Inzimam's Captaincy Credentials - Discuss

Re: Re: Inzimam’s Captaincy Credentials - Discuss

its just that he isnt very active… did u see the field placement when we were batting… it was great… akser we try to hit so hard but still it end up going into fielders hand.. aur hamari.. ghooshhh pata nahi kahan kahan say boundries lag jaty hia :S

anwyay overall he did a great job… although he played an amazing inning and we could have win the game but the decision he made in the start was pathetic… when u knwo the pitch is good for batsman who in the world would ever wanna let ur oponent to bat first :S and also by sending rana instead of shoib akther..i dont knwo who made that pathetic decision :nook:

but he played a captains inning.. and bring us close to the victory.. and i think that was great :k:

INZI is a great batsman, but he is not a solid Captain, his decision about not playing sixth bowler cost him the match. I am not a fan of Afridi but he can be used as opener/sixth bolwer.

No one can blame Inzi, and PCB just handed the captaincy to him.
I can't believe why bunch of paindos are running PCB, Pakistan Sports Board should intervene and try to correct the mismanagement.

Re: Re: Re: Inzimam’s Captaincy Credentials - Discuss

active hmm i woudln’t comment on that he fields in slip and trust me i know how tuff that place is. To feild in slip you gota have sharp reflexes and belive me he is a pretty good slip fielder.
now decisions on field oh well i gota admit its beyond his head he isn’t just captain material but then again no one in current roster is.
Ganguly oh well he is pretty neat captain i always liked his moves to upset a batsman.
and team selection i can place a sure bet on it that inzamam got nothing to do with it.
and pitch pakistan is known for batting pitches and on cloudy days their is bit of moisture in pitches coz of dew and cold conditions at night; so being said that the decision of bowling first wasn’t that bad either. It also shows that pakistan got fair bit of confidence in their batsmen.
Vaisay we can’t loose in pindi :smiley:

**Well done Inzi! **

Let me begin with a confession. When Inzamam-ul-Haq was made the skipper, I was sceptical: a great batsman, alright, near-perfect technically, but definitely not skipper-material. That takes more than just being a great batsman or even a bowler. Does Inzi have that extra-something, call it leadership or what you will? My answer was no.

I was wrong. And I am happy to be proved wrong. The innings he played on March 13 and the way he led the side clearly show Inzi has arrived. He has what it takes to lead a side. Consider.

He won the toss and put India to bat. Cricket pundits were stumped. Why would he do that on a batting wicket? (Aside: I am quite surprised that Sunil Gavaskar should also consider it a nervous decision.) Defeat can bring into question good decisions; in victory even bad decisions can pass muster. While this issue can be debated till the proverbial cows come home, it can be defended on the basis of two things. Pakistan nearly successfully chased a total of 350 runs, and but for wayward bowling and a missed catch, the decision had paid off with two early breakthroughs: both Sehwag and Tendulkar would have been back in the pavilion in the first three overs. If that did not happen because the team showed a lack of discipline, Inzi cannot be faulted for it.

Every good strategy needs a margin of error, the unforeseen. But no skipper at the level of international cricket can go into a contest giving his bowlers a margin of error of 10 wides and 20 no-balls, and still hope to win! Even so, Inzi nearly pulled it off. He couldn’t possibly have done better; no one could.

Calculating cost is a tricky business. In Pakistan, we aren’t very good at it; be it in the realm of governance and security or, as in this case, cricket. The bowlers’ indiscipline did not just cost us five extra overs — that was the direct cost — but many more runs for every extra ball we bowled and at least one chance that we missed. And if we look at it like this, with Sehwag and Tendulkar sent back in the early overs, the entire hue of the game would have changed. We certainly noticed the nerves both batsmen showed in the early overs before they were comforted by our bowlers who had decided to overstep and bowl everywhere except where they were supposed to.

It was a big match. Despite all the talk about good cricket, and just cricket, it was not just about cricket. That’s the good and the ugly about an India-Pakistan contest. So nerves had to show. Add to that the new ball and the pace, and you have good reasons to go haywire. This is where discipline comes in, passion tempered by good sense and intelligence. A good line and length is better than fiery, wayward bowling. On that morning, if Shoaib et al were bowling at me with the intention of hitting me, I would have huddled in front of the wickets, that being the safest place. All of us have heard the story about the prince who was practising archery and seeing whose expertise one of the courtiers chose to plant himself smack in front of the target.

