak mei(n) bata dee hai ke yeh loag humaarey aur haq ke dushman hei(n) aur humei(n) baatil ki taraf ley jaana chahtey hei(n)…

We shouldn’t waste our time with these losers, our job is to convey the Message if they accept good for them, if they don’t we’ve done our job har aik ko apni apni qabar mei(n) jaana hai… We’re not scholars so debate is a waste of time… If somebody is sincere and wants to learn it’s our job to correct their misunderstandings but if they just come here to vent their frustration and hatred then dafa karo we need to spend our time ‘refining’ our own spirituality and bringing our own selves closer to Allah. Allah will perfect His Light no matter how much the disbelievers detest it and jalney waaley ka mou(n) kaala.

*Originally posted by bao bihari: *

Shameful post.

No, he isn’t Imam Mahdi :ra:, but he does fulfill the criteria as a Mujahideen of the Mahdi’s forces…

A few of his traits which make him thus is:

1. His mission is freedom from tyrrany for Muslims around the world.

2. Protecting the lives, property and honour of Muslims.

3. He is selfless, meaning he has left millions of dollars of his inheritance to live a life of simplicity and poverty.

4. He is not a hypocrite, i.e. he doesn’t hide behind false pretenses of saying I am Muslim and then working against them.

5. His mission is nothing more than complete independence for Muslims from any rule except the laws of Allah :swt:.

Just a few points about the people who will be in the Mahdi :ra:'s forces…

Dhulfiqar
a little critisizm can easily irritate you, and many of yours, it is not at all signs of a perfect religion.

You got it all wrong dear, Islam is by far the most complete religion on earth in every category. Yes its followers might not be the perfect muslims. Yes our religion is perfect but we are not perfect …

:rotfl: …lol.. i have asked him the same stuff… million times. If you search through his posts 90% of his posts are Islam hatered. I wonder how insecured of a person he is in his bounderies that he is so determined to disgrace islam whenever possible.

:k: So very well said…

-Salman

Can you go into details for the 5 points you mentioned…how did he do them? Examples? :slight_smile:

real AK/dhulfi/ salman,
what is so anti-islamic in this topic? its just like any other news ittinary...
There are ppl here and around the world dissussing this topic, the way they see it...like Lajawab, bao, imdad, lil'human..etc.
If you dont have anything fruitful to say, fine,...Let others discuss plz.

Besides, is speculating wot happened with me in my school days more interesting? hmmm...maybe but dats offtopic!!

Can we get back to the topic? thainq yiow!!

PS.- real AK, have i hold you back from going to any hindu site and bashing their religion?? go ahead!! you have my blessings!!

i believe the text although brief nevertheless explains it all!!!

• Imam Ali bin Umar D?r-e-Qutni states in his collection of ahadith:

My Ustaad Abu Saeed Istakhri narrates from his Ustaad
Muhammad bin Abdullah, who narrates from his Ustaad
Ubaid bin Ya?eesh, and he narrates from Yunus bin Bukair,
and he from Amar bin Shamir, and he from Jaabir who
narrates that Muhammad bin Ali said:

'Verily, for our Mahdi there are two signs which have never as yet concurred since the creation of the heavens and earth; first is the eclipse of the moon on the first night of Ramadan, and second is the eclipse of the sun during the middle of that same Ramadan.

This (concurrence of a solar and lunar eclipse) has never happened since Allah created the heavens and earth.'

** hence bint laden isn't the mahdi and i don't think we will live to c the mahdi in our lifetime!!!!!!! **

*Originally posted by #let uz chat#: *
i believe the text although brief nevertheless explains it all!!!

• Imam Ali bin Umar D?r-e-Qutni states in his collection of ahadith:

My Ustaad Abu Saeed Istakhri narrates from his Ustaad
Muhammad bin Abdullah, who narrates from his Ustaad
Ubaid bin Ya?eesh, and he narrates from Yunus bin Bukair,
and he from Amar bin Shamir, and he from Jaabir who
narrates that Muhammad bin Ali said:

'Verily, for our Mahdi there are two signs which have never as yet concurred since the creation of the heavens and earth; first is the eclipse of the moon on the first night of Ramadan, and second is the eclipse of the sun during the middle of that same Ramadan.

This (concurrence of a solar and lunar eclipse) has never happened since Allah created the heavens and earth.'

** hence bint laden isn't the mahdi and i don't think we will live to c the mahdi in our lifetime!!!!!!! **

interistingly this has happened this year..........moon eclipse on 14 of ramadan and solar eclipse on 29 of ramadan .......(date may vary ) .....

someone told me the very same thing....
and i did a little research on the net to check out when such an event might be possible....
and i too noticed that this happens almost every year....

so most probably it might happen even when imam mahdi comes (if he is destined to come, which i still doubt)....

i remember an indian muslim who used to say this even before this article came out....way back in 2000.

He used to frequent an indian forum...and his argument was similar to lajavab's reply here....something on the lines of,
- Even though bin laden is landless, has no proper army, has no proper tecq to communinate with the ppl, and no support from media platforms, yet he is able to muster more support around the world than Bush can!! Yet he is able to shake the land beneath the mighty empire, that not even the established nations would dare....
He use to site this as bin laden's supernatural power...He never got into the details of when eclipes would take place or not....

Surprisingly the man was not a madressa educated but an IITian.

Binladen, does have a considerable support, and thats not between just uneducated ones but also well-educated moslems...wheather he is, wot he claims to be, hardly matters.