Re: Is a South Asian Union like the European Union Possible?
i have plenty of pak and indian american friends(offline ;)), and if by "get out too often" you mean partying then no ji no.
ok you don't have to respond to my posts now, thankooo
I don't think I care what you do in your private life nor its me business but you did not get the point anyway..
Excuse my intrusion in your very animated debate, however it is my opinion that possibly the best way forward would be to divide the Indian state of J&K into 3 parts, Let Jammu & Ladakh become independent states within the Indian Union. All Kashmiri's including those in POK should be issued ID cards by a United Nations tribunal after ensuring they are ethnically Kashmirs and stating their current domicile, then all Kashmiris with UN issued ID cards should be allowed unrestricted travel with the right to live and work anywhere in Kashmir whether part of IOK or POK with free border trade and use of either Indian or Pakistani currency throughout the Kashmir region.
The UN issued ID cards detailing their current domicile is important as only those Kashmiri's who are the current residents of IOK and their children should be permitted unrestricted travel, living and employment opportunities in the rest of India, and the Kashmiri's from the current Pakistani side will need to secure a near impossible to obtain visa to travel anywhere in India outside the borders of the revised Kashmir.
Hopefully this should lead to peace in the region. This status should be maintained for 50 to 100 years and then a referendum should be carried out by the UN in the whole of Kashmir giving them an opportunity to either vote for full integration with Pakistan or India or full independence.
I think the best solution to solve the problems of south asia would be to divide the evil hindu state of india into smaller managable parts. I mean quite frankly, all the countries in the region simply hate the hindu india.... this includes bangladesh, nepal, srilanka, kashmir, china, pakistan and iran. India has been pursuing a long-term policy of hatred, back-stabbing and terrorism and without neutralizing this evil empire, nothing good can come out of south asia.
@snowy_winter
Dude what are you smoking, I want some of that stuff too :cobra:
@mufaddal
A model similar to yours was suggested by Gen.Musharraf when he was the President of Islamic Republic of Pakistan. According to various media reports, it was one of the solution that was under discussion during the Track II Diplomacy meetings. Indeed recently, Khurshid Mehmud Kasuri (Musharraf’s Foreign Minister) stated that “Kashmir problem was about to be solved” just when his government fell.
What solution was this?
Was it similar to the one suggested by Musharraf (and you) ?
Living in India, I know that perhaps most educated Indians wouldn’t have a problem with such a solution (though I don’t agree with referendum part). But judging from the mood on this board, Musharraf would have found it almost impossible to sell it to the educated Pakistanis.
when i was talking with a Kashmiri Muslim in a J&K community forum he said they want freedom from all the armed officers with guns not really from India. he's an educated KM studying medicine
these are his exact words believe them or not:
"leme tel u i dnt bliev on these leaders whateva they do.............i blieve n most of educated kashmiris also if indian army is posted on borders n not in cities n towns............if afspa is revoked...............n if v peopl r treatd as indians no bdy will protest.............rest the role of hurriat will be restrictd to few extremists in valley............an i believe tjey are there in every country as BJP in india
an one mre thng about the slogen azaadi ka matlab kya la illahaillah............u all say bjp are morons still a gud chunk of ppl support them...............n they say hindustan mai rehna hai RAM RAM padna hai
is this the slogan of secular india the largest secular nation......."
i've seen a couple Kashmiri muslims say this and i can totally understand
@ Dronacharya
As I see it, the problem exists only in the Kashmir valley, Jammu and Ladakh have absolutely no desire for either independence or ceding to Pakistan. They have very little in common with the Kashmiri's either by race or religion. They are aware that their security and culture (or for that matter their entire way of life) can only be safeguarded in a free, secular and progressive India. What I do not understand is why would the Pakistani's have a problem with this. J & K will not be the first state that has been partitioned, Punjab & Bengal have already set the precedent.
@ Manisha
Last July, I spent over a month in the Kashmir region en-route to Leh and Manali on a road trip. I visited the normal tourist circuit towns in and around the valley and also the not so touristy ones such as Gurez. In the course of my stay I interacted a great deal with normal Kashmir's and yes, what you say is correct, the average educated / employed Kashmiri is not at all against India, but against the army, which I believe should be sent back to the LOC, and should have no role in maintaining law and order, Let this be done by the local police or the CRF (if necessary).
that was something Chidambaram had proposed a couple months back right? it made sense to me, I can see where the Kashmiri muslims are coming from when they say that, if i was surrounded by armed officers all over the city, town i'm living in ever since i was born, i would think it's something i need to free myself from.
i'm sure the people of the valley feel the same way. this guy lives in proper srinagar, kashmir valley
why didn't that ever get done since it was proposed by the Indian Home Minister and there were plans to execute this.......why wasn't it? Hope that happens soon. the armed forces there are also getting frustrated too
No good ever comes of having the army involved in civilian matters, perhaps it made sense 10 years ago ( I don't know) but now I know for sure that the army should move back to the barracks on the LOC and stay out.
Had it not been for the army the fiasco over the last month in Srinagar might have been avoided. Can law enforcement officials not use rubber bullets when dealing with stone pelting civilians? Surely the usage of live ammunition should be discouraged.
@Sarsaparilla
South Asian Union is not a bad idea if it excludes Pakistan. I think in the next decade or so India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives and perhaps Bangladesh can set the ball rolling.
@Sarsaparilla
South Asian Union is not a bad idea if it excludes Pakistan. I think in the next decade or so India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives and perhaps Bangladesh can set the ball rolling.
Lolz....hindus having wet dreams as usual. I mean Srilanka, Nepal and Bangladesh seriously ? I think you are forgetting how much hatred these countries have for hindu India. After supporting tamil tigers for decades in the typical hindu mindset of destroying one's neighbors Srilankans wud rather see india disintegrate. Folks in Nepal already hate india for meddling in their affaris and "trying to play superpower".
The best solution for south asia is to work together to disintegrate hindu india into smaller states. Nagaland in the north and tamilistan in the south perhaps. I mean this solution would be loved by almost all neighbors of india including Pakistan, Nepal, Srilanka, Kashmir, Bangladesh and China. I mean the hindu banya mentality of stabbing thy neighbors can only work for a few decades. Now everyone is fed up of the big cockroach i.e. India and the world in general and south asia ni particular would be such a better place with India broken.