Where do we go from here? One thing is clear: the Indian side is eminently beatable. There should be no doubt about it. Their weaknesses shone through even the smog of our own poor bowling performance. It could have been a whitewash; it can still be a wash for the next four outings. But for that to happen, the bowlers have to discipline themselves. Can they do it is what is going to make the final difference.

Discipline is about character. Should one look for a brilliant maverick or a dependable slogger? I’d settle for the latter. The maverick thinks consistency an asinine virtue; maybe, it is. But it is also the only way to build teams, to create synergy where the total exceeds the sum of individual parts. This business of letting some players drive in a different lane just because they are brilliant is what creates problems. If Shoaib Akhtar has a problem with the team script, he should be put out to pasture. We don’t just need pace; we need consistency and sense of purpose.

Ejaz Haider is News Editor of The Friday Times and Foreign Editor of Daily Times

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_15-3-2004_pg3_4

The article by Ejaz Haider is going all over the place IMO. Firstly he congratulates Inzimam on being a good captain on account of his brilliant batting. Then from nowhere he suggests that Shoaib should be put out to pasture if "he has a problem with the team script".

Is he implying that shoaib DOES have a problem with the team script? If he does, then why hasn't Inzi chucked him out of the team as Haider suggests a good captain should do?

Isn't there a contradiction here?

well inzy should have talked to shoaib and sami earlier (before their antics put the match out of reach). he should have pulled the chain on one of them right then and there. he also should have considered introducing the spinner earlier. i would have sent in razzaq right in the beginning when it looked like sami was getting killed. i would not have sent in rana first.

in the end, a captain is only as good as his team and we must admit saying the bowlers let him down is understating it. rana was atrocious and i'm sure india would love to see him again. razzaq looked like he was playing for the first time and showed no discipline. shoaib looked like an inaccurate waqar and sami really really disappointed with his line.

i have to give major props to Inzy for his century because it was a timeless innings, one that will not soon be forgotten. he desereved to be the man of the match and, if we can just sort out our bowling, we could be dangerous.

lost in all this talk is the poor performance by our openers. one really expected more from them and they really choked on the big stage. i really don't fault the decision to bowl first by inzy, i think it was intelligent given that india would have probably chased 400 on this pitch. look for th pindi and peshawar to be friendlier confines for our bowlers.

Did anyone see Inzi's field placings for the opening bowlers today? (2nd ODI). No 2nd slip in the 2nd over which gave Sehwag 4 runs instead a deserved wicket for Shabbir and not enough offside fielders to encourage an off-stump line from his fast bowlers.

I also thought his decision to keep bowling spin at the death almost cost us the match. Razzaq was bowling ok today but wasn't brought on when Shabbir was struggling early on or when the spinners came under the cosh late on. Inzimam is way too defensive as I think someone else mentioned in the match thread.

*Originally posted by Talha: *

what were Imran Khan views about bowlers?

hmmm...i dont remember :( i think he said that they gave too many extras...but not sure....hmmmm

he was interviewed again today after odi number 2, he said taufeeq omar is the best batsman in the country and should be brought back...and he also said that this pitch is good for the batsmen not the ballers...

p.s. sorry for being offtopic...back to the topic...did anyone see inzi getting kinda mad today in the field and shouting out orders in a bad mood after all those dharadar chokkay? and then punching his fist in the air and going 'yes yes yes' when we took wickets? :D we luv u inzi bhai paawein u in ghussa or ur usual laid back self :D

and you called him lethargic

Was this when he was shouting in the middle of the pitch after a fumble by Youhana? Ten Sports showed replay but I couldnt hear him.

exactly i belive it was 20 some over tendi was at 68
i watched it like ten times…just hilarious :rotfl:

Inzi's field positionings wasn't very good. That is a major weakness, players were constantly being moved around leaving gaps for the indians to exploit which seemed to have worked.

