Inzimam's Captaincy Credentials - Discuss

cant blame it all on inzi.. i agree he isnt the smartest captain but when your bowlers bowl crap and fielders dropping catches then there isnt much that can be done.. with all the wides and no balls, its like india batting for 60 overs, not 50... cuz you have to bowl moew balls..

this is the 2nd straight one day game where Sami really sucked... his last match vs NZ was a disaster.. and it seems like he hasnt learn from his mistakes.. same nos and wides still...

I would like to stress this isn't about one match. it's about the thought process which goes behind making a dope captain of the national side. What is the rationale behind this exactly? Picking the slowest, most un-motivating and lethargic player to be leader of your team? It's fascinating really...

:rolleyes: :mad:

No one say anything against INZI bhai :mad:

him and Saeed bhai r the BEST people on the team :mash:

india ka karay ga kaam tamaam :smash:
hamara pyaara bhai INZAMAM :k:

and he’s a great captain coz he’s an excellent player, a laid back and friendly person, well liked by the team and pakistani awam. aho :jhanda:

Typical Pakistani attitude....consistency dear, CONSISTENCY.
...for sure Allah can do every thing ...how soon we forget, he didn’t use his beard do his 122.

Rashid Latif just said in a TV programme that "*Inzi shows his leadership while batting, When he starts showing the leasder ship in the field as well, he will become a better captain *

He couldnt be more right!!

Actually i am not going to dwell on his shortcomings today, he hit a superb 122 and no one can knock the big lunk for his batting prowess which was never in question. There’ll be plenty of time to look at his captaincy during the series later on, not really appropriate right now :hehe:

I knw that Inzi should have elected to bat in a good surface but the played well while chasing. Well played Inzi under pressure:k:

:jhanda:

Inzi cha gaya hay!!

I forgive him for everything!

aisi ki taisi agle match may dekhte hein!

Originally posted by sambrialian: *
well Xtreme, you can't just blame Inzi. The team selection is a disaster and Miandad is also involved there. How could they go in without a sixth bowler? **And of the five bowlers having three part-timers is just criminal. *

^ and opting to field first with that kind of bowling strength (or lack thereof) is just nuts !

He almost proved us wrong though :D

After today's match, Ten Sports was showing interviews of Imran Khan and Navjot Sidhu by Sanjay Manjrekar.

Imran Khan was saying that when he first saw Inzamam play, he thought that this guy would reach the heights of cricket, and would be the next international batting sensation after Vivian Richards. He said that Inzamam has not yet utilised his full talent, and if he (Imran) possessed as much talent as Inzamam he would have done greater things with it, not that Inzamam hasn't done greatly already.

He also said that although today's innings by Inzamam were great, Inzamam's best innings were the ones he played in the 92 World Cup semi final.

I stand by my original view that Inzimam is not captaincy material. I don't care how 'cute' he sounded in his interview, to me he just sounded plain dumb. Ganguly was much more impressive. Inzimam's batting has always been a different class but as this series unfolds I'm pretty certain his deficiencies as a captain will become pretty clear. I hope I'm proved wrong...we'll see.

Actually, Inzimam looked slightly improved last night. He wasn’t his usual standing in the slips and watching bowlers bowl.

A couple of things that I liked were him moving to mid-on from slips…(however I am sure his advice didn’t go through the thick skulls of our bowlers). Introducing Shoaib in three spells was good… Hmm nothing more comes to mind.

He could have tried a couple of more spinners Imran Farhat, Yaser, Younis Khan. Continuing with Razzaq was a disaster.
He could have tried opening the batting with Razzaq as well. Give him the green signal and let him pull a Sehwag. I think our openers are too elegant for slogging.

One thing I will repeat here…Pakistan should play specialist bowlers for next one days matches

:insha: we will see!

Re: Re: Inzimam’s Captaincy Credentials - Discuss

the bowlers let Pakistan down - there was moisture on the pitch - and the decision to bowl first was right - had Shoaib, Sami and others bowled with accurate line and length - story could have been different - both pacers had intentions of fast and quickie balls which ultimately cost Pakistan.

btw who is that Rana? his first over never seemed to end.

Two Thumps Up :k: :k: - couldn’t have said it better!

*Originally posted by irem: *
After today's match, Ten Sports was showing interviews of Imran Khan and Navjot Sidhu by Sanjay Manjrekar.

Imran Khan was saying that when he first saw Inzamam play, he thought that this guy would reach the heights of cricket, and would be the next international batting sensation after Vivian Richards. He said that Inzamam has not yet utilised his full talent, and if he (Imran) possessed as much talent as Inzamam he would have done greater things with it, not that Inzamam hasn't done greatly already.

He also said that although today's innings by Inzamam were great, Inzamam's best innings were the ones he played in the 92 World Cup semi final.

what were Imran Khan views about bowlers?

Inzimam's contrasting captaincy approaches.

while Fielding:

Sami, phir no ball ? phir wide?
Shabi, mai slip mai khara hoon, koi kaam ho tu bula lena. but koshsih kerna ke naa hee paray koi kaam!

while making a decision:
uffo, phir koi decision lena hai, acha sochta hoon 2-3 overs mai!!

while batting:

Yousie, yaar run rate tu bohut hai but dhyaan se khaileen, tum attack kero, mai insha'allah end tuk ruka rahoon gaa.. baad main Razzaq hai, ker lega score but unhain game hum dono nay bana ke dena hai... after all mai kaptaan hoon yaar.

I think Inzi’s best quality as captain is that he doesn’t argue with his players and just lets them do what they want. Or what Javed wants. Not really captaincy credentilas but in a Pakistani dressing room which usually resembles a war zone, maybe that’s an asset in itself.

Re: Inzimam’s Captaincy Credentials - Discuss

Well i’m not totally in favor oh inzamam being captain ,but here is something interesting which I heard chappel saying i belive it was chappel.
This man is not rubbish at all; its only his bowlers made him look rubbish.

Re: Re: Inzimam’s Captaincy Credentials - Discuss

:k: so true.