Inzi's hearing Postponed

It is being put on Madugalle’s family membe being ill, but i think ICC and ECB are just trying to buy time, to let the one dayers go as scheduled and to assess the support for Pakistan from various boards.

Full story
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/england/5277184.stm

Re: Inzi's hearing Postponed

Or could it be that Malcom Speed does not trust a Sri Lankan and wants to appoint a gora for hearing?

I think multiple parties might have pushed/suggested/hoped for a postponement because of following reasons:

• Madugalle might have chickened out at the thought of having to manage such a big controversary and decided to hide behind "family illness". I mean come on, FAMILY ILLNESS. A member of his family FELL ILL in the past two days, HOW CONVENIENT?

• England/PCB/ICC may like this postponement for it allows the ODI series to be held without any further complications. After the series is over, the whole reduces to ICC-VS-Inzimam affair that ECB couldn't care less about. Right now, this issue is EVERYBODY'S PROBLEM, wait for three weeks, and it will only be Pakistan's problem. ONce all steam is taken out of this issue, ICC will find it easier to hand Inzi a ban without having to do anything about Hair. Come to think about it, a postponement is NOT in Pakistan's favor.

• Inzi's lawyers wanted a postponement to get more time. I think we could ask them to pull a couple of all nighters and be ready by Friday. While we will benefit from having a team of lawyers with Inzi, we will NOT benefit from this hearing getting postponed.

One more implication, a postponement will mean that our players will be playing with lots of anxiety which is bound to affect their performance :(

I think it's a big joke that ICC can't find a person to handle this issue. Is this a "Mahallah Punchayet" or an international sports body.

Re: Inzi’s hearing Postponed

I have a suggestion for replacement referee:

NASSER HUSSAIN :devil:

^ Why do i feel that u and dhobi bhai are same person.

^^ I don't know, you tell me.

I think one of us, either I or dhobi bhai should take offense, and since he's not around, I guess it should be me :D

ODI carry on for a while so lets wait and see what the next date announced is.... I think its good that Madugalle is not there. Because of the Hair Murali row any decision he would give would seem to be unfair on one party.

It seems Madugalle has pulled out of the fiasco.

Why he did so, lets speculate.
http://today.reuters.co.uk/news/articlenews.aspx?type=cricketNews&storyID=2006-08-23T081205Z_01_DEL311445_RTRIDST_0_SPORT-CRICKET-PAKISTAN-POSTPONE-URGENT.XML&WTmodLoc=NewsArt-L3-MoreNewsToday-3

ICC should react the way they always do, go overboard and ban Madugalle and appoint Hair to a hearing against Madugalle. It will be keeping in with the highest traditions of iCC.

totally

Do we sense an internal rift inside ICC?

ICC has made the right choice from their perspective, spells bad time for Pakistan position.

They are trying to take ‘controversy’ out of the equation. This is a heated issue right now and I think by postponing, ICC and Darrel can shift the most focus away from them. Question is whether PCB will be on its toe regarding this matter, they need to keep the conversation going and make sure that ICC ask Darrel solid proof of ball tampering allegation and make their decision public rather private.

OR probably ECB decided to use their "resources" so that Pakistan can continue with the ODI series without any legitimate excuse of withdrawing from the tour

I do not think Pakistan wants to withdraw from the series, even if the issue is not resolved before the ODI’s. All we want is Darrel to show proof of the allegations, if he does not than punish him publicly. If ICC wants to postpone it, at least make assurances that they will handle the situation seriously and do understand how important it is for us. That is all we want. The current mood and reaction from ICC is not good. They are sand-bagging us.

It only suites ICC and ECB.

For Pakistan it was better to have hearing before ODI series. This will only release the pressure from ICC & ECB as there will be no fear of cancellation of ODI series and will put some more pressure on Pakistan or at least it will hurt their bargaining position.

Here is what ICC's Speed has to say

""The difficulty relates to the availability of Madugalle to chair the hearing as he is dealing with a private and personal matter that requires his urgent attention," explained Malcolm Speed, the ICC chief executive. "Pakistan and England, as the host country, have both expressed a preference for Ranjan to hear the case and on that basis we have agreed to the postponement."

What the f#@k!
Abb Malcom Speed ko bara khayaaal aa raha hai k who does Pakitsan and England preferes as the refree, pehley khayaal nahi aaya when Pakistan requested multiple times that they dont prefer HAIR to stand in their game. I guess i only becasue "England" also preferes Ranjhan.

A postponment also indicates that ICC is having second thoughts and with lawyers now involved probably wants to prepare better. Madugalle suddenly had a family illness, how convenient, either he is having cold feet or ICC. I don't mind either way, gives more time for our lawyers to prepare, I want ICC dragged through mud and humiliated.

1) “The intense nature of the upcoming one-day international series is likely to make it extremely difficult to fit in a hearing during that period,” said ICC chief executive Malcolm Speed.

Notice the piggy treatment being backslapped in our faces, once again. First it was first reported about Madugalle’s family illness, and now look at the above statement - Two contradictions, two worlds apart.

2) Pakistan have appointed high-profile law firm DLA Piper to put their side of the argument and they were keen for a delay in any event to allow them more time to prepare their case.

Pakistan was “keen for a delay” and that also “in any event”? PAKISTAN? Am I reading this correctly?

Facts are these - Those Firoun ki saatween nasal kay keeray have finally chickened out and have ran with their tail between their legs. That sorry excuse of a human being leech threw the bucket of mud in the face of our nation and what do we expect in return? You know what will happen? The entire focus will be shifted away from ECB/ICC vs. Pakistan to simply ICC vs. Pakistan, which, as news reports have indicated, is not the case. If allegations are brought up against Duncan Fletcher and Co., they are bound to escape, which, as we all know, is purely due to their goree chamRee, and simply because the empowering tension that is now heated between both parties involved which eventually will be bogged down to zero or nothing after the series is over. The intensity and the interest would be reduced to all-time low. They are requiring more time because they do not have any solid evidence whatsoever. Family emergency, my green-and-white Pakistani shirt! You are telling me someone from Ranjan’s family is on deathbed ever since the story broke out? Or was that person saying his last prayers and eating his vitamins as soon as that infidel spoke from his little hotel room from across the globe? Figures. What do you expect from this sidetrash of an organization that continues to live on to this day without an inch of a glory or respect. ICC Cricket kay naam per dhabba hai, DHABBA! Ooper sey bhi wohi khaal, andar sey bhi wohi chaal.

Oh it would be hilarious if Inzi is banned immediately after the ODI series...no ill effects on ECB's income statement...

For those of you who think that ECB has no role in this whole fiasco are seriously ignorant...for this whole scheme to work, i.e. reprimend Pak for ball tempering and then subsequent awarding of the match to Eng., could have only been carried out with England in the loop as the instigating party...Eng, Hair and ICC are all part of the conspiracy...

If Pak and SKhan's ass kissing doesn't stop and there is a ODI series...then damn Pakistan's cricket team and the PCB...I would be done with Pakistani cricket...I am gonna start supporting and watching Bangladesh...At least they have a bit more dignity and self-respect then our pakistani ghulaams....