...and the improvement continues

• Won the toss and put India into bat. (very courageous decision)
  • Kept attacking throughout the first 15 overs..although I would have like a third slip
  • a couple of drop catches but he kept his calm ( he dropped one himself hehe)

...so any more believers/ converts?

i believe. very impressive indeed. he treats the players like men

*Originally posted by BoSS: *

• Won the toss and put India into bat. (very courageous decision)
  • Kept attacking throughout the first 15 overs..although I would have like a third slip
  • a couple of drop catches but he kept his calm ( he dropped one himself hehe)

*Originally posted by BoSS: *

I'm going to reserve judgement just yet. But I'll be the first to hold my hands up and say that he has surprised me. It DID take courage to put the opposition in. In the past I've thought that he sets his target scores too low but I think batting second has actually helped here. There's no way we would have scored so many runs if we'd batted first in the match at Karachi.

A major plus is he looks so calm and in control when he's batting under pressure. Sometimes you can inspire your team just by example. so yes he's done ok in this series.

it was just the first game when he was under pressure as such, but he has settled down. esp in the 3rd odi he was quite active in the field n talking to his bowlers. some of his field placements are still questionable. i dont understand y he brings up the 3rd man and sometimes even the fine leg in the death overs. his long on fielder has also been up to mid on at a few times during the end overs. that doesnt make sense, but otherwise he's been ok. he's learning.. n the best part is that he enjoys great respect among his team mates, leads from the front and has kept unity within the team.

Inzi has definetly improved as a captain. He actively talks to his bowlers now, which he never used to do before :k:

Ok i have a few questions regarding today's match which I felt wasn't one of Inzi's better ones as captain. Firstly there is the issue of bowling 2nd under lights. Our bowlers were completely ineffective once the dew set in and they had to bowl with a wet ball. Is Inzimam aware of his bowlers capabilities in these conditions or not? It's something that needs to be addresssed before the final so we can avoid such a situation again - playing at home I would think we should already know our capabilities on home turf - but it appears not.

Something else which pissed me off was when it was clear we needed wickets with only 60 runs to get we were still giving away easy singles instead of going all out for wickets. He only put a slip in when Dravid edged through the vacant catching position for 4 off Sami. The mark of a thick captain is to shut the door after the horse has bolted.

Finally he seemed far too happy at the end of the match in his final interview for someone who had lost in such a crap fashion. After getting beat I don't really want to see the leader of my team beaming as if he's won the lottery. No ****ing way.

I did not watch Pakistan batting but during India batting I didn't see any significant strategy or tactical adjustment being made by Inzy. Ofcourse it is easy to talk in hindsight and to forget the series is only even. But still...The one single focus should IMO have been to contain the run rate. In spite of loosing wickets regularly the run rate was consistently high and I think Inzi did not advise bowlers to go defensive., Instead the bowlers seemed to keep attacking, pushing on speed and erring a lot.

I also don't think Inzi has the respect or credibility from the bowlers. Both Inzy & Miandad are batsmen...how can they presume to advise specialist bowlers?

the captaincy seems tgo hav improved his batting

but otha than that...inzi sux...i meen wtf...look at his fielding placemnets...he was too defensive wen the RR was less than 4 rpo...wtf...i meen u cant possibly hope to defend that score against dravid and kaif...both hav a simsilar style of takin singles/doubles and then smashin the loose ball fer four (of which there wer many 2day)

afridi shud be out in the next game...and either farhat or umar in...and as fer shabbir...sum plz teach him that overstepping the front white line (popping crease) is a no ball....my 7 yr old bro knows that its a no ball...and i sware...my gramps cudav bowled better than afridid di today...and who thought moin how to bat...another 0????omg...bring in sum1 decent fer once like humayun farhat or akmal...remember akmals 100???....and also...plz plz kick out sialkotia shobbi mak....he sux ... he cant spin the ball...he cant hold on to catches (1st odi sehwag) and he cant bat...amybe farhat and umar both shud be brought back into the team...wit razzlers bolwin improvin...and also...farhat can turn his arm over if we get deseprate...and theres also yunus khan and taufeeq if we get rfeally really depsreate...which winshallah we wont need to

INZI DO SUTHIN BOUT THESE EXTRAS PLZ PLZ PLZZZZZZZZZZZZZ